We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tarpon Flats, great time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarpon Flats Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tarpon Flats Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tarpon Flats, great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

we stayed upstairs and loved the view, Gilda helped us launch the kyack, we used the bikes, swang in the hammock and went snorkeling at John Pennecamp state park,- one mile from the Inn, super way to celebrate my 60th birthday!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cynthia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    48
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
117
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Went down with our family of 4 for the long weekend. It was a lovely place - convenient and very accessible by boat or car. The 2-seater kayaks were in great shape & perfect for an early morning paddle on Largo Sound and the Blue Moon seen from the point on the sound was beautiful. The kitchen is that of a vacation studio apartment, so would recommend taking extra plates/silverware if you intend to have many meals there. The pool is good for a cool-down but not somewhere that you'd "lounge" all day. We went for the boating and water, and were very pleased. Innkeeper (Gilda) was so friendly and helpful. It was a wonderful weekend, and we'll go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumbogumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We loved Tarpon Flats. Just came down for labor day weekend from Miami to get away from all the business. This is a wonderful quiet escape. Not touristy at all. Loved the hammock by the sound. Wonderful hospitality. Also recommend the sunset cruise, and the kayaks. Also very clean!! Everything you need.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Tarpon Flats is a quite little hideaway hidden away off the main highway. It was better than we were expecting....so quiet and peaceful. The room was very spacious and the kitchen area and sitting area were a pleasant surprise. Our favorite place was in the hammock out by the water. We didn't take advantage of the kayaks, but enjoyed watching those who did out on the water. Our special surprise in the yard outside our room was a beautiful big green iguana who came out to say Goodbye. If we go back to Key Largo again, we will definitely stay at Tarpon Flats again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunFunFunin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

All of the hotels in Key Largo seem to be more expensive than they should be, but that notwithstanding, this is a bit of a gem. In an area where most non-chain hotels seem to attract poor reviews for cleanliness, state of repair and horror stories, Tarpon Flats bucks the trend. Tucked away off the main road, it only has 4 rooms, 2 on the ground floor and 2 above. The staff are very friendly and hospitable, and ready to answer every reasonable need. Situated at the end of a creek, it has its own (small) private beach in the same lagoon as the John Pennekamp Park, and a small pool in which to cool off. The room we had was clean, with a fully-equipped kitchen, a table to sit at and a sofa (sofa-bed), and in-room free wifi. The fittings were perhaps not as smart, shiny and new as they would be in a modern chain hotel, but they were all serviceable and perfectly adequate. We'd go again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank housemover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Great quiet place with a beautiful room & view. Large room with full kitchen and grill. Everything was very clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CTRS1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Tarpon Flats is a gem of a place to stay! Tucked back in a neighborhood, it feels more like going to a vacation rental home than a hotel. When I arrived, I was greeted like a friend and shown to a wonderful room. I was surprised to see that it had a full kitchen, living area and bedroom. Like a small apartment.

The Inn is on Largo Sound, which looks like a giant lake. It was wonderful to start every day sitting on the sandy point watching the "lake" come to life while I had breakfast and coffee. And just as wonderful to sit there in the evening and watch the sun go down. One night I went to Sundowners for dinner to watch the sunset. Just that brief time at a crowded resort made me realize how lucky I was to have the peacefulness at Tarpon Flat.

I went to Key Largo by myself. The people who live on their boats in the marina welcomed me right on in. They invited me to eat with them, took me out in their boat, invited me to a yoga class on the point and made me feel right at home. I came by myself, but left with new friends.

Buzzard's Roost was my favorite place to eat. Fishing on the Fin Razor was AWESOME! Go to the dock (near the Holiday Inn) when the boats come in to see more fish in the water than you will on the reef. Sharks, rays, and a variety of fish hang out to eat the left-overs.

One thing I would do differently is to rent a boat. Key Largo is a place to be on the water, not near the water. But I will definately go back to Tarpon Flats!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WetSactraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
11.2 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
8.7 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.1 mi away
Azul del Mar
Azul del Mar
#4 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Flats Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Flats Inn

Property: Tarpon Flats Inn
Address: 29 Shoreland Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4750
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Flats Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarpon Flats.The Best location in Key Largo. Oceanside next to Pennekamp State Park,Snorkeling and Diving the Reefs, Christ of the Abyss, Spiegel Grove and other wrecks, all nearby, Fishing thru Adams Cut to Back country. Bonefish and Tarpon fishing in Largo Sound from our free kayaks or reef fishing for grouper snapper on the reef out front or just beyond for sail, wahoo, and marlin in the Gulfstream. Get picked up at our docks. Everglades adventures and eco tours by by land or sea. No smoking rooms. Caribbean ambience suites in a Tropical Setting. Private Beach with hammock and pool. Tarpon Flats Features Free wireless Internet,Free Kayaks,BBQ Grill, Full Kitchen,Great for small Gatherings.Do it All... Dive,fish,kayack,explore,...Or...Do Nothing at All... Just Relax and Conch-Out at Tarpon Flats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Tarpon Flats Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Flats Hotel Key Largo
Tarpon Flats Inn Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing