We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mostly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We loved some of the personal touches which a lot of other places do provide.
A. They walked you to your room and showed you around; making sure that you were comfortable with the place they were providing you with
B. Free Kayak's were available for the customers use. They were enjoyed by the family!
C. Outdoor Pool Table. It was put to use and enjoyed by the family.

Rooms were clean; and looked to be freshly painted. Our room had a screened in porch; which was put to use.

Now...some would consider this a down fall. I enjoyed this; but my husband could not stand it. The hotel is next to Snappers (very nice place; serving good bar food). At night; you can hear their music if you are sitting outside your room or at the pool. The music can be heard until about 9/9:30 at night. My husband enjoyed the first night; a very good musician playing reggae. The second night we were there no one was playing at the restaurant. The third night we were there the musician played a good variety of music but he just drove my husband insane as all my husband wanted to do was sit back on the porch and enjoy the quite ocean sounds. So, if you want a quite night sitting outside on your porch; this does not seem likely too happen. Now, I can say this; at least from our room; the music can not be heard inside your room with all of your doors shut.

The Continental breakfast was excellent. Lots of wonderful fresh fruit were offered (grapefruit; strawberries; blueberries; watermelon; cantaloupe); along with bagels; croissants and other goodies.

Overall it was a very nice stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pdonatyandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    225
    51
    15
    13
See reviews for
126
566
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

This hotel isn't the worst, but definitely not the best I've ever been to. The room was nice and clean, but small (we had a king bed gardenview). The picture of the hotel is a bit misleading as the right side of the picture facing in from the ocean is actually Snappers Restaurant and not the hotel. The hotel itself consists of three buildings. Their website says they have Wifi, but if you plan on using it in your room you better get a room in the same building as the front desk/lobby or you won't be able to connect. The ethernet cable in our room didn't work either. I have a BS in Information Technology, so I know what I'm talking about here. In other words, 2/3 of their hotel doesn't get Internet access, only the 1/3 around the lobby. The front desk closes at 7pm, so we could only get on the Internet by taking our laptop over there. Otherwise, I found the hotel to be an average one and not too bad for the price. Probably won't stay again, but if you don't mind that one Internet issue and an occasional light bulb or electrical outlet or shower curtain ring issue like we did, then it's ok.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msam311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

The room was beautiful, the scenery was even better. The staff, friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast, the complimentary kayaks...I can't say enough. Will definitely recommend this place. The only thing that would have made it better for me, would be if it were pet friendly and I could have brought my girls. Otherwise, superb hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn33472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel, and then moved on to Key West.

We arrived at 9pm after a long drive from Miami Airport. Called ahead to the hotel, to let them know we would be late. The receptionist informed us that the desk closed at 7. She was extremely helpful, gave directions and informed us that we had been upgraded to a suite. The key was stored safely and we let ourselves in. WOW.

The "suite" was a 2 story duplex. Stunning decor, large balcony with stunning views. We were blown away!
After an extremely good nights sleep we went to the pool (gorgeous) then down to the dock/jetty area (breath-taking!)
Breakfast was lovely, and self service.

Then we met the receptionist (different from night before). No hello, no conversation, no how was your stay.
Then at check out..... No Hello, no how was your stay. All she said was "How did you get that room, for that price?" (eh what?) Then once we paid, the phone rang mid-conversation, and she picked it up! then ignored us. No thank you, no goodbye.

I would not say this reflects every check-out experience at this hotel, as i imagine it is usually great, like everything else about it.

Its just a shame that this overshadowed the fantastic complimentary upgrade which was 10/10, and the great service over the phone the night before.
This woman- If I were a mystery shopper 0/10.

Do not let this change your mind. The hotel is amazing, and 10/10. If you do happen to have a similar experience at check out- do what I should have done, ask for the manager. At least then this could be rectified. (I have since fed back via the hotels satisfaction questionnaire about her)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsyking09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

I used tripadvisor to find a hotel in the Keys and found this hotel had consistently high marks and good reviews. I decided to book my trip soley on the reviews, as I had no other recommnendations! I am happy to say the reviews were right on!!
The lodge was immaculate, including the rooms, lobby and outside grounds. I have two young children and this hotel was perfect for them. They enjoyed the pool and LOVED the kayaks (which were available free of charge). This waterfront property faces a restaurant (Snapper's) which at night plays live music and provides pretty scenery.
I was very happy to not have to pay an extra daily parking fee, which alot of the other hotels charge. This hotel is about 10 minutes from Dolphin's Plus which is a wonderful swim with the dolphins experience. The 1 bedroom suites are roomy enough for 2 adults and 2 kids Also, the beds were VERY comfortable.. I was checked in by Debbie over the phone and she was EXTREMELY accomodating and helpful. The only negative thing I could say is that our view of the water was blocked by the elevator. My family will definately come back to this hotel. p.s. bring your bug spray ...the mosquitoes are relentless!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alynrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We had a GREAT trip with 3 families. Beautiful resort , loved the convenience of the boat slips great accommodations!! We met the owner and wife who were soooo friendly and nice! Debbie who also works at Cheeka lodge, was so nice and helpful. Jane on the other hand was cold, angry and rude!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeroicehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We flew in to Miami airport, picked up our rental car and arrived at this quaint little cove resort within two hours. It was a great way to wind down and begin our six night tour of the Florida Keys.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letstrvlmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,336 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo
Dove Creek Lodge Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing