We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, fantastic.”
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow, fantastic.”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

A wonderful stay and wonderful people. The service and caring was top notch. We were upgraded to a suite with a great view. The breakfast was well stocked with everything from fresh fruit to key lime tarts. We listened to live music at Snapper's next door under the stars and tiki lamps by the pool. A nice tidy package overall.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Untucked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    226
    52
    15
    14
See reviews for
126
569
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2012

If you are looking for a place to kick back and relax in a tropical quaint setting... this is the right place to come! Nice sized rooms with screen porches to sit out under and catch up on some reading. The tropical landscaping is just wonderful and the surrounding area and marina are breathtaking. Go sit down at the pool and chill or go lay in one of the hammocks or swings and take a nap! At dinner you can just walk right next door to Snappers and have some wonderful seafood dinning and entertainment. The chicken and crap soup is the bomb! and the blackend shrimp alfrado is delishous! And also the breakfasts at the Dove creek Lodge are the best I have had..... fresh friut, yougerts, key lime pies decoreated with fruit along with all the normal trimmings is a great way to start of the morning. Bedrooms are nice and comfy and cozy.

Great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful setting. Would definalty come here again!!!!!

Room Tip: Suites have a screened porch on the front that are very nice to sit out under in the shade and read.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaandScott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinehurst,nc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

this boutique hotel is perfect, friendly, clean,and charming. woke up to a view of the ocean! can't beat it. breakfast was wonderful with nice touches, fruit kabobs and freash baked bread.

Room Tip: all rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesex, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

For almost $350 a night, I expected an amazing view, working WiFi, accommodating and friendly staff, and a well-appointed room. That's not what we got. So disappointed. If there hadn't been a "NO REFUND" clause, I would have left in the first 10 minutes that we were on the property. The drive down the trailer park-lined and similarly looking homes on the street to get to the hotel was the first indication that something just wasn't right. The gravel parking lot was the second indication. We checked into the place at the "office" located on the second floor and were escorted to our room by the staff member (apparently that's customary--I guess they don't think their guests can follow directions or possibly even more likely the reason is that if you're staying in a room with a 300-number, it's actually on the 2nd floor--everything about this place is just weird!). The shower curtain had mold on it. The hairdryer was busted off the wall so part of it was left on the wall and part of it was under the sink. The room was probably the equivalent of a Travelodge-type of room or Motel 6--definitely nothing that would equate to spending nearly $350 for. I was begging my husband to leave within minutes of being there. He kept telling me, "I did lots of reserach and it was #2 on T/A." I know that the did tons of research but this was just terrible. Husband had to do some ASAP work on computer as soon as we got to our room only to find that there was *NO* internet signal. After consulting the "front desk" we were told that you have to go OUTSIDE OF YOUR ROOM to get a signal. Really? Does that make ANY sense? My smart phone got NO signal inside the room *OR* outside the room. I guess you have to climb the telephone pole like in Green Acres or stand on your head or use some special powers, but there was no signal to be had. Debbie (the front desk person) said that she would be back to our room to help my husband get it going (not that he needed the help, there was NO signal!) but she never returned. The next day near the elevator, she claimed that the signal was out everywhere---but I had a good signal at an off-property restaurant. If you want to get away from all technology, by all means, stay here. There is an ocean view if you want to use binoculars from your room. Just so disappointed in this place. The biggest thing is that nobody even apologized for the troubles we were having and I assumed that it is because they hear it everyday and no longer can come up with excuses as to why their amenities aren't as listed. The mattress was incredibly HARD--good for people who like to sleep on the floor. The sheets were ridiculous--there was no fitted sheet so I woke up with the sheets all wadded up. There was one ugly and scratchy brown blanket that had seen better days. I wouldn't stay here again, EVER. I would drive 100 miles out of the way to avoid it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DreamingOfMaui2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dove Creek Lodge and it provided the opportunity for the perfect relaxing getaway we were looking for. We stayed for 4 nights and wish we could have extended our stay. It is very well maintained property in a great location. Dove Creek is small, quiet, and quaint. Our room was clean, modern and very comfortable. We also had a screened porch overlooking the bay which we enjoyed. The view of sunrise over the ocean was magnificent followed by a delicious continental breakfast with a nice variety of fresh choices. The staff was consistently very attentive and helpful. We ate a few meals (lunches and dinners) at a wonderful restaurant next door (Snappers) when we just wanted to relax and not have to drive anywhere. Dove Creek Lodge was a perfect place to unwind!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We travel often and have never been charged to clean our room when we leave. This is like adding on to shower. The front desk people were rude the entire time of our stay. The younger afternoon person was kind and friendly and the housekeepers were nice. The handyman should be there to fix all the small broken items like the phone, door lock. ect. The fishing guide did a good job with my husband. We would not return again until the management changes.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Norfolk
Level Contributor
234 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Superb property with great view over small bay and marina. Very quiet and near to a good restaurant. Very comfy, good sized rooms. Staff very helpful with info on area and restaurants plus the all inclusive continental breakfast is fabulous. Great sunrise view across the bay. Nice poo and hot tub with towels readily supplied by hotel without asking. A very well run and managed hotel. Definitely would go back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fotofinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,385 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo
Dove Creek Lodge Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing