We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Azul del Mar Rocks!”
Review of Azul del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Azul del Mar
Ranked #4 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2010

The moment we turned into the driveway from US 1, it was like a little sanctuary opened up for us. Dominic (owner, manager?) welcomed us warmly and after the brief check in, he gave us a very helpful map of the area, making recommendations for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. He then took us to our room, which was exactly as advertised.

The queen sized bed was firm and comfortable, the sofa and matching chair both very comfortable, and the kitchenette perfect for our three day stay. The decor was contemporary and tasteful. The air conditioning unit was above the bed, but wasn't noisy in the least and did a great job of keeping the room cool. The bathroom was spacious with plenty of natural light. The shower stepped down - plenty of hot water and good pressure.

The grounds are immaculate and we enjoyed the sunsets from various vantage points during our stay. There are two tiki huts with seating and music, plus a private dock and small beach, both with seating.

My wife and I were both more than pleased with our stay and would definitely come back again. If you're looking for a quiet, romantic, relaxing place to stay, I would highly recommend Azul del Mar. The fact that there are only six rooms and that it's adults only makes it perfect for a quiet couple's getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seneca77x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2010

This hotel is located on the bay, and convenient to shopping and restaurants. The owners and management are great, service is above reproach. We have been there for 3 years in a row and have booked for next year also. The sunsets across the bay are spectacular. Just added catamaran trips to various places/times are to be enjoyed. Kayaks are available, single and double hull. Or, just veg in one of the cabanas. There is a public park close by for walking or jogging.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mela38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Our first time in the keys - stayed here and azul key west for a couple of nights each.
Couln't have asked for anything more - location , ambiance , rooms and everything about both hotels excellent.The owners were a lovely couple , nothing too much trouble , especially' local knowledge' tips and info. Wouldn't hestitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Azul del Mar is a cool little property on the main highway in Key Largo (but once inside the property, you can't hear the highway at all). The property envelopes you in old, mature tress as soon as you enter the driveway. There is plenty of green space, with picnic tables and a grill if you want to cook there. They also have two tiki huts with furniture and CD players where you can hang out and enjoy the day or the sunset. They have a small man-made beach (big enough for about 6-8 lounge chairs) and a dock with a few more lounge chairs. Don't miss the sunset! The view from the beach or the ocean facing rooms is great.

The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations, directions, etc. They have a library of movies in the office that you can borrow (for free) and watch in your room. Note that the office has limited hours -- 9-12:30 in the morning and 3:30-7:00 in the evening if I remember correctly. We were only disappointed once with a recommendation of a snorkel trip that wasn't the greatest.

We were there mid-week so they upgraded us to a more expensive room than we had booked. It was very nice. Extremely clean, king size bed, marble in the mini-kitchen (small fridge, microwave, sink, coffee maker, dishes and and dishwasher), and nice, modern furniture in the living room. This particular room (Aquamarina) also had an extra couch in a little sunroom facing the beach. The view was gorgeous and we spent a lot of time there. The only two things they could improve would be the t.v. (very small and hanging high so it's not that comfortable to watch from the couch) and the water pressure (very low in the shower). All-in-all, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KinWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Azul del Mar as a stopover from Key West to Orlando.

We left Key West mid-morning. We had 'one-way' rented a car at Miami airport and dropped it off at Key West airport, so we took a Pink taxi from our accommodation at the Key West B&B in William Street to the airport, including gratuities cost $20 and took about 10 minutes.

Although the rental from Miami was with Hertz, who were perfect, we had reserved this car with Budget. We changed the Miami one to Hertz after hearing horror stories about Budget at Miami airport. Budget at Key West were also perfect.

We took a slow sightseeing drive back up to Key Largo, stopping at the seven mile bridge, the Key West Deer reserve (a must), Islamorada and Long Key where there are some stunning nature walks. We arrived at the Azul del Mar in the early evening and were given a very friendly welcome. The Azul del Mar is much less personal than the Key West B&B, more like a hotel.

Our suite was Celeste on the top floor, it was spotlessly clean and the furnishings and decorations were bright, fresh and in perfect condition. The bed was a King and was very comfortable. The bedding was also spotless and in perfect condition. The bathroom was bright and in excellent condition, the towels were as fluffy and new as any hotel I've ever stayed in. The was a kitchen area which we used only to make coffee and store soda in the refrigerator. The living room had French windows overlooking the exotic garden, beach and Gulf, the bedroom had a window with the same view. There was ample free parking in the large front gardens. Breakfast wasn't included.

We had dinner at Sundowners, a short walk to the south of Azul del Mar, although bear in mind you may be walking back in the dark and I'm not sure how safe that is. Sundowners is very busy, staff are dashing around, often running and thundering down on the wooden floors, if you are looking for a relaxing or romantic restaurant you may want to pass on Sundowners, although if it's warm enough to eat outdoors, it may be less frenetic. We found the waiting staff to be quite rude, every time they bustled past our table the would bump into our chairs, and not just brushing them, one waiter asked me to move out of his way, the only place was under the table. We got up to leave, but the manager swiftly moved us to a less busy spot.

As it was almost next door, we stopped for a drink at the Caribbean Club, said to be the location for the film, Key Largo. We couldn't see it, we even watched the film, still we couldn't see how it could've been filmed there. Still on a movie theme, we did see the authentic African Queen, well worth a visit for Bogart fans.

We had chosen to break our journey at Key Largo as my wife wanted to visit the John Pennekamp Park. We found it rather disappointing although the nature walk was very good, but there's no need to pay for similar walks nearby. We quickly moved on to the Florida Keys Wild Bird Rehabilitation Centre at Taverner, this was wonderful and the walks were stunning. If you can only do one of the two places the Wild Bird Centre is an absolute must. Children would adore the birds. Entrance is free but donations are welcome and needed and will be even more so after the Gulf oil spill.

The Azul has a small pier and beach which makes for a wonderful time during sunset. The room is quite expensive but the quality is very high and there are smaller less expensive rooms on the ground floor.

In summary. The Azul del Mar is a high quality small hotel witha private beach Gulf side at MM104, if you want to be certain of a good quality, clean room, the Azul would be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

My husband and I stayed Sun-Tues and had an amazing experience. The staff for so attentive and sweet. Although we are familiar with the keys, the map with their recommendations did help us with our dining decisions. They recommmended we check out the Big Chill and it was delicious! The rooms were very nice and comfortable and clean. The view of the sunset was absolutely priceless... My husband and I were out there for hours enjoying the breeze as we watched the sun go down. Even better when we realized that we were the only guests. Complete privacy... we felt like we were on our own little island...
I had read the reviews of this hotel prior to us booking the room and other people had forwarned about this room not having a shower but some connecting hose to the jacuzzi. Staff at the hotel also reminded us about the bathroom not having a shower. We didnt think it would be an issue, but it was a bit uncomfortable. We enjoyed it nonetheless.
We will definitely go back again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ileanav00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed at Azul in both Key Largo and in Key West. Two very different, but equally comfortable, and accommodating properties. The owners were on site and very helpful; they couldn't have been nicer. You can't go wrong with either on; we highly recommend these hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
6.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,522 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,327 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
11.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul del Mar

Address: 104300 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2935
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: £151 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azul del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul del Mar is an exquisitely renovated boutique hotel nestled in a tropical garden on Florida Bay, Key Largo. The five stylish suites boast marble floors, dark wood furniture, mustard leather sofas, granite counter tops and ice blue bathroom tile. Feather down comforters and the best all cotton linens add a romantic quality to this secluded getaway. Ideal for sailing, diving, fishing, kayaking or simple relaxtion, Azul is Key Largo's best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Azul del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Del Mar Hotel Key Largo
Azul Del Mar Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing