We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As the Keys used to be”
Review of Tarpon Flats Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tarpon Flats Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alicante, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“As the Keys used to be”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The setting for Tarpon Flats is just magnificent. A colonial style building converted into four large apartments, ours looked out onto a very idyllic scenic view of the Key Largo Sound. With its own private beach & moorings its restful, scenic & beautiful. Rose the Office Manager is extremely friendly & helpful & was a joy to meet, unfortunately our stay was only for a few days, but would love to return.
Give it a try, we're sure you'll thoroughly enjoy it as we did.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hector1-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    49
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
119
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We were met by Rose on our arrival and quickly paid our two nights and were installed in a room on the bottom level. She was very helpful with tips regarding where to eat, etc. The room was clean and was well equipped...furnishings, etc. are dated but that's okay...just don't go there if you are expecting a "Sheraton". The window blinds were a bit tricky to operate and it wasn't easy finding the keyhole at night as there was no light outdoors on the bottom level. The little beach area was lovely...a great place to sit and read a book and enjoy the sunset and sunrise you can see both from here! Kayaks and bicycles were available. There is no "breakfast"(even though the ad on the internet calls it a bed and breakfast) we stayed two nights in our room there was no housekeeping service...that was a bit of a surprise, especially since a sheet of paper in the room said that we should tip the housekeeper! That may have been an oversight. Otherwise we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: I think it would be better to be on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artarage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Unique setting. Don't look for a hilton or marriott, but if you want layed back and rustic, but very clean a worthy visit. Rose the mgr a real treasure. Upstairs units have a special view, but either level would be fine. What other commentors say is very accurate. We used kyak and bikes and it was great. Only complaints no blue ray player only dvd or vcr, kitchen could have a few more pots, utensils, spices. Would book again on a return visit. We are retired couple and very experienced travelers and usually look for the out of the way type places.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingGirl92201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

What a great place to begin a keys vacation! Everyone was very nice and very helpful. My biggest complaint was the hair dryer that was supplied. It had very little power, but honestly it was not that big a deal. They have kayaks and bicycles there to use when you want to. It was a great couple of day stay. It was exactly as they portrayed on their website.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Camper93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Can't say enough about how wonderful our experience was at Tarpon Flats. Felt so welcome and at home from the moment we arrived. Best part of our Florida vacation. We wish we could have stayed longer and will def be back. Our favorite things were grilling fresh fish and shrimp on the BBQ and relaxing in the hammock on our own private slice of paradise! Thanks Rose for taking such good care of us!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We started our Florida Keys journey in Key Largo where we stayed at Tarpon Flats. It is located on a remote little side road. THere is private parking, a small waterfront area with a hammock and chairs and free access to bikes and kayaks. You can even take the kayaks and paddle over to the national park - John Pennekamp.

The Tarpon Flats hosts were nice and helpful. They provided some great restaurant reccomendations via a detailed print out and coupon book for various local services, dining and tourist attraction savings.

Although our weather wasn't great the three days we were there, it was still fabulous.

Most people dined between 5 & 7:30-8 p.m, so we found going out around 7:30-8 meant we missed the dining crowds and had better service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElissaS229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Firstly, I should say that we booked this because with an offer, it was cheaper than another place which we were looking at. However, I'm delighted we chose Tarpon flats as I thought it was charming. It is surrounded by water on 3 sides with a small raised beach area (difficult to swim from) which was delightful with a hammock and a table and chairs. There is a small dock with free Kayaks and 2 bikes available to use.

My daughter and I kayaked around the marina on one day, then another day we ventured over to John Pennykamp State Park. It was about a mile of paddling but it was well worth the effort as we glided through some awesome mangrove tunnels - smug in the knowledge that we paid nothing to get into the park and that the kayak rental was free.

We ate in more than anticipated as it was well equipped. We used the grill on one day which (once a lighter was found) was very clean and a freshly cooked steak eaten on the private beach was a real delight.

The pool is small and un heated, but this is not why you come to the Keys. My daughter still had fun in it though.

I would certainly recommend this place for a few relaxed days in the keys.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajfvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,493 reviews
5.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
11.2 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,306 reviews
10.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Flats Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Flats Inn

Property: Tarpon Flats Inn
Address: 29 Shoreland Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4750
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Flats Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarpon Flats.The Best location in Key Largo. Oceanside next to Pennekamp State Park,Snorkeling and Diving the Reefs, Christ of the Abyss, Spiegel Grove and other wrecks, all nearby, Fishing thru Adams Cut to Back country. Bonefish and Tarpon fishing in Largo Sound from our free kayaks or reef fishing for grouper snapper on the reef out front or just beyond for sail, wahoo, and marlin in the Gulfstream. Get picked up at our docks. Everglades adventures and eco tours by by land or sea. No smoking rooms. Caribbean ambience suites in a Tropical Setting. Private Beach with hammock and pool. Tarpon Flats Features Free wireless Internet,Free Kayaks,BBQ Grill, Full Kitchen,Great for small Gatherings.Do it All... Dive,fish,kayack,explore,...Or...Do Nothing at All... Just Relax and Conch-Out at Tarpon Flats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tarpon Flats Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Flats Hotel Key Largo
Tarpon Flats Inn Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing