We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pelican

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pelican
Ranked #7 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Rhinebeck, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2nd time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year in an 85$ room. This year went for the 65$ room. It was 7x9 with a larger bathroom and a better bed! (Better bed not the best) Had a fridge,microwave ,tv, and air conditioner all nicely tucked into the corner. Also had an outdoor seating that was more private than last years room. It served as our 'living room'. Who needs a big room when you are outside enjoying the beautiful weather of the Florida Keys? The grounds are immaculate, rooms could be a little cleaner, but for 65$ no complaints. Nice doc area where you can use their kayaks or just sit and watch the sunset. I hope to go back again for a third visit!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We appreciate your well rounded comments and are glad you took advantage of our outdoor amenities. The Florida Keys have a tremendous amount to offer and hope you come back soon again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    203
    93
    39
    51
See reviews for
129
267
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms were very clean & staff was so friendly, with a very welcoming smile. Price for room was responsible for the area. Had a lovely continental breakfast. Great view of bay! Only problem was the air fresher in room, way too strong and not necessary! Would absolutely stay again. Thanks Pelican!!!!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LLWilson18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed in Beach Daze Cottage with my husband and really liked The Pelican. As others have said, if you're looking for a 4 star, this isn't the place but it was exactly what we were looking for...quiet, relaxing and old Largo charm. Would have given 5 out of 5 BUT I have one HUGE complaint. Extremely uncomfortable bed which sagged in the middle so much that I slept on the sofa 6 out of 7 nights. (Speaking of the sofa, it really needs a good cleaning). While talking to another couple staying there, they had the same complaint about their cottage. Come on, how much would it cost to upgrade all the mattresses. I'm sure they could get a real good deal when buying in quantity. After driving, swimming or walking all day, a comfortable bed is a MUST!! When checking out, I mentioned this at the office but they really didn't seem to listen or care.

Would I return to The Pelican? Yes, but I would definitely call before making another reservation to see if mattresses were replaced.

Room Tip: Beach Daze, Dolphin, Sailaway and Rosette are the only cottages right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyn215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniston, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I spent two of the most relaxing days of my life at The Pelican and have only one complaint. I didn't stay as long as I wanted to but I will remedy that soon by returning. Even though my room was clean and had everything I needed to be comfortable, I was in it only long enough to shower and sleep due to being drawn to the beautiful outdoors where I was able to relax and sit on the dock and watch some of the most beautiful sunrises and sunsets and nap in the hammock in the back yard. The view was amazing.
The staff was courteous and made me feel more than welcome. No question about where I will be going every chance I get.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are pleased that your expectations were met and your kind words about the staff and property. We look forward to your next stay with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

After flying from one snow storm to another, The Pelican was just what I needed to escape the harsh reality of February. I loved my room (Beach Daze)! It had a full kitchen including dishes, pots and pans, and a large bathroom with big fluffy towels. It was very clean with the quaint atmosphere one would expect in the Keys, and even had unexpected amenities like flat screen tv’s and free wifi. Everything I needed was right outside my door including the free coffee/ breakfast and Mrs. Mac’s restaurant. The staff was courteous and professional and the price was reasonable. Outside the screened porch, a sandy back yard with chairs, benches and a hammock led to the two docks…great for sunning and watching the sea life. Returning to the yard, I felt very comfortable napping in the lounge chair in the shade. The small islands across the bay are home to pelicans, egrets and falcons, and early morning dolphin visitors were frequent and fun. The view was totally amazing and the sunsets were nothing short of awesome! The Pelican was nothing fancy…just pure and simple laid back relaxation. Need I say more? I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corning
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed one night...definitely a very tiny room...unfortunately the walls are very very thin and this made for a less than enjoyable experience. The layout of the property is wonderful and it is a great concept...pretty cool tiki hut and a nice breakfast offering but the amenities just dont make up for the room. definitely not one I would repeat...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mw579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Key Largo hotels

Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here in February of 2012,in the smallest room (Helconia) they had. The room itself was tiny,but all I needed to crash and get cleaned up. Perfect for what I paid. If you plan on spending your time in the room,I would not suggest this room,and would suggest you choose another. The property itself is beautiful. Don't miss the sunsets ! There is a nice layed back bar & grill (Bayside) 2 doors down.

Room Tip: Choose your room wisely,as some are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GovMule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 19 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican

Property: The Pelican
Address: 99340 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037-2435 (Formerly Hungry Pelican Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pelican 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 32 of The Pelican's clean and quiet cottage rooms offer different options for relaxing and enjoying all that the Florida Keys has to offer. From experiencing the unique, laid-back bayfront atmosphere, to trying your hand at world-class sportfishing, diving and snorkeling , you are sure to find an activity that suits your tastes. And if that sounds too active, head to our small bayfront beach, where you can enjoy glorious sunsets, gentle breezes, a nap in a hammock or watch manatees and dolphins play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pelican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hungry Pelican Hotel Key Largo
Hungry Pelican Key Largo
The Pelican Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing