We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Key Largo Must”
Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Reef Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A real gem. This location is such a delight. Friendly, clean, reasonable prices. The owner, Linda, is so pleasant as well as the rest of the staff. You could not ask for more. Conveniently located to stores and restaurants. Beautiful waterfront for swimming, fishing or just catching the sunset.. You will definitely want to return.

Room Tip: The room with the kitchen was great for whipping up the fish you caught that day or having a quiet m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was an unplanned stay on our way back from Key West to fly home. I found the resort in a hotel guide and called to see if they would honor the price. Jerry answered the phone and informed me that he would hold a room for us. Upon arrival I was a little uncomfortable by the appearance . So we asked Jerry to see a room which he kindly showed us and than walked to the back. OH MY GOODNESS, what a surprise. It is an ABSOLUTY Stunning property, with BEAUTIFUL Bonsai trees, hammocks, picnic tables, two person swings and wonderful huts for shade. At the edge of the beach is a Gorgeous View from a sitting area to view the water and the Amazing Sunset. You can also use the Paddle Boat or Kayaks free of charge. We LOVED this stay from first contact with Jerry to our Departure and the owner was Fabulous, We will definitely choose Rock Reef again given the chance. Thank you Linda and Jerry!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room but there are two cabins on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dippiehippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This place is gorgeous and the owners and staff are so friendly! The grounds are beautiful, the rooms charming and wonderful and the views amazing. A must stay for Key Largo-- have many good experiences at this resort, a def must-visit

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzycoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The resort management was very accommodating to all our needs for the wedding, wedding party and us as a family staying at the resort. All went very well and I was extremely impressed with Linda's, the owner, ability to call for good weather the night before and we got what we asked for! BEAUTIFUL Weather! :)
My wife was so impressed with the resort she want to bring her mother there all the way from Eastern Russia for a stay. So in summation you don't have to look for Coccomo! You are already there in Key Largo, Rock Reef Resort!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 and it was awesome, plenty of A/C when we needed it. The rooms were impeccably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were exploring Key Largo and visited Rock Reef while heading down the Keys in search of wedding venues. The resort has a old Florida feel without feeling "dated". It is across a beautiful waterway from Everglades National Park, so the night sky is SPECTACULAR. We sat under the Milky Way, with shooting stars above us and bioluminescent organisms lighting up every ripple in the water below! It was magical. When we first arrived, the owner Linda was hard at work with the upkeep of the beautiful and unique property, and took over two hours of her time, even though she was exhausted, to show us around, discuss activities and amenities , talk wildlife/fishing and let us view different rooms. Prices are completely reasonable. The property is very clean/comfortable, the beach was clean and the owners are WONDERFUL. We decided to have our wedding much further south but this resort was a close second choice. We will stay here any time we are in Key Largo and highly recommend you do too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sadieofthewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a great place with a fantastic view of the ocean! Take one of the bungalows and you won't regret it! You can go fishing, see dolphins if you are lucky or just enjoy the most spectacular sunset in the world!
We stayed in Key West and Marathon before, but we loved this hotel in Key Largo!

Room Tip: Bungalows are the best choice!
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was our third trip to Rock Reef and we've always had a wonderful time. It's not a high rise motel. It's unique in that it allows you to experience the true Keys laidback atmosphere. The landscaping is lush allowing for privacy between cabins. Wildlife abounds. The hammocks and tiki huts almost force you to relax. The apartment we stayed in was large and clean with a well equipped kitchen. The staff, and especially our hosts, Dave and Linda, went out of their way to insure we had an exceptional stay. Rock Reef has a sandy beach and the best sunsets in the Keys. Kayaks and a paddle boat were available at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_S58313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,569 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
636 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 20 in Key Largo
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: £126 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rock Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo
Rock Reef Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing