We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definitely return!”
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on the way to Key West. There are only a few rooms, and the premises are well maintained and attractive with gardens and a small pool. The property sits on the ocean, but there is no beach.

Our room (201) is mentioned in the Fodor's guide as noisy at night due to the restaurant and bar next door, but we did notice anything that disturbed our sleep. Our balcony overlooked the marina and was enjoyable with no insects.

Debbie at the front desk was very helpful, and in fact made dinner reservations for us the first evening. (The front desk closes at 7:00pm.) Our wireless internet connection was the fastest I have encountered for a hotel (5Mb+).

We highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a small, quiet, and attractive hotel on the water.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderers48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2011

We booked our stay at the Dove Creek Lodge based upon prior TripAdvisor reviews. Despite the high ratings and comments, we were still pleasantly surprised with this gem of a lodge on the water's edge. Dove Creek Lodge has a charming guest house feel, such as with the relaxing lobby and the continental breakfast, but offers some of the amenities and services of a larger hotel, such as daily housekeeping (including doing your dishes if your room has a kitchen!), a variety of room/suite types, and excellent service. The grounds are well landscaped, and the rooms nicely decorated. In reading the reviews of many travelers to the Keys, some are disappointed that their hotels dis not have a beach. There appears to be a common misconception that the Keys are filled with beaches, but there are actually not many. The Dove Creek Lodge has a sandy area on the water's edge, shaded with mangroves, with a cabana and hammock, that serves the purpose of a beach. The pool was relaxing. Snappers Restaurant is next door for dining, and there are also numerous restaurants within a 10 minute car ride. Publix and Winn Dixie are also nearby should you wish to make a grocery run.

Room Tip: 2 bdrm suites directly overlook the Atlantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Arrived on good friday from Ft. Lauderdale for a one night stay. We came with a 4 month old baby and a 2½ yr old toddler for a little bit of beach, sun and relaxing for us parents. Dove Creek was perfect. Finding it was a little tough since their sign off Overseas Hwy is very small.. the Snapper's sign is bigger and the first thing that you see. Once there parking was no problem, mostly covered areas under the hotel. It's a small property and we really liked that. Lots of stairs and elevators to access the lobby (everything is raised because of sea level so the entire hotel is on the second floor). Check-in was quick. We were escorted to our room. It was spotless clean. Fluffy white towels, nice furnishings, extra pillows! The bathroom was huge and very comfortable. Fridge, coffee maker and safe are complimentary. King size bed. We were in half of an 'adjoining room' suite because we had stairs, but this was a blessing because it kept our toddler exploring and entertained. We enjoyed the nice pool.. at around 4 pm the water was warm and inviting. Even though the hotel was "full" we hardly saw other guests. Pool table, kayaks for more exploring and a nice lounge were breakfast is served. Coffee, OJ, apple juice, milk, bagels, cream cheese, granola cereal, coffee cakes and fresh fruit. We ate a nice portion, while watching cnn and enjoying the morning sun on the balcony. Also very convenient, Snapper's right next door. Food was good and the service quick. Our server was not overly friendly, but maybe it was because she was busy on a friday night. It helped tremendously to have the hotel next door so we didn't have to drive after dinner with 2 little kids. Daddy was able to have a couple of drinks =) The only con with Snappers is they asked if we had a reservation? I didn't realize it was 'upscale'.. until I saw the artwork on the walls was being sold gallery-style, the menu prices are average for the keys. We did not have any problem with the noise from the restaurant. You can hear it if you are in the pool area, or in your balcony, but we just kept the door shut anyways and the kids and ourselves were not bothered by it.
The only con is that there was no beach.. lots of sand but nothing like we are used to. Thank goodness the toddler loves the pool just as much. We had stopped at John Pennekamp park on our way here and did not enjoy the beach there. Discovered Jacob's Aquatic Center, a local water park that was a lot of fun for the little one. Wished we had more days to stay.. decided to ask if another night would be a possibility but was told the hotel was booked til Monday. Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Avoid suites next to the lobby. Too much traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jetsettingmamaoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Dove Creek Lodge is a nice little place. The pool area was great and we enjoyed relaxing in one of the hammocks.We had some problems with the free wi-fi, but just went to the lobby and it connected fine.
The breakfast provided was not bad--granola, juice and coffee, fruits, pastries and usually yogurt.
The only draw back, for some, may be that it is next to a restaurant/bar called Snappers that has live music just about every night. We couldn't sit out on our deck or leave the sliding door open unless we wanted an earful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmcitykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We were on our way back from a fabulous 5 night stay at the La Mer B & B in Key West and decided to stop in Key Largo for a night on our way to Miami. We had booked a room for one night based on the reviews we had read. When we checked in our room was not what we were promised when we made the reservation but the desk clerk insisted it was as depicted on the website. The room was clean but noisy. I was rattled awake in the morning by slamming doors and banging noises as they were preparing for the continental breakfast that was served in the lobby. Not what I want to awaken to when I'm on vacation. The grounds of the hotel are shabby looking and not inviting at all. I was very disappointed. The only positive of the experience was Snappers restaurant next door. Super friendly staff and good food. Needless to say, I won't be stopping at the Dove Creek Lodge again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunandSun_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Don't get me wrong - the room was clean, the staff friendly, the grounds immaculate.... but for $250.00/night I was expecting a little bit more.

Also, if you want the sunset you need to be on the bay side of the keys, not the ocean side - we thought we'd have the best view on the Ocean, but in hindsight I think we were mistaken.

I don't think Key Largo has much in the way of a beach, this hotel certainly doesn't have much of one - which was okay. They have a great hammock and swing to relax in, as well as a great pool.

Besides the fact I think it is a smidge expensive for what you get - my only complaint is that the breakfast is a little stingy. Bagels, and cereal looked like the only options.

We probably won't stay here again, only because I'm a bit of a bargain shopper :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runnechic71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed at Dove Creek for 2 nights before traveling to Key West for the rest of our vacation. Our stay was a great experience from the moment we arrived at the hotel. Debbie at the front desk escorted us to our room, which was a nice personal touch. The room was a good size with beautiful updated furnishings; white shutters added a nice beachy feel. The layout was great, with a separate closet that housed the fridge and safe. The bathroom was very spacious and again layout was great, with lots of shelves for storage. Because the property is on the smaller size (I believe 19 units), we felt like we had the property all to ourselves. Pool was quite and relaxing. There was a hammock by the water, which we lazily enjoyed each afternoon. There are also complimentary kayaks, which we plan on trying on our next trip. The location is great, a short drive to Islamorada. Snappers restaurant is right across the way. Snappers had live music during the day which we were able to enjoy while lounging at the pool. Overall, we felt like we found a hidden gem in Key Largo. We are so grateful that we chose Dove Creek to stay at (due to all of the great Tripadvisor reviews) and we definitely plan on returning for a longer stay next time we visit the Keys!!

Room Tip: Units on the 2nd floor have screened in patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenbee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
614 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,333 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,557 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range: £162 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo
Dove Creek Lodge Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing