We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll Definitely be Back!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We'll Definitely be Back!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My fiancee and I went to Key Largo for the weekend and chose to stay at the dove Creek Lodge. What a great decision!

This boutique hotel is a real treat. The staff is friendly and welcoming, the beds are perfect, and the grounds are amazing. What a beautiful location.

On Friday, after dinner, we spent the evening in a hammock and listened to the music from the bar across the cove. They even arrange to shut down the music at 10:00, though we wish it lasted longer.

They have kayaks just waiting for guests to use and bikes available to cruise the key.

Even the other guests were friendly and easy to get along with

Dove Creek is perfect for couples, young and old. You can believe we will be back!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, though you may want to ask to avoid those near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robb O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    223
    51
    15
    13
See reviews for
125
564
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We had a quick getaway to the keys and we agonized over choosing Dove Creek Lodge or the Hilton or the Marriott. We are so happy we stayed at Dove Creek Lodge! It's not a resort. There's no beach, no spa, no room service. But the staff is so friendly and helpful, between Annie at the front desk and Paul (?) the property manager. They make you feel at home at a place they take pride in. The continental breakfast has some great variety. gotta have the key lime tart! the property is immaculate and well maintained. The place has a laid back relaxed vibe that is all about the keys. Look no further- stay at Dove Creek Lodge!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rambomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The Dove Creek Lodge is rare find in the Keys. While the hotel was at full capacity, it almost seemed that we had the place to ourselves. My wife and I spent hours relaxing at the waters edge overlooking the ocean while our daughters kayaked and paddle boated around the mangroves. They came across sea turtles and stingrays swimming beside their boats. The hotel staff was excellent, remembering our names and giving us great advise on restaurants and near by boat and wave runner rentals. While the hotel has no restaurant or bar, you are only 25 yards from Snappers restaurant with their full bar, Sunday jazz brunch and nightly relaxing entertainment. This allowed us to have private restaurant dining overlooking the ocean and still enjoying the live entertainment.

After 44 years of South Florida living, I had grown tired of the keys with their grungy hotels, restaurants and bars that blast obnoxious music and promote outright drunkenness. The Dove Creek Lodge has restored my love for the keys and what it always meant to me an my family. An upscale relaxing getaway intertwined with nature.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Large families should opt for the upstairs downstairs suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rafael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I wanted a quick weekend get-away and found this hotel online. It is definitely a hidden gem! I was very impressed with everything - the rooms were updated and well-kept, personable staff, great amenities on property and next door (restaurant and tiki bar). I would recommend this location to anyone looking for a nice, affordable hotel in the upper Keys.

Room Tip: The king suite is great - it has a sitting room and a screened-in patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The room was very clean and large. Loved the bright yellow, very cheery. The property was very well kept and the staff was super friendly. Ate at Snappers for dinner, very good food and music. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aallen106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I found Dove Creek Lodge online and was impressed with all the great reviews. We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary. My wife is happy with a hotel as long as it says "clean" to her when she steps foot in the door of the room, and she was not disappointed. The rooms are clean, up to date/hip, comfortable big king bed, uniquely decorated, bathrooms the same with a Tommy Bahama theme. The property is manicured with many fun things to do including pool, jacuzzi, 3 hammock swings, a small beach, marina with boat slips, free kayak and water bike or paddle boat. Plus there is a good restaurant next door (Snappers) and tiki bar with live entertainment until around 10 pm Thurs-Sat and I believe Sunday afternoon too. Very quiet, there were some young families with kids staying at the hotel while we were there but they were on a different floor. We saw our neighbors a couple of times, never heard them; once in our room we barely heard a noise from outside. Breakfast was thoughtful with a sufficient variety including fresh fruit and other local treats you don't see at the chain hotels. Views east of the bay are engaging and picturesque. Staff, without exception, were genuinely friendly and helpful -- all the staff -- they actually care that you have a pleasant stay and want to come back, which we most assuredly will!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I've visited the Keys an awful lot in my 25 years of living in S Fla and this was my first time at Dove Creek. I booked an oceanview king suite one week before Labor Day weekend for one night over the holiday and the rate was quite reasonable. The good rate had me worried about what I'd find because Keys hotels are notoriously overpriced and substandard, in my opinion.

Ann, the lady who checked us in, was personable, helpful and nice. She walked us to our room. Coffee/tea is available in the lobby during office hours (7am-7pm). A fantastic continental breakfast is served in the same lobby.

To my pleasant surprise, the property is beautiful, the amenities are great. The room was spacious with a large sitting area, large flat screen TVs (one in bedroom, one in sitting room) and a screened in patio overlooking the ocean and pool area.
Pool is clean and nice, grounds are very very clean even on this busy weekend.

Paddle boats and kayaks are complimentary and there is great mangrove shoreline close by to explore in them. The beach area (small sandy area with chairs and shaded by mangroves, not really a place to swim) is immaculate, beautiful and peaceful.

Decent restaurants abound nearby. Between that and the amenities on property you really dont have a lot of reason to leave except to see the rest of the area or to shop. BBQ grills are also available on property.

Overall, this was the perfect spot for relaxation in a comfortable atmosphere.

The only nit is that there was a slight odor in the room, as if the carpets were ready for cleaning. But they were in the middle of a deep cleaning project for the whole property and probably didnt get to my room yet. If not for this one issue I'd have rated this property 5 stars because thats what it would be by Keys standards. Unless you're ready to shell out much bigger bucks for Hawks Cay in Marathon or Cheeca Lodge in Islamorada, this place is the best value I can recommend. This would be my first choice for the upper keys

Room Tip: Oceanview overooking pool area was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dive4Blood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo
Dove Creek Lodge Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing