We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real Gem!”
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“A real Gem!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved this resort! Small and personnel , great location on the water with one of Key Largos greatest restaurants right next door overlooking the water. Continental Breakfast included which was everything you could ask for before an eventful day on the water. Use of Kayaks on the premises included , which was a nice bonus !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bourbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    226
    52
    15
    14
See reviews for
126
569
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I'm pretty picky about hotels/resorts, but I was really impressed with this place. To start with, I didn't really get the layout from the description other reviews (probably didn't dig deep enough) - the hotel has a boat rental place right next door, Island Explorers Water Sports (I'm going to put in a good review for Ray and Eric on their thread.. great guys), one of the better restaurants in the region next to that, Snappers, and a bar visited by locals - all on the water! Really ideal. The hotel is almost flawlessly designed to give every room a great view. I read other views where you get the room with the view of a parking lot or something - not here. And the big one for me - the rooms are designed so that noise is pretty much obliterated when the doors are closed. No small thing with the pub band across the way and the inevitable boisterous vacationers. There are other things, like the Wolfgang Puck coffee, immaculate rooms, and the meticulously manicured grounds. If I had to create perfection, I would add a beach (of course there are very few around Largo) and I would put it on the bay side for the sunsets. All in all - highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiverDudeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful and beautiful Lodge.. Not hotel. The rooms are welcoming and comfortable. The grounds are filled with trees, flowers and sand.! The view is spectacular. Our 3rd party reservation is messed up our stay and left us with no reservation after driving 14 hours. The desk staff was calm, sweet, and accommodating. They figured it out for us! We will be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truckee, CA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We loved every minute of our one-night stay at this great little hotel and wished we had more time than one night. From the front desk friendliness (Cammie and Jane) and helpfulness to the perfect (for us) continental breakfast in the morning (yoghurt and fruit/hard-boiled eggs/juice) to the very comfy bed to the kayaks they let you take out and about for free to the truly "Keys" tropical atmosphere of the whole place. Very relaxing, clean, and beautifully appointed rooms. They have a pool, but we did not use it. We loved that there were hammocks hanging near the ocean and Adirondack chairs placed here and there to take advantage of the water views. We thought it was also a plus that Snapper's restaurant and bar is right next door. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and hopefully we can do that for a longer period the next time we are in the Keys.

Room Tip: The rooms with screened-in patios overlooking the pool and ocean are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoddessofArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floridaeach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Awesome lodge with great views. The rooms are very Nicely decorated and have everything typical hotel has. Tommy bahama shampoo in the showers too! Continental breakfast is a little odd, would do better if they had breakfast bars, muffins, good bagels, and better pastries. The options were weird. Also could have like a daily breakfast special and serve eggs and bacon one day and then small side items . Or have a local bakery bring stuff in. Water activities to do on site and bar restaurant next door! Hidden gem for a relaxing vacation! I have family in Key Largo but always stay here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tennisgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were not disappointed in any way with this great little hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful in every way. Room was clean and though a little dated, very well maintained. We didn't realize when booking that there was also breakfast included with the price of the room which turned out to be a nice bonus. Just finished travelling from Alberta to Florida, with stops in about eight different locations, this was one of the top two for sure. Would certainly stay at Dove Creek again.

Room Tip: Had a one bedroom suite on the second floor, facing the pool. Great location and incredible view fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dania Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I just spent the weekend at Dove Creek and cannot rave enough about the experience. I am a former resident of the Keys, and I am not easily impressed, but our stay at the Lodge was beyond wonderful! While the lodge truly captures the tropical atmosphere, the creature comforts were above and beyond my expectations. A lot of hotel/resorts offer complimentary continental breakfasts, but the personal touches added to the breakfasts at Dove Creek put them in a class above the ordinary. The staff were gracious and helpful at check in, but because everything was so well appointed we never really had reason to contact them with any concerns. What a great place to relax and enjoy a little slice of paradise just a couple of hours south of my Ft. Lauderdale area home. I can't wait to go back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo
Dove Creek Lodge Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing