We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third visit and always a charm”
Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Each time we have stayed at Rock Reef we have tried different accommodations. First time a room, second time a combo living room/kitchen and a bedroom. This time we went with another couple and used unit 7 - 2 bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and dining/living room. Have always loved the old Florida feel although the "apartment" was up to date and had a nicely equipped kitchen and good sized bathroom. It was VERY clean. A few little picky issues with service (no top sheet - trash collected but left outside our door and not taken away) but they were easily overlooked. Air conditioning worked extremely well. Love the double swing on the porch. The grounds are still lovely with hammocks and tables and chairs spread throughout the property. The dock and large tiki hut are fantastic places to spend the early morning, sunny mid day or evening. We spent an hour enjoying a wild storm from under the hut (waterproof!!). We did some swimming but felt a couple of stings. No idea what was in the water. Office is helpful. We will continue to return......

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Room was ideal for us as had a good size fridge, tidy bathroom, grounds have lovely gardens....after a days diving to come back to an out door jacuzzi then sit on the pier with sun downers...we look forward to coming back to Rock Reef.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Roy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I was very happy with Our efficiency. It was so well set up. The owners were very nice. We loved the parrot. It isn't fancy but it is super clean. We didn't expect or want fancy so we loved it. They have a private beach, lots of swings and hammocks, a dock and the best sunset. Can't say enough good about this place. And, the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 309veronicam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just returned from another fantastic stay at Rock Reef Resort. We have been going to the Keys for 20 years and always stay at Rock Reef Resort. The reasons are simple it's always clean, The staff are always friendly and are pleased to welcome returning guests. The property is beautifully located with a small beach which is ideal for young children, It is so relaxing and peaceful and the sunsets at the end of the dock are brilliant. The owners Linda and Dave are always so friendly and down to earth, nothing is too much trouble for them. They really help you to enjoy your stay. There is a hot tub for after you have enjoyed the beach front and tropical gardens, even the wild life are friendly. It's such a great place to stay and we are already planning our visit for next year.

Thanks Linda & Dave again for another fantastic visit.

Ken & Kath
England

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kath1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over the weekend. Only booked the day before so we were not surprised to end up with one of the less attractive rooms. Yes it could be described as dated and compact but it was exceptionally clean and considering the rate we paid, it was excellent value for money. Our room was a ground floor one facing back towards the road. The rooms on the other side of the main building looked a better bet and the stand alone chalet type accommodations nearer the water looked idyllic. I suspect the secret is to book as early or not be disappointed if you end up with what's left. Overall we had a quiet relaxing stay at the rock reef and would not hesitate to use the resort again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DonnyGrimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My boyfriend and I booked the cheapest double room at the reef rock last weekend. First I'll say the positives- the location, and the amenities were all spectacular. The private beach, kayaks, pier, hammocks, and hot tub were great! We even saw bio-luminescent fire worms right off the pier after sunset (we read that this happens a few days after the full moon each month, so we were lucky to be there at the right time). The staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating.

The negative was our room. We were in room #2. Unfortunately our room had an extremely musty/mildewy smell. We kind of got used to it after awhile, but each time we'd leave the room and return, it would smack me in the nostrils. It was not romantic at all, and I didn't even want to eat breakfast in the room because the smell for so intense. Luckily, they have tables and seating areas all around the grounds so we could enjoy our breakfast outside amongst the beautiful flowers.

I haven't seen a lot of complaints about smells in the other reviews, so I would say don't opt for the cheapest room. The private cabins looked really nice.

Room Tip: Avoid room #2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbrickne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindamanagement, Manager at Rock Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thanks for staying at Rock Reef and for taking time to write a review. It was nice that you noted some of our many positives. With nearly four acres of water front property and one of the nicest beaches in the upper Keys, Rock Reef has plenty to offer.

The damp smell could have originated in the A/C filter or could have been the result of the previous guests turning the A/C down too low. When it is set too low condensation will form in the room and a damp smell could occur. The A/C manufacturer recommends a setting of 75 degrees.

We apologize for the problem. A quick phone call to our front desk and we would have resolved the issue in short order.

Thanks again for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel at the start of our trip, we booked the biggest room, which was pretty impressive. A short walk and we were on the private beach where we could sit, chill and watch the wildlife, what a great start to our vacation.

Room Tip: We chose the biggest suite, which was amazing, but all the accommodation looked very impressive and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,559 reviews
5.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
863 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,559 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: £104 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rock Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo
Rock Reef Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing