We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous.! Will be back. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous.! Will be back. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful and beautiful Lodge.. Not hotel. The rooms are welcoming and comfortable. The grounds are filled with trees, flowers and sand.! The view is spectacular. Our 3rd party reservation is messed up our stay and left us with no reservation after driving 14 hours. The desk staff was calm, sweet, and accommodating. They figured it out for us! We will be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    225
    51
    15
    13
See reviews for
126
566
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, CA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We loved every minute of our one-night stay at this great little hotel and wished we had more time than one night. From the front desk friendliness (Cammie and Jane) and helpfulness to the perfect (for us) continental breakfast in the morning (yoghurt and fruit/hard-boiled eggs/juice) to the very comfy bed to the kayaks they let you take out and about for free to the truly "Keys" tropical atmosphere of the whole place. Very relaxing, clean, and beautifully appointed rooms. They have a pool, but we did not use it. We loved that there were hammocks hanging near the ocean and Adirondack chairs placed here and there to take advantage of the water views. We thought it was also a plus that Snapper's restaurant and bar is right next door. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and hopefully we can do that for a longer period the next time we are in the Keys.

Room Tip: The rooms with screened-in patios overlooking the pool and ocean are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoddessofArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floridaeach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Awesome lodge with great views. The rooms are very Nicely decorated and have everything typical hotel has. Tommy bahama shampoo in the showers too! Continental breakfast is a little odd, would do better if they had breakfast bars, muffins, good bagels, and better pastries. The options were weird. Also could have like a daily breakfast special and serve eggs and bacon one day and then small side items . Or have a local bakery bring stuff in. Water activities to do on site and bar restaurant next door! Hidden gem for a relaxing vacation! I have family in Key Largo but always stay here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tennisgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were not disappointed in any way with this great little hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful in every way. Room was clean and though a little dated, very well maintained. We didn't realize when booking that there was also breakfast included with the price of the room which turned out to be a nice bonus. Just finished travelling from Alberta to Florida, with stops in about eight different locations, this was one of the top two for sure. Would certainly stay at Dove Creek again.

Room Tip: Had a one bedroom suite on the second floor, facing the pool. Great location and incredible view fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dania Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I just spent the weekend at Dove Creek and cannot rave enough about the experience. I am a former resident of the Keys, and I am not easily impressed, but our stay at the Lodge was beyond wonderful! While the lodge truly captures the tropical atmosphere, the creature comforts were above and beyond my expectations. A lot of hotel/resorts offer complimentary continental breakfasts, but the personal touches added to the breakfasts at Dove Creek put them in a class above the ordinary. The staff were gracious and helpful at check in, but because everything was so well appointed we never really had reason to contact them with any concerns. What a great place to relax and enjoy a little slice of paradise just a couple of hours south of my Ft. Lauderdale area home. I can't wait to go back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My Grandson & I stayed 2 nights in April. Loved the quiet, relaxing grounds after busy days of sight seeing & beach walking. The pool & hot tub were just right for us & we had it to ourselves most times. True that you would not want to swim from the beach, rocky & too shallow, but we had a blast exploring in the kayaks & sea trike. Loved that we could walk to Snappers for late meal & music. Breakfast choices were ample. Loved the Key Lime tarts & fresh fruit. Only thing missing were frozen drink options by the pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsywoman1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We escaped to key largo for the weekend. Totally worth it! They only had a standard room available, it was small but totally clean. I am super picky.. I mean really picky and I was happy with the room. When in the keys you rarely are even in the room. The atmosphere is wonderful, you can hear the live music from Snappers... just great! Oh and the kayaks and other water equipment is free for guests. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were right by the elevator and did not even hear it once. There aren't any rooms on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,336 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo
Dove Creek Lodge Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing