We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“laid back and friendly”
Review of Tarpon Flats Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tarpon Flats Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“laid back and friendly”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed as a family - 2 adults, 2 children. On the second day our son had to be rushed to Miami for emergency surgery. Amidst the stress and disruption of this, the woman looking after the office (Rose), and the local characters (major -?, who lives in one of the boats) were so kind and supportive. I want to send them a big 'thank you'. If you like luxury and a lot of formal attention from staff this is not the place for you - yes, it's a little bit unpolished, but it has a nice, mellow, laid back, slightly bohemian vibe with a few friendly, knowledgeable local characters who are clearly part of the keys. It's a great location for watching the moon come up over Largo Sound and for exploring the local area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    49
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
119
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you need a break from reality and some relaxation this is the place. It was very clean and everyone was very welcoming. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed being able to cook our own food on the grill and have friends come over and enjoy the great little beach point and kayaks. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My family and I stayed upstairs. We picked this place based on the having a kitchen because we have two small children and we had brought food and groceries with us. We were surprised to learn that we had access to kayaks (we all loved) and bikes. The staff was very helpful and the location was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked this place in late March 2013 as a bed and breakfast (also advertised on the place's website). We arrived to find a tiny, 4 room place near a small marina and amongst trailer homes. The sparkling pool is a tiny above ground pool that would only fit a handful of people. The beach is about the size of a hotel room. After waiting for someone to arrive to check us in, we were dismayed to find out that this is not a bed and breakfast at all! There is no breakfast to be found, unless you count a box of dried oatmeal and coffee in the room. Not to be discouraged, we elected to go out for breakfast everyday.

The room was nice, slightly outdated but acceptable. The linens, however, were dirty had holes and looked at least 20 years old. When we questioned if they had been washed and asked for new ones, we were given even more disgusting blankets. The excuse was "it takes a while to update everything." Our toilet started overflowing immediately. The lady downstairs plunged it, blaming it on some kid's toy. It continued to overflow. The next day, we requested that it be repaired and the bathroom to be cleaned from all of the gross toilet water. After much resistance, a plumber was sent and the problem resolved. However, we were told that since the maid came to clean our room that day, she wouldn't come the next day. Apparently there is no daily maid service because it is "costly to the facility." We went a total of 3 days with no maid service including not getting fresh towels and coffee. All of this would have been tolerable if not for the poor attitude and resistance we met from the staff.

On check out day, I found our original reservation and realized that we had in fact been promised a room and daily breakfast to be included. When discussing this with the manager, I received an explanation of the costs that the facility incurs and why they cannot afford to feed us for that price per night ($200+ with no daily maid service). I certainly have no interest in the expenses of running the facilty. The manager was quite rude and told us that we had to take it up with Expedia. She was so rude that she even snapped at another customer who was looking in cabinets for napkins. (that couple was also very unhappy). The manager told us that they are not a bed and breakfast and hadn't been for 2+ years. Later that day I checked their website and it did indeed advertise breakfast.

Thankfully, Expedia was wonderful and gave us a refund for not receiving any breakfast for 5 days. I never write reviews, but our experience here was so awful that I wanted other people to be aware. I am shocked that trip advisor gave this place an award. If we ever go to Key Largo again, we will pay more for the Marriott. It is worth it not to have to argue with staff every day and feel like you are being treated poorly and ripped off. The customer service here was atrocious.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maybelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarponFlatsManager, Manager at Tarpon Flats Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
First we would like to thank you for taking the time to right a review. Expedia has corrected the information concerning a“Free Continetal Breakfast”. We currently do not offer this item. There is a breakfast restaurant, actually several, nearby. Most within walking distance of the Inn. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We replaced your linens as soon as you asked us to. I assure you they were clean if somewhat worn. I am sorry you did not like the replacement bedding. We have replaced the above mentioned blankets. There was no resistance to the plumbing problem being addressed. It was Sunday morning …yes we had to wait for the plumber but he came within an hour of being called. He could not seem to recreate the problem. The toilet flushed for him many times…he then declared it a non problem and left. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Housekeeping cleaned your room top to bottom. We worked hard to address all of your concerns. It is true we do not provide daily housekeeping service. It is every other day. We participate in the local water conservation program and do not replace linens daily. We are always willing to do a towel or linen exchange upon request. If any item is needed you have only to let the staff know and we will do our best to accommodate you. We try hard to please but realize that sometimes even our best efforts may fall short. We want all of our guests to have a wonderful time here at Tarpon Flats. We ourselves love the Inn and enjoy and learn from all our guests. We get many return visitors and are sorry to hear you will not be in that group. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all feed back as we continue our endeavor to provide a relaxing, comfortable and carefree stay for our guests. You are correct; we are not like a big chain hotel. We are a very small unique Inn. It is almost impossible to find anything like Tarpon Flats in our area any more. This how the Keys used to be…a beautiful tropical fishing village…not too fancy…with clean waters and an abundance of marine life in the area. If you are looking for the carbon copy chain hotel effect we might not be the place for you. We realize we may not appeal to all. On the other hand if you are looking for a unique Keys vacation where you can enjoy the local area on our free bikes, kayak the pristine waters of Largo Sound or lay on the beach in the hammock and do absolutely nothing ….then you might think you just found paradise : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Tarpon flats is interesting as you are off the main drag and its more of an insite into real key living as you are basically in a residential area. The hotel is great in it has a pool and is bay side with kayaks ready to use. The room is large and in decent condition if a little dated but this doesn't make this a bad place. The welcome pack was a great help even thought we are big trip advisor users.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thelinges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We loved this place. Arrived to find a manatee in the dock just outside our front door and it just got better!!
Peaceful, tranquil, beautiful...what more could you ask for? The beach area was perfect. We sat and watched the sun come up and go down out there overlooking Largo Sound. The people who live round about on boats were so welcoming and friendly and Gilda and Rose were helpful and gave us tips on where to eat (not that we left the property very often).
The rooms are large and clean. They have everything you need. If you're looking for the Holiday Inn, this probably isn't for you. If you're looking for peace and quiet in a beautiful location then take your time and find the Tarpon Flats Inn....if only we could have stayed longer:-(((

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileend1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,420 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 814 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Not a hotel or your standard motel. More like bed and breakfast but without breakfast. Booked through Expedia which includes continental breakfast but was told by owner Gilda that this is not correct and for us to call Expedia ourselves. Quite disappointing as it doesn't take much to put on a simple continental breakfast, even if it is some cereal boxes and milk in the lodging. We booked it around wifi and free continental breakfast as there's so many others around here to choose from with these offers. Room is self-contained with kitchen facilities and a mini lounge room. Only 4 rooms to this homestyle approved lodging. Right on water’s edge of a small marina, lovely quiet spot but no beach access. Really need a car to get here and to get around. Not possible on foot to walk anywhere or by public transport hence not convenient for all international tourists unless you hire a car. Free high speed wifi. Quite a task looking for this place, had to ask 2 locals for assistance. Bed comfy but pillows aren’t. Teeny tiny bathroom. Only 1 towel hung out when booking was for 2. They have kayaks and bikes for use. Away from everything so if this is what you want, then great.

We hired a standard car with National on arrival at airport. Got instructions on how to get out of airport to head south from car company. Really easy and clear. Drove to Key Largo to rest for the night before heading to Key West the next day. This lodging is on MM (mile marker) 102.5 which is 102.5 miles from Key West. Suggest you get directions from them before heading out there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarponFlatsManager, Manager at Tarpon Flats Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
First we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the erroneous information concerning a continental breakfast. We understand your disappointment; we have been informed by Expedia this information has been corrected. The manager asked you to call Expedia as we had already informed them the information concerning a continental breakfast needed corrected. We would like to take this opportunity to state we are an “Inn” not a bed and breakfast. To our knowledge Tarpon Flats has not served a continental breakfast for many years. The new owners are working on improvements at the inn. We appreciate the input of our guests. We are located at Mile Marker 103.2 on the Oceanside. We wished you had stayed more than one night. Key Largo is a small town and it is easy to find your way around. We are off the beaten path but are within walking or biking distance to many area restaurants. We are a quarter of a mile north of Pennykamp Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,415 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,503 reviews
5.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
948 reviews
11.2 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Flats Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Flats Inn

Property: Tarpon Flats Inn
Address: 29 Shoreland Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4750
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Flats Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarpon Flats.The Best location in Key Largo. Oceanside next to Pennekamp State Park,Snorkeling and Diving the Reefs, Christ of the Abyss, Spiegel Grove and other wrecks, all nearby, Fishing thru Adams Cut to Back country. Bonefish and Tarpon fishing in Largo Sound from our free kayaks or reef fishing for grouper snapper on the reef out front or just beyond for sail, wahoo, and marlin in the Gulfstream. Get picked up at our docks. Everglades adventures and eco tours by by land or sea. No smoking rooms. Caribbean ambience suites in a Tropical Setting. Private Beach with hammock and pool. Tarpon Flats Features Free wireless Internet,Free Kayaks,BBQ Grill, Full Kitchen,Great for small Gatherings.Do it All... Dive,fish,kayack,explore,...Or...Do Nothing at All... Just Relax and Conch-Out at Tarpon Flats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tarpon Flats Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Flats Hotel Key Largo
Tarpon Flats Inn Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing