We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome resort in key largo why go any further”
Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just checked out today! Had an awesome stay. For thise of you who maybe wondering are the pictures really what you are getting, the answer is yes. Beautiful resort vey peaceful gorgeous gardens beaches. Rooms are very nice little cottages was not disappointed at all. So gladwe came tothe keys! Instant stress reliever the minute you step in your room and take a walk around the grounds. Lots of wild life that are harmless but Interesting. Thank You for a very relaxing stay.

Brenda Slifer

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a great place to stay and will stay again. Very clean with a personable and friendly staff. Secluded, you don't have the feeling your in a crowded area, lots of plants/greenery. Beach area, waterfront tables, chairs, beautiful view, great sunset.

Room Tip: took the most cost effective for my budget and was very pleased with accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Nice relaxing place with its own beach. This was my first time to the Keys and this is the place I chose. The second story two bedroom suites are awesome. Me, my mom, my sister and my niece shared this space very easily. After four days of exploring the Keys, I spent the last day on one of the hammocks reading a James Patterson novel. Sooo relaxing.

The owners are super nice and friendly. It was a great "home base" to explore the rest of the Keys. The beach was a little small, but peaceful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The second story two bedrooms have four beds, TV, small dining area and a refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJackson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were on our way to Marathon for a 3-night stay, and happened by Rock Reef Resort on the way. It was an outstanding visit and WILL become one of our intended stops for future trips. Judy went out of her way to make us feel welcome. Linda added to the excellence of our stay when we checked out the next day. We didn't want to leave! But the real highlight for our daughters was the visit by "grandpa" or "Spike" as they called him; the 6-foot iguana that came to call on the beach the morning we left. That made it all worth it for our family!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet, even those on the front of the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry_Venning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed only one night in march 2014. We were staying in palm beach but wanted a hotel for one night to maximize and extend our experience in the keys. I love to get a good value and this was more than we could ask for. The beach they have is amazing with hammocks a tiki hut a dock tables and west facing for sunsets. They also had free kayaks and paddle boats. Kids loved the lizards on the sandy beach. Jacuzzi Tec. Good value spacious clean rooms good staff

Room Tip: West side better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

On the spur of the moment 5 couples decided to spend St. Patrick's day in Key Largo. We called 2 days before to make reservations. The man at the front desk was very helpful in accommodating us. We ended up with 2 rooms with 2 bedrooms each and 1 single room . The 2 bedroom room we stayed in was very clean. The bedroom in the back had 2 queen beds and louver doors that separated us from the front room. My only complaint about the back bedroom was the mattress was very soft and there was somewhat of a mildew smell. The bathroom was immaculate. The grounds of the hotel were very nice .Lots of blooming bougainvillea and other tropical trees and plants. I really liked the Bonsai garden. Nice lounging area by the water with a small pier/dock that went a little further into the water. The swimming area was not great. Very limited amount of sand and lots of weeds close to the shoreline . However, it was hot to swim and manged to find sandy spots a little further out. All in all for a last minute booking the five couples had a great time and would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gale g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

D.& J.. Corbacio
Great Place to go

The rooms were very clean and comfortable.
Owners are great. Best nights sleep in any
place we have stayed. Hope to stay again soon.
The grounds are also well kept.We enjoyed sitting on the dock at night
relaxing and just talking with the owners and other people there. It'so peaceful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyce c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
595 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,550 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: £105 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo
Rock Reef Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing