We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Rock Reef”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
1 review
“Love Rock Reef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2007

My parents, children, husband and I have been vacationing at Rock Reef Resort for almost 15 years. The different types of rooms satisfy many different needs and are always cheery and clean. The staff has always been friendly and have gone above and beyond to make sure we enjoy our vacation.
The previous time we stayed my husband was disappointed when his deep sea fishing charter couldn't go out due to weather. I mentioned it to the maid cleaning my room and she told me she had a phone number at home for a back water charter fisherman who came to Rock Reef's dock. She called us when she got home with the number and we have been using his charter ever since.
This is the type of service we've come to expect at Rock Reef.

Helpful?
Thank JoJoPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    201
    58
    17
    8
See reviews for
145
300
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2007

We really had a wonderful time in Key Largo over the MLK holiday weekend, and we highly recommend the Rock Reef Resort. Our flight was delayed due to ice storms and arrived quite late (past 11:00 p.m.). We'd called ahead letting RR know we'd be very late. They left directions to our cottage, keys, and they left the lights on both inside and outside our cottage to greet us. It was a welcome end to a trying day.

Although we missed the sunset that first night, we made sure we were sipping a cool beverage on the dock for the next two, and they were grand.

The Rock Reef's staff is great, the location is the best (outstanding snokeling is just a few miles away and you have several places to eat/drink within walking distance), and the sunsets cannot be beat. We hate to say all this because we want to be able to call and get reservations when the need for escape hits us, but the Rock Reef deserves the kudos...

Make your reservations without concern...this place did not let us down.

  • Liked — Great place to relax - and see the sunset
  • Disliked — no wireless access - had to go to a large hotel to download work files
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2006

We had a wonderful stay, It really met all our expectations, The rooms were large, VERY clean, every pot, pan sheet and towel
we needed and then some were there, the view was beautiful, and so were the grounds.
The only thing we needed to bring was us. The staff were very helpful, bike rentals, theaters etc. they researched it all with a smile. Th best came when Iwas feeling and little homesick, and then have the owner Linda knock on our door to invite us, and all the other hotel guests to a fantastic home cooked Thanksgiving dinner, Turkey, Ham, shrimp, . oyster stuffing, and that was just the begining, but best off all was the warm family feeling we all had. I would recomend this wonderful home away from home to all. Thank you again Linda & Dave, Sincerely Sandy & Bob Willsea

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank sandycac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2006

The perfect place to stay in Key Largo. Not a big cookie-cutter chain. Step back to the old Key Largo. Clean, quiet, peaceful. Staff is very helpful, but not over-bearing. Located in the middle of several good places to eat and drink, one of which is right across the street. We can't wait to go back to the Rock Reef Resort!

  • Liked — Quiet. Beach. Small. Not a chain. Close to everything yet it felt isolated.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RightRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach County
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2006

This is a delightful little resort on the Gulf side of Key Largo. The small cottages are classic Keys, and are being renovated and updated at this time, according to the management. The hotel rooms are clean, well decorated, and the room I stayed in had a very comfortable and firm mattress. The beach is pleasant, and sunsets are breath-taking. The grounds are well cared for and there is a fascinating bonzai collection.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank newspaperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2006

Just returned from another Holday at our favorite place on earth Rock Reef resort.
My Wife and myself have been visiting Rock Reef resort for the past 13yrs (every year) we have looked at other places in the keys while we have been there but non come close to this paradise.We had our 10yr old grandson with us this year and he loved the well cleaned beach area with safe snorkeling.
The staff are always friendly and appreciative of who ever visits their property.The owners Linda & Dave are fantastic they greet you , talk to you , but leave you alone to enjoy your holiday.
It is the most peaceful place you could imagine, and the setting is just breathtaking,we could never get sick of going to the same place year after year.The rooms are always clean and tidy (we have stayed in them all) and the beach huts are Brilliant.
This is highly recommended if you want something to take the stress out of your life ,and everyone associared with Rock Reef certainly help with that..Roll on next year. Ken & Kath Dodds from North Shields England.

  • Liked — clean, comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing worth reporting
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy the peace and tranquility Rock Reef have to offer
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ken&Kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ft lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2006

I often go to the keys for R&R and fund with a group. this is the place. The rooms are great and can accommodate any crowd. We travel to rock reef at least 4 times a year with appx. 10 friends and family. Rock reef has everything you need for a get away with friends. I also had my sisters wedding here. it was a beautiful sunset ceremony. The Owners and employees are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and and roomy. i would reccomend this spot to anyone!

  • Liked — Love the property (grounds)
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cmjp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
0.1 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Property: Rock Reef Resort
Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rock Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo
Rock Reef Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing