We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already planning our next stay!”
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This place is....indescribable! It's quaint, delightful, relaxing atmosphere is the embodiment of the lifestyle in the Keys. Debbie is amazing too--the people here are so friendly. This will be THE place we stay when we return. All of the things you may want to see or do are very close to this place too which is a bonus. I would rather be here than anywhere! You won't see a lot of people either, it feels like you are on an exclusive resort where you are whisked away to someplace special; remote and private I much prefer this to the busy place Key West has become. There is no place else for me! A perfect 10!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discobug71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2011

3rd time we stayed at Dove Creek Lodge. Hilton was sold out. This is a very clean, very quiet, very reliable high quality experience, at a very reasonable price. Service is excellent. They shut down at 7pm, so if you are arriving late, call to get late check-in details. Snappers is next door - great food, nice live music. Sunrise photos are AWESOME! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RexKite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This place is a hidden gem in Key Largo. This mini-resort appears to be fairly new with very nicely appointed suite rooms (bedroom separate from sitting room), great staff and very nice amenities. Fridge and microwave in room. The pool was not large, but very clean and nice. Kayaks were available for cheap rental. There was a small beach area and boat dock, the grounds were beautifully landscaped. There is a nice yet casual outdoor waterfront restaurant and bar just steps away from the hotel. We only stayed one night, but wished we could have stayed much longer. My husband is still talking about the place weeks later. We will definitely go back!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Clearview3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The hotel is very well appointed and everything we expected for the price we paid. We stayed in a "renovated room", which had two big flat-screen TVs, huge bed, fridge, nice furniture, etc. Screened lanai was really nice! Looks out over a little lagoon, with kayaks for free and a nice little pool tucked into a sandy cove with lots of swings and seats for just relaxing. No noise in the room, and not many people (only 21 rooms at the hotel). Parking was VERY nice, right under the rooms and protected, well-lit. Snappers Restaurant was next door, with a great seafood menu and a cool bar. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms were made up early. Breakfast in the lobby was excellent evey morning... lots of fresh fruit, juice, cereals, bagels, yogurt, coffee, milk, all laid out nicely and refilled promptly. VERY nice view from the lobby/breakfast room over the lagoon in the morning. Ice machine very handy. This hotel is tucked back from U.S. 1 far enough that you think you're on your own private key. Such fun! We will always go back when going to the Upper/Middle Keys!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailCarpeDiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

At the last minute my friend and I decided to stop in the upper Keys on our way to a fishing destination in Marathon. I did a quick internet search and found that many places were booked. There was a reasonably-priced room available at Dove Creek so we took a chance. When we arrived, the friendly desk clerk offered us a free upgrade to one of the best two-bedroom suites. Not only did we each have private quarters, but the suite had a wonderful screened balcony where we enjoyed much of the evening looking out over mangroves across a wide flat on the ocean side of Key Largo. The room was very nice. We observed a lovely pool, enjoyed a nice continental breakfast the next morning, and moved on, well-rested. It was a great stop and I would definitely stay there again. The restaurant next door was a very short stroll. We had decent food sitting out on the docks and watching the resident tarpon below us.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Streamborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This was the last leg of our Keys road trip, and it was by far and away the best room we had on the trip. This appears to be a newer proerty, as the building was brightly painted and spotless. Our room was a one bedroom with a king bed and flat screen in the bedroom and a pull out sofa in the living room area. The interior of the room was clean, with nice wood molding around the walls and tile on the floor. The bedroom area was carpeted with a rugged burber like carpet, also new and spotless. The pool was typical size of what you would find in the Keys, perfect for a one or two night stay. The property does not have it's own restaraunt or lounge, but there is a little waterfront restaraunt and bar on the neighboring marina that might as well be part of the Lodge. We also utilized the complimentary kayaks for a relaxing cruise in the clear ocean water.

Depending on where you are driving from into the Keys, this makes for a great stay over. You will be hard pressed to find rooms with the size and modern appointments of Dove Creek Lodge anywhere in the Keys, and if you value cleanliness, this property is worth your while.

Room Tip: Be aware of rooms that face elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohhnyTram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed at Dove Creek on our way down the Keys and really enjoyed the place. Beautiful sunrise from room. Would stay again

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnybrinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
595 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,550 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,326 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range: £148 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo
Dove Creek Lodge Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing