We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sunset”
Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is old school motel. Very clean and nice. The beach area and tiki hut is great. Loved the sunset on the lounge chairs. We had an upstairs unit and faced the highway. If you like old this is great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Rock Reef Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Have been there already 2 times, enjoyed the wonderful quietness and the private beach where it is possible to listen to the nature and to the sea. There are no jelling around drunk spring breakers and the stay there was wonderfully relaxing. The owners family is extremly helpful giving information and tries to solve every request of the guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dieter577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

absolutely wonderful. Linda is the owner and she bends over backwards to make you comfortable. On the water with private beach and hammocks everywhere. Restaurant directly across
the street, ballyhoos all you can eat crap 36.00 dollars.
The parrot here at the hotel is named bogey, its been here for years.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buffniraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This modest hotel keeps its words : large and clean rooms, acceptable bathroom. Cute beach ( with sand and without seagrasses), canoes and paddle boats for free. Nice tropical garden with BBQ area and hammocks. Lounge chairs... My daughter even saw manatees by sailing the canoe ! Easy acces. Conclusion : not a luxury hotel, but very acceptable for the price

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mcpascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Ice Cold air conditioning, large spacious rooms, great waterfront area to relax in. Friendly service, just an overall great experience, I would stay there again, and we are from Fort Lauderdale but like to venture into the keys every now and then.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin Joseph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This little resort reminds you of stepping back in time in old Florida. It is an older resort but that doesn't matter; it is clean clean clean! The staff is very friendly and welcoming and you can relax in your room, in a hammock under palm trees or on the small beach looking at the water. We stayed two nights with a child and loved having a small kitchen with full size refrigerator and separate living room so we didn't have to tiptoe around when the little one went to bed early. Would highly recommend and definitely visit again. There are restaurants and a grocery store close by.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sunshine34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Friends told us about the Rock Reef years ago and we've been enjoying this little slice of heaven every year - sometimes twice a year - ever since. Its sand beach (a rare thing in the Keys) is a big plus for sailing our catamaran and we always bring our bikes for long rides on the paved path just across the street.
We especially like that the Rock Reef, with all its modern amenities, still has an old Florida feel: little cottages nestled amid beautiful shade trees and tropical flowers, tiki huts, picnic tables and outdoor grills, a boat ramp, swaying hammocks, and room for kids to roam. Owners Dave and Linda are like family to us, their staff helpful and friendly, and we've made quite a few friendships with other visitors as we gathered along the waterfront dock to watch stunning sunsets and then the night sky fill with stars.
Good food (Ballyhoos next door) and a good night's sleep (really comfortable beds) round out the Rock Reef experience for a perfect Keys vacation.
Thanks Rock Reef!
John and Cathy

Room Tip: For a week's stay we book an efficiency and shop at the nearby Publix.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,547 reviews
5.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
590 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: £103 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo
Rock Reef Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing