We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the place to stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azul del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Azul del Mar
Ranked #4 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed at Azul in both Key Largo and in Key West. Two very different, but equally comfortable, and accommodating properties. The owners were on site and very helpful; they couldn't have been nicer. You can't go wrong with either on; we highly recommend these hotels.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    84
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
8
288
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Great place to be if you are searching for comfort, leisure, relaxation.
wonderful location.
They don't provide the sunset, but he, what a place to look at it!

If you are looking for a lot of huzzle/fuzzle then stay out of it. They don't have swimmingpools (the bay is yours), restaurants, entertainment or whatever.
But that's not the thing you are looking for (like us, avoiding it), than this is the place to be.
We booked for 2 nights and because it was so wonderful we booked another night on our way back. What a joy to be back before returning home. What a 'grande finale' to our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2maan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

This was my second trip to Azul del Mar. Went with my hubby three years ago on our babymoon. Returned in March with my best friend from college for a girls' getaway. Why Azul? We wanted comfy, clean rooms, plenty of space to spread out, peace and quiet, a spot in the sun, and easy access. Azul is all of these things and more. The husband-and-wife owners take great pride in their property, obvious at every turn. It's a gem. And they provide superior service, advice, and recommendations (restaurants, fishing guides, shopping spots) when asked. Azul's close proximity to MIA makes it an easy spot to get to and from for a long weekend. The value is tremendous, especially compared to what we would have paid for far less space -- and far less peace & quiet -- in Miami/SoBe! Go to Azul if you want the quintessential -- and an exceptional -- boutique hotel experience. P.S. Seafood lovers, eat at Calypso's! Best food in the Keys, no question.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmySTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

My husband and I spent 2 nights here while on a trip celebrating our anniversary. We loved this hotel! The grounds were gorgeous and we very much enjoyed sitting under the tiki hut watching the sun set!! The room was very nice, modern, and clean. Didn't love that there was no shower in our room, but for only 2 nights, it was no big deal! The staff was extremely friendly and we'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank staugmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

Very personable greeting. Only stayed one night but Dominic and his wife made us feel very welcome and much like at home. We were very impressed by the room (intimate, comfortable, and clean!). The view in the backyard represented the most beautfiul screensaver. We had a bottle of wine on the pier and watched the most amazing sunset! Service at the 'couples resort' was amazing! Any requests were granted. Can't wait to go back and spend more time there--and even try kayaking!!!!
P.S. The owners also have a place in key west where the service and place is also amazing!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaseyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

This was our first trip to the Florida Keys, and Azul del Mar provided a beautiful, romantic, comfortable home-base for our trip.

I highly recommend booking the Aquamarina room. It's a spacious one bedroom with a lovely living room (thank god for the TV and DVD player on our one rainy day) kitchen (stocked with dishes, flatware, fridge, microwave and dishwasher--great for us vegetarians to cook in to save on bad overpriced vacation food) and sunroom that overlooks the yard and tiny beach.

Yes, it's a tiny beach--a few chairs on a little strip of sand on the Florida Bay side, and access to a little dock with a few more chairs for optimal sunning--but really perfect for relaxing and taking in one of the most beautiful views I have ever seen. I would recommend that vacationers looking for a large beach to spend their days on might try a more commercial resort hotel--this is a peaceful little spot. Or, do what we did and drive down to Bahia Honda State Park, where there is unlimited beautiful beach space to stretch out and play in the ocean.

Our room was clean and beautiful, the hotel was peaceful, and the staff was friendly and helpful. While I felt that the hotel was a bit overpriced, I really did love our room and I would certainly recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsf214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itjustworks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

My wife and I spent three nights here in early January. Unfortunately it happened to be during an unusually cold time for the Keys. That being said it would have been nice to have more heat than a single space heater. The suite was freezing. Even with the heater in the bedroom and the door closed it barely made 60 degrees. Maybe it doesn’t get cold there often but I feel like they should have been better prepared. The rooms were quite expensive for the amenities that were provided. At water’s edge, I would be surprised if it was more than 25’ wide. The website is very good at disguising this feature. A very disappointing (but memorable) stay. And not one I will repeat.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itjustworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
12.1 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
11.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
6.4 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul del Mar

Property: Azul del Mar
Address: 104300 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2935
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azul del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul del Mar is an exquisitely renovated boutique hotel nestled in a tropical garden on Florida Bay, Key Largo. The five stylish suites boast marble floors, dark wood furniture, mustard leather sofas, granite counter tops and ice blue bathroom tile. Feather down comforters and the best all cotton linens add a romantic quality to this secluded getaway. Ideal for sailing, diving, fishing, kayaking or simple relaxtion, Azul is Key Largo's best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Azul del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Del Mar Hotel Key Largo
Azul Del Mar Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing