We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice good value”
Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“great choice good value”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed only one night in march 2014. We were staying in palm beach but wanted a hotel for one night to maximize and extend our experience in the keys. I love to get a good value and this was more than we could ask for. The beach they have is amazing with hammocks a tiki hut a dock tables and west facing for sunsets. They also had free kayaks and paddle boats. Kids loved the lizards on the sandy beach. Jacuzzi Tec. Good value spacious clean rooms good staff

Room Tip: West side better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    205
    59
    18
    8
See reviews for
152
310
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

On the spur of the moment 5 couples decided to spend St. Patrick's day in Key Largo. We called 2 days before to make reservations. The man at the front desk was very helpful in accommodating us. We ended up with 2 rooms with 2 bedrooms each and 1 single room . The 2 bedroom room we stayed in was very clean. The bedroom in the back had 2 queen beds and louver doors that separated us from the front room. My only complaint about the back bedroom was the mattress was very soft and there was somewhat of a mildew smell. The bathroom was immaculate. The grounds of the hotel were very nice .Lots of blooming bougainvillea and other tropical trees and plants. I really liked the Bonsai garden. Nice lounging area by the water with a small pier/dock that went a little further into the water. The swimming area was not great. Very limited amount of sand and lots of weeds close to the shoreline . However, it was hot to swim and manged to find sandy spots a little further out. All in all for a last minute booking the five couples had a great time and would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gale g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

D.& J.. Corbacio
Great Place to go

The rooms were very clean and comfortable.
Owners are great. Best nights sleep in any
place we have stayed. Hope to stay again soon.
The grounds are also well kept.We enjoyed sitting on the dock at night
relaxing and just talking with the owners and other people there. It'so peaceful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyce c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed in unit 7 & 8. The house had a connecting door which was a surprise and nice for our group. Both areas were clean. 4 adults stayed in unit 8; 2 adults stayed in unit 7. Yes, the kitchen towels and wash clothes do not match but that didn't make our stay any less appealing. The mattresses were extremely comfortable (and new) and each had a mattress cover; one more extra step the resort has taken to keep a clean environment. The grounds are very well kept. Lots of lighting throughout both units; but who needs lighting inside when most of your time is spent outside on the great patio! It was great to have a place to cook if you wanted to or even order pizza to be delivered. Overall, a quiet place to stay without all the hussle and bussle. May not be an exciting place for kids. If ever in the Keys, we will stay again.

Room Tip: Unit 7 & 8 are quiet but a small ocean view Good size bathrooms in both units Great patio Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbl512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Another great stay at Rock Reef. The new drapes and bed spreads look great. The staff was great and the rooms were sparkling. The grounds are very well kept and very colorful with all the plants. The owners went over and above making sure we enjoyed our trip. I'm sure that I will be returning again in October for another visit ,Because I could not find another place that is as clean and small and friendly.

Room Tip: I have stayed in many different rooms and I would take anyone that they had available at the time an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fharris41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Clean enough. But it is the first hotel we've ever stayed at that had no coffee. There was a coffee pot, filters and coffee cups, but no coffee. Went to front desk and asked for coffee, they said they don't provide that. At least they could have it for purchase then. Another very strange thing was the sign next to the coffee cups. It said "Please wash your dishes before you leave". Meaning ..... the coffee cups. A little bottle of Palmolive dish soap was sitting on the bathroom sink.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eaglecindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were bargain hunting for a long weekend in Key Largo during high season. We ended up at the Rock Reef resort in a 'deluxe' room. I was very disappointed. It seemed clean. Two double beds with bedspreads that I immediately removed (they didn't look dirty, but I know they are not laundered after each stay). We were on the bottom floor, with a siding glass door facing the parking lot. I don't think that was in the description! The furniture was very mismatched. There were two lights (not counting the bathroom light) in the unit so at night it was very dungeon like. The bathroom was very tiny. There were no hooks or places to put clothes. The grounds were pretty nice and the sunset was awesome.

Room Tip: If you choose this resort, make sure you have one of the cabin like dwellings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ21_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,534 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,485 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,304 reviews
5.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Property: Rock Reef Resort
Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rock Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo
Rock Reef Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing