We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great idea...not a great room!!”
Review of The Pelican

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pelican
Ranked #7 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
corning
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great idea...not a great room!!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed one night...definitely a very tiny room...unfortunately the walls are very very thin and this made for a less than enjoyable experience. The layout of the property is wonderful and it is a great concept...pretty cool tiki hut and a nice breakfast offering but the amenities just dont make up for the room. definitely not one I would repeat...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mw579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    208
    98
    40
    52
See reviews for
137
279
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here in February of 2012,in the smallest room (Helconia) they had. The room itself was tiny,but all I needed to crash and get cleaned up. Perfect for what I paid. If you plan on spending your time in the room,I would not suggest this room,and would suggest you choose another. The property itself is beautiful. Don't miss the sunsets ! There is a nice layed back bar & grill (Bayside) 2 doors down.

Room Tip: Choose your room wisely,as some are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GovMule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

First off, as others have warned, if you're looking for someplace fancy, keep looking. That's not the Pelican. Then again, it's also not what the Pelican claims to be. What the Pelican IS is a low key, relaxing place in a location that's second-to-none.

We stayed for 3 nights in the smallest room on the property -- the double bed took up virtually all of the floor space. There was also a shower big enough for two, a fridge, and a microwave. This was really all we needed, as we spent most of our time outside, anyway. We picnicked on the bed, then sat on the dock and watched the gorgeous sunsets and the sea creatures playing: we had visits from a pair of dolphins, lots of fish, and plenty of jellies. All of this plus free wifi, kayaks and a canoe, morning coffee, and ample air conditioning for $60/night seemed like the bargain of the century to us.

If you are looking for small, affordable, and local, look no further! And, be sure walk next door to have the champagne breakfast as Mrs. Mac's while you're there!

Room Tip: The website descriptions are accurate, and even include square footage for the smaller rooms so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eandb2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
We appreciate your honest feedback and are glad we met your expectations. As you noted, the website descriptions and square footage are intended to guide guests to the type of accommodations they are looking for. The waterfront suites are more expensive but provide more comfort for an extended stay in the beautiful florida keys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

All I can say is that you get what you pay for here in the Keys & apparently $103 gets you a very low quality room. We only stayed 1 night as we were in the area to scout out possible venues to host our destination wedding next year. The Pelican was in the running until we got into our room. From the website you can tell that the rooms seem to need some MAJOR updating and renovations, even to be considered a low-key, casual motel. Our room, the Mermaid, was very small (as we suspected from the pictures) and had this strange smell as if the whole room had been sprayed with Lysol to cover up another lingering smell while the outside entrance to our room smelled of mildew. The hotel and property itself is very charming, tropical & inviting. We only encountered 1 employee during our stay, I'm not sure of her name but she was nice enough. This resort has tons of things in walking distance - restaurants, bars, convenient stores, other resorts. The grand Tiki Hut with a built-in bar is amazing and the outdoor office & kitchen area are very intriguing but "cool." There isn't much of a beach and it seems as if you aren't renting one of the front cottages you can't really use it anyway. The view and fairly unrestricted and this very beautiful!

I guess The Pelican would be fine for a Key Largo stay on a budget but only if your not turned off by a room as described above. Definitely NOT in the realm of possibilities for jotting our small wedding despite its awesome Tiki Hut reception potential.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FutureMrsSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
We are disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations. The room price is $90 plus state and local taxes which drive the total price up. The cost of operating a business in the keys unfortunately keeps going up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is the second year in a row we have stayed here. A group of us from SW Florida stay here for a long weekend and then travel up to the Nascar Race in Homestead. Rooms are old as in Old Florida so if you want fancy this is not for you. Staff is very accommodating, rooms are clean, WiFi is included and landscaping is quite nice. Right on the Gulf, canoes and or kayaks are available for use, two nice docks and a beach area with recliners make it very relaxing. A large Tiki Hut makes it suitable for a large group to hang out and cook on the grills provided and have a great time. A smaller Tiki Hut by the Office, right off of the little kitchen is great for a quick cup of coffee and to catch the news or whatever on the Flat Screen TV. A Burger King to the north is within walking distance, and Mrs Macs also within walking distance to the south has the best breakfast.. A CVS across the street is also there if you happened to leave a necessity of some sort at home. A really neat little place, but again if you are looking for something fancy or want to get waited on or pampered this is not for you!! Already made our reservations for Nov. of 2014.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kleelargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was a short birthday weekend stay, but it was very relaxing for the both of us. The place is easy to find, and is in walking distance of Walgreens, CVS, and Mrs. Mac's Kitchen. There's a path between the two sides of rooms, which leads down into the sea. There are beach chairs and a hammock to relax in and watch the waves roll. There's also patio chairs and a table for having a meal or drinks while watching the beautiful sunsets. Our room (Gator) was relatively small, but just enough for the two of us, so no complaints there. The refrigerator was useful, but we had to turn the dial lower, because it wasn't cooling anything. The microwave was old and just big enough to heat up a bag a popcorn. The TV was small, but didn't get used much, so no big deal for us. The air conditioning would be my biggest complaint. We didn't really need the comforter. The bathroom was generally clean, except for the gross shower knobs which seemed to have mildew jammed under the plastic covers. The breakfast consisted of pastries, cereal, fruits, bread and juices. Also, a toaster, waffle maker, and coffee machine was provided. The most annoying thing would be the outside light. There's a little light outside each room. They all worked constantly, except for our room's, which worked on a sensor (and which stayed on for, at most, 10 seconds). We asked twice to have it looked at, but was just told "it's on a sensor". Even after I got on a chair and fiddled with it, it didn't stay on any longer. I would recommend The Pelican to try and clear the beach area near the two docks of all the seaweed, so that it would make the visitors feel more comfortable about snorkeling, and using the kayaks, or canoe. Overall the staff was welcoming and friendly. The location is great.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from the beach area are quieter (less screaming from occasional kids).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnieAndMercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

If you expect the super service with luxury amenities, this is not your place. It is a small quiet hotel/motel with not many staffs. They will not do your bed every morning but I actually never have a problem with that. Breakfast is free. I can use a bike whole day or as long as I want. The place is near the bus stop and greyhound bus stop in walking distance which very helpful for my solo budget trip. I can ride a bicycle to John Penekamp park for snorkeling within half and hour. Did not use a boat or kayak but jus sat back and relaxed in the evening at the dock was super awesome.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AomAmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
We appreciate your positive feedback! The Pelican staff works hard to make this happen. Great to see that you took advantage of some of our amenities. We hope you come back soon again and explore more of what the Florida Bay has to offer. Next time just ask for daily service in your room - it is at your discretion and will be done with our pleasure!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
948 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
1.6 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 20 in Key Largo
626 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
#6 of 17 in Key Largo
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican

Property: The Pelican
Address: 99340 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037-2435 (Formerly Hungry Pelican Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pelican 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 32 of The Pelican's clean and quiet cottage rooms offer different options for relaxing and enjoying all that the Florida Keys has to offer. From experiencing the unique, laid-back bayfront atmosphere, to trying your hand at world-class sportfishing, diving and snorkeling , you are sure to find an activity that suits your tastes. And if that sounds too active, head to our small bayfront beach, where you can enjoy glorious sunsets, gentle breezes, a nap in a hammock or watch manatees and dolphins play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pelican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hungry Pelican Hotel Key Largo
Hungry Pelican Key Largo
The Pelican Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing