We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunsets at the Dock are a favorite part of the day”
Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2007

Our group comes every year to go SCUBA diving in Key Largo and stay at the Rock Reef. We often have a varied group of people that includes families, couples and young adults. Rock Reef has rooms for everyone's needs including cooking facilities in many. Their outdoor grill area is a favorite area for our entire group to enjoy a cookout. The bayside waterfront provides great space to enjoy the sunset while talking with friends. Their proximity to area restaurants (Ballyhoos is right across the street) is also a plus.

Stayed: March 2007
Thank OHTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Rock Reef Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2007

My parents, children, husband and I have been vacationing at Rock Reef Resort for almost 15 years. The different types of rooms satisfy many different needs and are always cheery and clean. The staff has always been friendly and have gone above and beyond to make sure we enjoy our vacation.
The previous time we stayed my husband was disappointed when his deep sea fishing charter couldn't go out due to weather. I mentioned it to the maid cleaning my room and she told me she had a phone number at home for a back water charter fisherman who came to Rock Reef's dock. She called us when she got home with the number and we have been using his charter ever since.
This is the type of service we've come to expect at Rock Reef.

Thank JoJoPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2007

We really had a wonderful time in Key Largo over the MLK holiday weekend, and we highly recommend the Rock Reef Resort. Our flight was delayed due to ice storms and arrived quite late (past 11:00 p.m.). We'd called ahead letting RR know we'd be very late. They left directions to our cottage, keys, and they left the lights on both inside and outside our cottage to greet us. It was a welcome end to a trying day.

Although we missed the sunset that first night, we made sure we were sipping a cool beverage on the dock for the next two, and they were grand.

The Rock Reef's staff is great, the location is the best (outstanding snokeling is just a few miles away and you have several places to eat/drink within walking distance), and the sunsets cannot be beat. We hate to say all this because we want to be able to call and get reservations when the need for escape hits us, but the Rock Reef deserves the kudos...

Make your reservations without concern...this place did not let us down.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2006

We had a wonderful stay, It really met all our expectations, The rooms were large, VERY clean, every pot, pan sheet and towel
we needed and then some were there, the view was beautiful, and so were the grounds.
The only thing we needed to bring was us. The staff were very helpful, bike rentals, theaters etc. they researched it all with a smile. Th best came when Iwas feeling and little homesick, and then have the owner Linda knock on our door to invite us, and all the other hotel guests to a fantastic home cooked Thanksgiving dinner, Turkey, Ham, shrimp, . oyster stuffing, and that was just the begining, but best off all was the warm family feeling we all had. I would recomend this wonderful home away from home to all. Thank you again Linda & Dave, Sincerely Sandy & Bob Willsea

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank sandycac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2006

The perfect place to stay in Key Largo. Not a big cookie-cutter chain. Step back to the old Key Largo. Clean, quiet, peaceful. Staff is very helpful, but not over-bearing. Located in the middle of several good places to eat and drink, one of which is right across the street. We can't wait to go back to the Rock Reef Resort!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RightRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2006

This is a delightful little resort on the Gulf side of Key Largo. The small cottages are classic Keys, and are being renovated and updated at this time, according to the management. The hotel rooms are clean, well decorated, and the room I stayed in had a very comfortable and firm mattress. The beach is pleasant, and sunsets are breath-taking. The grounds are well cared for and there is a fascinating bonzai collection.

Stayed: October 2006
Thank newspaperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2006

Just returned from another Holday at our favorite place on earth Rock Reef resort.
My Wife and myself have been visiting Rock Reef resort for the past 13yrs (every year) we have looked at other places in the keys while we have been there but non come close to this paradise.We had our 10yr old grandson with us this year and he loved the well cleaned beach area with safe snorkeling.
The staff are always friendly and appreciative of who ever visits their property.The owners Linda & Dave are fantastic they greet you , talk to you , but leave you alone to enjoy your holiday.
It is the most peaceful place you could imagine, and the setting is just breathtaking,we could never get sick of going to the same place year after year.The rooms are always clean and tidy (we have stayed in them all) and the beach huts are Brilliant.
This is highly recommended if you want something to take the stress out of your life ,and everyone associared with Rock Reef certainly help with that..Roll on next year. Ken & Kath Dodds from North Shields England.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ken&Kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,547 reviews
5.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
590 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: £103 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo
Rock Reef Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing