We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Exceptional Staff and Service”
Review of MB at Key Largo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MB at Key Largo
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were not disappointed in any way with this great little hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful in every way. Room was clean and though a little dated, very well maintained. We didn't realize when booking that there was also breakfast included with the price of the room which turned out to be a nice bonus. Just finished travelling from Alberta to Florida, with stops in about eight different locations, this was one of the top two for sure. Would certainly stay at Dove Creek again.

Room Tip: Had a one bedroom suite on the second floor, facing the pool. Great location and incredible view fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

I just spent the weekend at Dove Creek and cannot rave enough about the experience. I am a former resident of the Keys, and I am not easily impressed, but our stay at the Lodge was beyond wonderful! While the lodge truly captures the tropical atmosphere, the creature comforts were above and beyond my expectations. A lot of hotel/resorts offer complimentary continental breakfasts, but the personal touches added to the breakfasts at Dove Creek put them in a class above the ordinary. The staff were gracious and helpful at check in, but because everything was so well appointed we never really had reason to contact them with any concerns. What a great place to relax and enjoy a little slice of paradise just a couple of hours south of my Ft. Lauderdale area home. I can't wait to go back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My Grandson & I stayed 2 nights in April. Loved the quiet, relaxing grounds after busy days of sight seeing & beach walking. The pool & hot tub were just right for us & we had it to ourselves most times. True that you would not want to swim from the beach, rocky & too shallow, but we had a blast exploring in the kayaks & sea trike. Loved that we could walk to Snappers for late meal & music. Breakfast choices were ample. Loved the Key Lime tarts & fresh fruit. Only thing missing were frozen drink options by the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsywoman1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We escaped to key largo for the weekend. Totally worth it! They only had a standard room available, it was small but totally clean. I am super picky.. I mean really picky and I was happy with the room. When in the keys you rarely are even in the room. The atmosphere is wonderful, you can hear the live music from Snappers... just great! Oh and the kayaks and other water equipment is free for guests. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were right by the elevator and did not even hear it once. There aren't any rooms on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We loved our stay at Dove Creek. The 2 bedroom apartment was absolutely amazing. What a view! It was beyond clean, great decor, incredible upgrades, flat screen tv's in each room, great little touches of class everywhere throughout the apartment. Lounged at the pool all day and had a fantastic brunch at Snapper's next door. If you want to relax in style, this is the place. The office staff couldn't have been nicer. They had coffee, tea and a unique selection of breakfast items. I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Get the two bedroom Mango suite. It is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed for two nights during a week-long trip to the keys the week after Easter. My husband and our two kids enjoyed our stay at Dove Creek but were not "wowed" by it. We stayed in a one bedroom suite w/ ocean view. The room looked over the pool and wasn't a clear view to the ocean, though it was still beautiful.

The grounds are pretty, though debris was littered through some of the mangroves. It seems like one person could clean it up in little time but the debris was there all three days. The grounds and pool area are very small, but there are hamocks and chairs in the trees to enjoy the shade. This seems minor, but the chairs are cheesy green plastic. It would be nice at this price to provide nicer lounge chairs. You also have to check out pool towels. The pool doesn't really close, allowing swimming late at night, but the office is only open until 7pm so you have to check out towels before then. Again, a little annoying to have to check out a pool towel at this price. I would expect for them to be provided at the pool like other hotels.

We enjoyed using the provided kayaks to cruise around the peaceful water early in the morning. At check-in we asked about the boats and life jackets and the younger girl told us there were no jackets; there were actually a number of them. This made me seek out the older woman with any further questions;, she was quite helpful.

Breakfast is okay. Other reviewers said the key lime tart is delicious, and it is. Fresh fruit was also provided and bagels, cereal, and other cold options.

The room was comfortable and the king bed, though really two twins tied together was okay, but the pillows are really, really awful.

The best part of our stay was the restaurant next door, Snappers. We ate there three times. They have great live musicians and the food is wonderful. Snorkeling with Sundiver Tours was amazing and Bahia Honda beach is a must see. The keys are laid back with lots of great family things to do.

We might return to Dove Creek but probably not. There are a lot of other great hotels to try in the keys. This one is nice but for the price I was definitely not wowed. There wasn't really anything outstanding that made me feel like it was better than other options. Everything we enjoyed the most about our stay had little to do with the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelliJ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This place is situated directly at the Atlantic, yet, you cannot swim in the sea. The hotel, however, has free kayaks and boats you can use. There is also a niche poolside, though the pool is pretty small. We were there with out two kids aged 8 and 11 and had a suite, which was spacey, well furnished and simply nice. The one thing with further potential is the staff - they are either not there (reception closes at 7 p.m., but when we arrived at 6.10, they had already closed for the day - the keys were in the late arrivals box, but in the suite, the sleeping couch for our children was not set up), or not particularly helpful, for example, they could not give us any proper information about snorkeling in John Pennekamp Park.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flabbergast52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,373 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,569 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MB at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MB at Key Largo

Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892 (Formerly Dove Creek Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range: £155 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MB at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your MB at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo
MB At Key Largo Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing