We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2007

We have been going to Rock Reef off and on for 20 years. We have stayed at other locations, but always return here. The reasons are many! The grounds are so beautiful and lush with tropical flowers, plants, trees and fruits. We enjoy picking up ripe key limes that have fallen and making a pie. One of the best things is their tidal pool and beach. The snorkling is wonderful. This trip we saw seahorses, starfish, parrot fish, needle nose fish, blue crab, hermit crabs wearing tulip shells, horse shoe crabs, sponges, upside down jellies, many, many other fish! It is a quiet, peaceful, small resort that you can feel safe about letting your children enjoy playing under the coconut palms in the sand or like us, your grandchildren. We first came with our children, now we have their spouses and our grandchildren! Everything is still beautiful and nice. We like to stay in the cottages facing the beach. We seldom leave the resort once we arrive, although Pennekamp is very close. We may take the 98 mile drive to Key West to see their sunset, although nothing beats the beautiful one on the dock at Rock Reef. Then if you are lucky, you will see hundreds of lime green, tiny bioluminaries float by in the current after sunset. A spectacular show! It is always fun to explore the mangroves in the paddle boat. Although there is no pool, we have never missed it. There is a hot tub. It is one of our favorite vacation spots. You must walk across the street to eat at Ballyhoo's. It has always been there, and has fabulous seafood, homemade salad dressings and Key Lime pie. Whale Harbor on the next key down, is also a fun and good seafood buffet on the water. Throw your watch in a drawer, relax and enjoy life. It is so wonderful. We will always go back.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank dolphinmomtampabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2007

From the moment that we arrived at the rock reef resort we had a lovely time. The check in was very welcoming and hassle free...we were upgraded at no extra cost...nice.

We then spent a very chilled out couple of days soaking up the sun within the grounds.....the sunbeds were always available and the sunsets were beautiful!

My Fiance particularly liked watching the other chaps fishing off of the jetty.

I must recommend the restaurant directly opposite the resort...we ate there on our last night....very nice food but surprised how ungenerous the portions were (quite adequate though). Having been told a hundred times that you get massive amounts of food in the States...we were quite surprised when actually, it was about the same as a british restaurant (portionwise).

Overall the rock reef is a very pleasant reasonably priced hotel. The place is kept very clean and tidy and the staff are lovely. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sahara73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2007

we stayed here for 4 nights in March 07. It was ok but not what I expected. we had ants in our room and it was very musty in the room. no beach really and no pool just a hot tub. we basically just slept their and left the hotel during the day. It was ok for the price but we would have stayed in a better place and paid a little more. Definitely would not go back. they could have just updated it a little bit and it would have been a better experience.
If you don't care about cleanliness then it is fine.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gmfaug14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2007

Bed was hard as rock. Too much money for what you get. Hot tub too hot to use. Beach area unable to swim in. Not enough towels. Will not visit this place again...If they put a little money back into the place it could be a nice place to stay...

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Triplady2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2007

The Rock Reef was everything we had hoped for -- clean, comfortable, simple and very laid back in a typically 'Keys' way.

Value for money it must rate at least 12 out of 10

The owner and staff were very friendly, efficient, and unobtrusive. Whenever you needed help or advice, there was always someone at hand.

The location is difficult to fault - the only downside being the weather whilst we were there, with cool winds and clouds spoiling the sunsets., but with Harriet's for breakfast, and Ballyhoo's for Dinner -- what more could you ask for!!

What persuaded me to choose Rock Reef was a glowing report on Trip Advisor by someone from the town of my birth in England, who has been visiting the resort for the past 13 years. (I'm almost certain I dont know him - having left North Shields over 30 years ago)

This place definitely gets another vote of confidence from a 'canny Shields' lad.

Alan & Hazel Stark
Leyland
Lancashire
England

Stayed: March 2007
Thank shieldslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2007

Our group comes every year to go SCUBA diving in Key Largo and stay at the Rock Reef. We often have a varied group of people that includes families, couples and young adults. Rock Reef has rooms for everyone's needs including cooking facilities in many. Their outdoor grill area is a favorite area for our entire group to enjoy a cookout. The bayside waterfront provides great space to enjoy the sunset while talking with friends. Their proximity to area restaurants (Ballyhoos is right across the street) is also a plus.

Stayed: March 2007
Thank OHTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2007

My parents, children, husband and I have been vacationing at Rock Reef Resort for almost 15 years. The different types of rooms satisfy many different needs and are always cheery and clean. The staff has always been friendly and have gone above and beyond to make sure we enjoy our vacation.
The previous time we stayed my husband was disappointed when his deep sea fishing charter couldn't go out due to weather. I mentioned it to the maid cleaning my room and she told me she had a phone number at home for a back water charter fisherman who came to Rock Reef's dock. She called us when she got home with the number and we have been using his charter ever since.
This is the type of service we've come to expect at Rock Reef.

Thank JoJoPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,562 reviews
5.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
MB at Key Largo
MB at Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
863 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,561 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: £104 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rock Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo
Rock Reef Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing