We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights while travelling on to Key West. Room was good size with nice bathroom. Grounds had a jacuzzi on it, loads of hammocks & small beach onto the bayside where you could watch the sun setting.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rfra386401l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Rock Reef Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We arrived after a horrible experience at another place at 10am and they were able to check in immediately. We even had a boat with us and that was only $15.00 a night!!! The room was cool, roomy immaculate and smelled amazingly clean!
We put the boat in the water on their own ramp and had it docked and in the water the whole time. They block the area where your boat AND trailer are also so we could sleep easily and not worry at all about the boat. They have a great dock and little sandy swimming area that is easy to get in and out of. The grounds are like a tropical paradise.
My only issue was that we were not able to stay longer, had to get back to work!! We will be back. the price was FANTASTIC for what we got! They staff was amazing and professional and helpful.

Room Tip: You can choose the rooms in the front that are very reasonable or choose a little cottage with a vie...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curran17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Each time we have stayed at Rock Reef we have tried different accommodations. First time a room, second time a combo living room/kitchen and a bedroom. This time we went with another couple and used unit 7 - 2 bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and dining/living room. Have always loved the old Florida feel although the "apartment" was up to date and had a nicely equipped kitchen and good sized bathroom. It was VERY clean. A few little picky issues with service (no top sheet - trash collected but left outside our door and not taken away) but they were easily overlooked. Air conditioning worked extremely well. Love the double swing on the porch. The grounds are still lovely with hammocks and tables and chairs spread throughout the property. The dock and large tiki hut are fantastic places to spend the early morning, sunny mid day or evening. We spent an hour enjoying a wild storm from under the hut (waterproof!!). We did some swimming but felt a couple of stings. No idea what was in the water. Office is helpful. We will continue to return......

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Room was ideal for us as had a good size fridge, tidy bathroom, grounds have lovely gardens....after a days diving to come back to an out door jacuzzi then sit on the pier with sun downers...we look forward to coming back to Rock Reef.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Roy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I was very happy with Our efficiency. It was so well set up. The owners were very nice. We loved the parrot. It isn't fancy but it is super clean. We didn't expect or want fancy so we loved it. They have a private beach, lots of swings and hammocks, a dock and the best sunset. Can't say enough good about this place. And, the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 309veronicam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just returned from another fantastic stay at Rock Reef Resort. We have been going to the Keys for 20 years and always stay at Rock Reef Resort. The reasons are simple it's always clean, The staff are always friendly and are pleased to welcome returning guests. The property is beautifully located with a small beach which is ideal for young children, It is so relaxing and peaceful and the sunsets at the end of the dock are brilliant. The owners Linda and Dave are always so friendly and down to earth, nothing is too much trouble for them. They really help you to enjoy your stay. There is a hot tub for after you have enjoyed the beach front and tropical gardens, even the wild life are friendly. It's such a great place to stay and we are already planning our visit for next year.

Thanks Linda & Dave again for another fantastic visit.

Ken & Kath
England

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kath1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over the weekend. Only booked the day before so we were not surprised to end up with one of the less attractive rooms. Yes it could be described as dated and compact but it was exceptionally clean and considering the rate we paid, it was excellent value for money. Our room was a ground floor one facing back towards the road. The rooms on the other side of the main building looked a better bet and the stand alone chalet type accommodations nearer the water looked idyllic. I suspect the secret is to book as early or not be disappointed if you end up with what's left. Overall we had a quiet relaxing stay at the rock reef and would not hesitate to use the resort again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DonnyGrimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,547 reviews
5.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
590 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: £104 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Rock Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo
Rock Reef Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing