We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Key Largo!”
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I used tripadvisor to find a hotel in the Keys and found this hotel had consistently high marks and good reviews. I decided to book my trip soley on the reviews, as I had no other recommnendations! I am happy to say the reviews were right on!!
The lodge was immaculate, including the rooms, lobby and outside grounds. I have two young children and this hotel was perfect for them. They enjoyed the pool and LOVED the kayaks (which were available free of charge). This waterfront property faces a restaurant (Snapper's) which at night plays live music and provides pretty scenery.
I was very happy to not have to pay an extra daily parking fee, which alot of the other hotels charge. This hotel is about 10 minutes from Dolphin's Plus which is a wonderful swim with the dolphins experience. The 1 bedroom suites are roomy enough for 2 adults and 2 kids Also, the beds were VERY comfortable.. I was checked in by Debbie over the phone and she was EXTREMELY accomodating and helpful. The only negative thing I could say is that our view of the water was blocked by the elevator. My family will definately come back to this hotel. p.s. bring your bug spray ...the mosquitoes are relentless!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alynrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Dove Creek Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

We had a GREAT trip with 3 families. Beautiful resort , loved the convenience of the boat slips great accommodations!! We met the owner and wife who were soooo friendly and nice! Debbie who also works at Cheeka lodge, was so nice and helpful. Jane on the other hand was cold, angry and rude!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeroicehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We flew in to Miami airport, picked up our rental car and arrived at this quaint little cove resort within two hours. It was a great way to wind down and begin our six night tour of the Florida Keys.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank letstrvlmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We spent the first two nights of our vacation in Key Largo at a different "resort" and I didn't even want to return to Key Largo after our stay in Key West. But we had already booked the last two nights at Dove Creek. We were so pleasantly surprised by the greeting and tour we got from Debbie upon our arrival. She was so sweet and explained everything about the resort in a very friendly and professional manner. The rooms were beautiful, clean, with lovely screened decks. The continental breakfast was very inclusive with various foods and drinks, as well as being served in a lovely room with indoor and outdoor seating. We were just sorry we had so much planned that we didn't get enough time at the resort during the day. I could go there again and would be happy to do nothing else but hang around the resort. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOVETA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We loved Dove Creek Lodge and will definitely stay here again! My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights for a short scuba diving trip. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large, which was nice since we had all our dive gear with us. The grounds were lovely and the water view was excellent. At check-in we were walked to our room by the clerk and given an overview - it was a nice touch! The pool wasn't crowded, though the hotel was fully booked. The breakfast buffet was better than expected. There was fresh fruit, pastries, bagels, cereal and oatmeal. Parking was never an issue. My only complaint was at check-out. The clerk - her name is Jane or Jan - was shockingly abrupt and rude. I honestly cannot believe someone with her attitude works in the hospitality industry. Overall we had a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ckayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This property was immaculate! Everything from the grounds to the rooms were sparkling. The pool and the hammocks are especially inviting. The rooms are beautiful and well appointed. And having a restaurant right next door is especially convenient - just walk right over for dinner and drinks on the dock! We have recommended this place to all our friends and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rrmun03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed here during our grand tour of Florida and after many hotels, we stayed here on our way back north towards the mainland. Must admit we stayed in Key Largo as its just as famous as Key West, if you're doing the keys, you've gotta stay in key largo surely? so we did. Must admit we were disappointed with key largo, just a long commercialised strip, bit of a dump really. But this hotel made up for it. We arrived and the lady on the front desk was lovely, we were a bit perturbed when we found our room was right next door to the lobby/breakfast area, but we were wrong, it was lovely and peaceful, gorgeous views across the marina (they had complementary kayaks, but i didnt fancy being rescued by the US coastguard!), the restaurant next door was fabulous and fantastic value for the quality of the food.
Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrapyardnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
590 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,321 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range: £133 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo
Dove Creek Lodge Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing