We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
upstate New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Another great stay at Rock Reef. The new drapes and bed spreads look great. The staff was great and the rooms were sparkling. The grounds are very well kept and very colorful with all the plants. The owners went over and above making sure we enjoyed our trip. I'm sure that I will be returning again in October for another visit ,Because I could not find another place that is as clean and small and friendly.

Room Tip: I have stayed in many different rooms and I would take anyone that they had available at the time an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fharris41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    196
    57
    17
    8
See reviews for
137
292
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Clean enough. But it is the first hotel we've ever stayed at that had no coffee. There was a coffee pot, filters and coffee cups, but no coffee. Went to front desk and asked for coffee, they said they don't provide that. At least they could have it for purchase then. Another very strange thing was the sign next to the coffee cups. It said "Please wash your dishes before you leave". Meaning ..... the coffee cups. A little bottle of Palmolive dish soap was sitting on the bathroom sink.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eaglecindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were bargain hunting for a long weekend in Key Largo during high season. We ended up at the Rock Reef resort in a 'deluxe' room. I was very disappointed. It seemed clean. Two double beds with bedspreads that I immediately removed (they didn't look dirty, but I know they are not laundered after each stay). We were on the bottom floor, with a siding glass door facing the parking lot. I don't think that was in the description! The furniture was very mismatched. There were two lights (not counting the bathroom light) in the unit so at night it was very dungeon like. The bathroom was very tiny. There were no hooks or places to put clothes. The grounds were pretty nice and the sunset was awesome.

Room Tip: If you choose this resort, make sure you have one of the cabin like dwellings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ21_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Rock Reef. Our room was basic and all we needed. It was very clean and comfortable and the service was great, too. Sunsets over Florida Bay are amazing and the tables on Rock Reef's patio are perfect for taking it in. It's clear the owners take pride in the resort and keep it in good condition. We would definitly go back again.

Restaurant and gas station within walking distance, which was convenient. We put groceries in the fridge and saved money eating cold dinners in the room or on the patio overlooking the bay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cross_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed in Cottage #9 for three days in early February and LOVED IT! The resort is on the Bay so the water was calmer and warmer than the Atlantic and we could bring our own beverage and watch the sunset without driving anywhere.The cottage was recently remodeled with a full kitchen, bathroom/shower only, open LR/DR, separate BR with 2 full size beds, a porch with table/chairs and a porch swing. It is the closest to the beachfront - best location on the property. It was clean and everything worked well. The owners and staff were pleasant and helpful. There are free kayaks, a paddleboat, charcoal grills with picnic tables and a hot tub. Since we kayaked everyday and cooked/grilled all our meals except one dinner, we thought it was a bargain after Key West.

Room Tip: Cottage #8 is the best. Did not see any of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAHappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place, quiet room, clean and modern accommodations
Recommend for hollydays and two or tree days stays. The owners are so friendly and help us in our needs. The beach, boat pier, garden and the spa are calm and relaxing. Great for couples or families. Great time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very small rooms, no water pessure, highway noise, no lights to give light a path to the beach, wifi didnt work inside the room. Definately needs a reno. Overall not impressed for the 170 price tag. Regreting not looking at the review before booking.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindamanagement, Owner at Rock Reef Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and staying with us.
Water pressure at Rock Reef has never been an issue. FL Keys Aqueduct Authority provides water to the Keys and as such we have no control over water pressure. All units have Moen fixtures in the showers and sinks. To operate these fixtures, you pull the knobs out and turn the valve to the left or right for hot /cold water. You must pull the valve (knob) out completely for maximum pressure.
All units facing the highway have been fitted with high impact hurricane windows. These windows reduce noise by over 90 percent. Some people don’t like air conditioning, so they turn off the a/c and open the windows which will allow the road noise into the unit.
There is a well-lit path to the pier and beach.
Our Wi-Fi has always been available on the property. Mechanical failure cannot be foreseen. However, everything is now in working order. Sorry for the inconvenience.
We are always making improvements each year. We do pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable rooms in a very peaceful and relaxing setting at reasonable prices. The State and Local taxes of 12.5% are added to the cost of each room, bringing your room rate to about $151 and change.
Again, Thank You for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Property: Rock Reef Resort
Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rock Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo
Rock Reef Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing