We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Tarpon Flats Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tarpon Flats Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Hands down the BEST Inn I have ever stayed at. My husdand and I were visiting some friends and instead of staying at the chain hotels we wanted to try something more on the line of quiet and that had real Key Largo charm.

Gilda the Manager of the property - who was so sweet helpful and kind greeted us as soon as we pulled in, gave us a welcome packet with all great spots to visit from restaurant's to local activities. She then took us on a tour of the Inn. Explained all the different activities that were in walking distances or just short drives. Gilda brought us to our room showed us around explained how to use everything - even offer to help with our luggage. You don't get that at the chain resorts.

The rooms were extremely clean, comfortable and had everything you needed.

The pool was so refreshing, the atmoshpere was like being in paradise. We were in paradise. It is a hidden gem.

They also offer free use of the Kayaks that was a fun venture!

We are looking to go back very soon with our family.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TeamEber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    49
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
119
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

So often hotels are hustle and bustle and prevent you from relaxing. At Tarpon Flats the rooms are inexpensive, but clean. The location is great. And they have on-sight kayaks and bikes to tour around in. The equipment has soon better days but for free I am not complaining. We brought I daughter and also enjoyed a short walk to The Hideaway for breakfast. Enjoy this little piece of the old keys.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Tarpon Flats is a true gem of Key Largo, and staying there was a major reason my recent vacation there with my girlfriend was so special and amazing. I have to agree with just about all the other good reviews on here for the property; lovely beach, swimming pool, clean rooms, comfortable beds, convenient location, well-stocked kitchen, kayaking, biking, great star-watching, awesome view, etc. One thing I especially loved about Tarpon was all the friendly locals who lived in houseboats nearby. Every morning we would find friendly people to talk to, including Mitch and his super-friendly-football-loving-dog Buckley! Also Rose who worked the desk and took our reservation was incredibly helpful in many regards. She writes the book on good customer service.

WHEN (not if :) we go back to Key Largo I would love to stay at the Tarpon Flats again. It really made a great impression, and I hope to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed on one of the bottom rooms, and I found it very convenient not having to loop around the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spazz_509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seacoast New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

What a lovely small hotel in a quiet location! The room was comfortable and the kitchen was well-equipped. We used both the kayaks and the bikes multiple times. (The bikes were older and a little beat up, but so was the bike trail, so that was probably good.) We were able to kayak over to John Pennekamp State Park and did so twice during our stay. Since it was a small place, we were able to borrow the kayaks whenever we wanted them. We also did some biking on the Florida Keys Overland Heritage trail, which was under construction.
We could walk to several restaurants and we got recommendations for several others from our hosts and Frank, who lives on his houseboat at the property.
Manatees often come into the canal by the hotel, so we were able to see several (including a baby!).
All in all, a wonderful stay. Perfect February getaway for us (sick of snow) northerners.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinnaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilda S, Manager at Tarpon Flats Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We would like to thank all of our guests who have taken the time to write a review. We truly appreciate it. We are please to announce all work has been completed to the new bike path in Key Largo. Here is a link to their website http://www.dep.state.fl.us/gwt/state/keystrail/_default.htm we are sorry it was not in working condition during your stay. We now have a beautiful new path you can enjoy so we hope you will come again Thanks : )

--
Tarpon Flats Inn & Marina
29 Shoreland Drive MM 103.5
Key Largo FL 33037
Phone: +1 305 453 1313
Toll free 1 866 546 0000
www.tarponflats.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very nice property in a lovely location. There is a pretty beach and a small pool. Friendly and accommodating staff. Very close to Pennekamp Park and good restaurants. We very much enjoyed our stay here and will return.

Stephanie & Earl

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLED1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This charming inn is off the beaten path in a quiet area near a marina. The hosts give you a welcome package including your room keys, info about the hotel, tourist info, restaurant recommendations, maps, coupons, which all make you feel instantly welcome. The place is decorated like your cozy seaside vacation home and is very clean. I like it that they give you 2 bikes to ride around, and even a few kayaks (along with life vests) you can take out to Largo Sound. I had a nice, peaceful time kayaking in the waters. There's a hammock outside which I didn't use, but I would if I had stayed longer. Rose was awesome and helpful. Most importantly, it's worth the value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I spent three nights in Key Largo. We spent the first night at the Marriott, second night at the Hampton Inn, and third night at Tarpon Flats. The reason we only stayed at Tarpon Flats for one night was because they were full except for Sunday night. We found it because I love going down the "back" streets and finding off-the-beaten track spots. That description fits Tarpon Flats to a "T". We stayed in "Bonefish" (one of the two upstairs rooms). It was perfect - convenient kitchen and comfortable bed. The small staff is very friendly and they go out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. Rose spent quite a bit of time giving us a tour of the property. Nice lady! My reason for not giving it 5 stars was that the air conditioning unit was noisy ... on and off all night. The area down by the water is beautiful with a nice hammock and picnic table plus several lounge chairs. Beautiful sunrise viewing spot. The water is crystal clear. They also have a very small soaking pool that would be a nice spot to float at night and do some star gazing! We also enjoyed having bikes, kayaks and a canoe at our disposal - they aren't top-of-the-line, but they get the job done ! There are many slips around Tarpon Flats that are leased by boaters ... a nice, local place to stay. Sorry we were only there for a one night stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xstemboatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,418 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,503 reviews
5.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
949 reviews
11.2 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Flats Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Flats Inn

Property: Tarpon Flats Inn
Address: 29 Shoreland Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4750
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Flats Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarpon Flats.The Best location in Key Largo. Oceanside next to Pennekamp State Park,Snorkeling and Diving the Reefs, Christ of the Abyss, Spiegel Grove and other wrecks, all nearby, Fishing thru Adams Cut to Back country. Bonefish and Tarpon fishing in Largo Sound from our free kayaks or reef fishing for grouper snapper on the reef out front or just beyond for sail, wahoo, and marlin in the Gulfstream. Get picked up at our docks. Everglades adventures and eco tours by by land or sea. No smoking rooms. Caribbean ambience suites in a Tropical Setting. Private Beach with hammock and pool. Tarpon Flats Features Free wireless Internet,Free Kayaks,BBQ Grill, Full Kitchen,Great for small Gatherings.Do it All... Dive,fish,kayack,explore,...Or...Do Nothing at All... Just Relax and Conch-Out at Tarpon Flats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tarpon Flats Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Flats Hotel Key Largo
Tarpon Flats Inn Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing