We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Dove Creek sits on the water's edge of a small cove on the Atlantic side of Key Largo. It is a very relaxing place with a small patch of sand among the mangrove trees that is a perfect spot to have your morning coffee. The hotel is extremely clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Briana at the front desk was especially professional and kind.
The is a restaurant (Snapper's) right next door. The food was excellent but a bit pricey. They do have music playing at night but generally stopped by about 10-10:30. They have a very nice Sunday brunch there with live jazz music. We sat at Dove Creek's pool and enjoyed the music for free!
Our king-sized bed was very comfortable. They use very nice Tommy Bahama bath products and the 100% cotton towels were very adequate.
Their complementary breakfast is the usual - bagels, muffins, hard boiled eggs, danish. But the fruit and yogurt and the key lime yogurt cups were very good. Coffee was also excellent and the balcony where you can have breakfast has a wonderful view of the sunrise.
The screened-in porches don't offer much privacy but are nice to sit out in if you want to relax and get some fresh air.
I hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    220
    51
    15
    13
See reviews for
125
560
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gauting, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

A clean, friendly, basic hotel with a good breakfast. The location is great and the surroundings are beautiful. Free usage of kayaks. The Restaurant and Bar was our favorite place to eat in all of Key Largo. The Hotel is directly on the water, but you can NOT swim there! The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our Family will definately go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Dove Creek Lodge is a nice get-a-way hotel if you are looking for a place in the Keys. It is comfortable, clean, has a nice location, offers complementary water toys (kayaks, etc.), and also a complementary breakfast. Also a great place to catch the sun rise!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Beautiful Lodge. overall very clean an nice. People running it are tremendous. Rates quite reasonable compared to Key West. Parking easy. Had a very nice time. Can only give three stars because hard to sleep there neighbors television and general neighbor noise goes right through the walls. and because of the band at the restaurant next door. Other problem is no beach, just an area behind trees to sit and watch the ocean. This ledge by ocean was the only area of the hotel that was filthy with garbage but made it very unpleasant. Other problem is we did not use kayak and other boats because we felt unsafe in the water alone, there was nobody watching us, we would prefer they have a group kayak activity or the like daily

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAtraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Really nice get a way. Our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. We had a king bed, nice sitting room and screened in balcony. Bed was extra comfy. Great closet space and good use of space in the bathroom. We had refrig that was built into the closet and took up no space at all. The bathroom was stocked with nice amenities and loved the dispensers for soap, shampoo and conditioner were on the shower wall. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a treat. They had Greek yogurt with fresh fruit, key lime yogurt that was delicious and fruit kabobs. They also had bagels, toast and oatmeal, as well as cut up pastry that probably was Entermann's. Nice selection of coffee too. The grounds were well kept, as was the pool area. They had kayaks, and a water tricycle for complementary use. We sat at the edge of the ocean in comfortable chairs, but the cleanliness of the overall property was tainted by all of the trash and debris. There were two fabulous hammocks and a gazebo with a swing. The pool area was well maintained. We were here three nights and did not sleep well any of them. The a/c was loud and our neighbors blasted the TV all night. Because we were not doing much of anything during the day, was not huge issue. There is no room service or on sight dining, but there are many restaurants less than ten minutes away, including one next door and within walking distance. Regardless of anything negative, we look forward to returning with the same goal of just chilling out and relaxing. PS I indicated the Fitness Room was excellent. Hit in error, but had to leave some sort of rating. Not that I looked very hard, I do not think there was one..

Room Tip: Be sure to clarify if you want a full on view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingMom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Having traveled extensively, I can without hesitation recommend this resort as premium perfection. From the bath products, fine linens, perfect bedding and delicious breakfast (try the key lime yogurt for breakfast), it surpassed my expectations! It was true luxury. We had a king suite with a comfortable sitting area, large bathroom and bedroom as well as a screened-in balcony. The landscaped grounds were beautifully maintained as was the pool and hot tub. What a treat? covered parking too! Very nice management; our stay was perfectly wonderful!

Easy to enjoy Snappers restaurant next door; music, good food, great service!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We live in Ft. Lauderdale and had a groupon to go Snorkeling at Pennekamp Park. Staying at Dove Creek was the best experience we've had in the Keys. The resort is very clean with luch tropical landscaping. The pool was very refreshing as was the hot tub. The room was impeccably clean with a very comfortable king size bed, refridgerator, and safe. The property is right next to Snapper's which we ate at 3 times during the weekend and each time was great! Wonderful convenience and average price for the Keys. There were no loud noises or parties to be heard during our 2 night stay. It was the refreshing and relaxing weekend we needed! We will most certainly return to Dove Creek when we return to Key Largo or Islamorada!

Room Tip: We were in room 404 on the top floor with view of the ocean and the pool area. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,291 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
14.0 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo
Dove Creek Lodge Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing