We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect inside and out...”
Review of MB at Key Largo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MB at Key Largo
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We drove down to the Upper Keys for our 25th anniversary and were very glad to have chosen the Dove Creek Lodge. Our balcony faced the tropical gardens and the ocean and was the ideal place to sit. Our room was very nicely decorated and the public rooms were charming. You have your complimentary breakfast in the library with another beautiful ocean view. The staff was extremely helpful. I broke a front tooth just after checking in and 4 of them scurried around to find a dentist that could help me temporarily. It wasn't easy (laid-back work ethic in the Keys) but they finally found someone who got me through the rest of our stay. Location is actually between Key Largo and Islamorado, so we had dinners in both towns. Also close to glassbottom boat rides over the coral reefs. We were very pleased to have such a lovely time celebrating.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbr1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

732 - 738 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2010

Our stay was just great and we felt like in paradies.
The rooms are nice, very comfortable, good shape, quite clean, nicely decorated and quality furniture.
The location is wonderful. Next to a peer is a cozy sand area and two pools, one to swim, one with warm water. The view from the balcony (with mosquito protection) is marvelous: palms, the pool and the sea. All in good shape and nicely decorated, welcoming, flowers etc.
Staff is very friendly and helpful (inform staff if you might arrive after 6 pm). Breakfast is good.
What a pity that our stay was so short. We will try to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulirike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

We were so lucky to stumble upon The Dove Creek Lodge while planning our trip to the Florida Kays. The hotel was quaint, clean and the view was spectacular. With seaside dining and entertainment right next door, you never have to leave. The suites are modern, clean and very large. It was our first time to Key Largo, and we were so pleased to find a friendly and knowledgable staff to help us plan our trip once we arrived. This place would be great for a group of friends or a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcampbell1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

We arrived after disembarking a six day cruise which was a hard act to follow. The setting was magical - right on the ocean with spectacular sunrises...

We loved watching the fish through the clear water alongside the jetties.

We liked the covered verandah as nobody warned us about the no-see-ums and we all got badly bitten. This was annoying as we had specifically asked at the desk on arrival if there were any mosquitoes and had brought stuff with us to use if there were. We were told, quite correctly, that there were no mossies, but nobody thought to warn us of the other little blighters! Don't they go for the locals then?

So we suffered after our basking sessions by the pool. Yes the water was cold and so was the hot tub, but once you got in the former it was OK and actually very refreshing.

Our room was massive. More like villa than an appartment and we had a "gourmet kitchen" which was useful - though we couldn't quite work out why a dishwasher was provided, and used by the cleaner each day to wash fewer than half a dozen items, yet there was no washing machine, which we really could have done with. When asked, we were told this was an eco-friendly hotel! So we handwashed and dried stuff on the verandah. We also handwashed the dishes ourselves so as not to waste water!

This oddity apart, it was a great place and we really enjoyed eating at Snappers next door and the live music was a real plus for us... and added to the holiday atmosphere.

Our adult son enjoyed Kitesurfing at Whale Harbour, where lessons were pricey but extremely well-managed and well worth it in view of this.

We also took a glass bottomed boat out from the nearby Holiday Inn and really recommend the tour.

As Brits, spending dollars converted from pounds, everything seemed expensive!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penelopesymons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Beautiful setting right on the water. Nice restaurant right next door. Note that you cannot swim in the water here. They do have a small pool and sandy area but you cannot swim in the ocean though the hotel is on the water. The hotel is in a beautiful cove with a nice open air restaurant and bar next to it. You can also rent jet skis or arrange for fishing trip at kiosk on their grounds (not run by hotel). The room was wonderful. continental breakfast was adequate and the staff was very pleasant. This is a small hotel. Has nice balconies and a common area with books/magazines. Very relaxing stay. Very quiet (other than early morning garbage pickup). You will not hear traffic from Hwy. 1. I loved the place and hope to return soon. Located at mile marker 94.5 just North of Tavernier

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We were so pleasantly surprised by the Dove Creek Lodge. The pictures were great but the reality was even better. Beautifully decorated rooms with a 'luxury-Caribbean' feel. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept on in years! The balcony overlooked a gorgeous cove with lush tropical plants. The view of the water could not have been more perfect. We loved the restaurant right next door as well. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Really can't ask for more. Well worth the price we paid. Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCasey01950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

One of the better small hotels/motels in Key Largo. Beautiful little beach and nice hammock..

Pool was cold. Hot tub was cold and unheated

We felt it over priced.

Staff was good, helpful and friendly.

Snappers is the high priced restaurant next door. Food is no better than other places and the service was poor.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,371 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,568 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MB at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MB at Key Largo

Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892 (Formerly Dove Creek Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range: £155 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MB at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your MB at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo
MB At Key Largo Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing