We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms, good value - recommended for budget travelers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Cove Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay Cove Motel
Ranked #10 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, good value - recommended for budget travelers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

This motel was a nice, low cost option (less than $95 per night). Room was not big, but reasonably sized for 2 beds (queen & full). Great beds.

We had Room 5 - a room that had a small refrigerator, toaster and coffee maker. We were able to have a small microwave brought in. There were grills and patio tables outside our room and we were able to cook every night and eat right there!

Caretakers were friendly and customer service oriented.

There is a dock on the bay where guest congregate every night for the sunset. Every guest we met was friendly!

There are sea kayaks available for use right on the bay. The edge of the cove has a number of lounge chairs and a swing where you can relax or talk with others.

Cons: Right off of the main strip, so traffic noise can be heard, but didn't prevent us from sleeping. No internet. No phones. Extra $10 charge for each extra person over two occupants - so we had to pay for our 10 year old.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    49
    19
    7
    12
See reviews for
38
68
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
columbus,in
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

Motel is centrally located. Staff is very accommodating. Motel is clean, quiet, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baton rouge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

If you are looking for a good clean room with a comfortable bed at a very good price this is it. free kayak. nice little beach, wonderful peir, coffee pot, 2 cups, toaster and small refridge. no phones. the caretakers are very nice and be sure and eat next door and get a free card from the hotel for a key-lime freeze. about 3 hrs. from key west

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2009

My son (14) and I were on a scuba diving trip. We tried Bay Cove before and were pleased and the same again.

We stayed in Unit 6 this time and it was typically roomy with comfortable beds. We did not have any problems with the ants this time, as we kept all of our food in the fridge or closed up tight. If you go outside, the tiny ants are around but this is not unusual. Remember that the buildings are not new, so don't expect the Hilton and you will be pleased.

The location is great for access to scuba diving companies. They still have free use of the kayaks, which were great for our son. The managers were very friendly and helpful.

For the price, amenities and location, you can't go wrong.

  • Liked — location and kayaks
  • Disliked — age of buildings
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank archtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2009

Stayed here three days on our way through the Keys. It was clean and quiet in the upstairs cottage. The small beach and dock were great for the sunset or relaxing at any time. A nice convenient spot and a pleasant room to come back to after a day of exploring. Being low season we had most of the place to ourselves.

  • Liked — spacious cottage room
  • Disliked — too close to highway 1
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank riverboatmanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okeechobee,Fla
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2009

We go to the race in homestead every year,and have for the last 9 years. We started staying at Bay Cove about 3 years ago and have already booked it for this November for the races also. The couple that manage the motel are really great and caring people,and will do just about anything to make your stay their as wonderful as they can. They really make you feel as you are part of the family. This is an older motel and yes the water is slow, but that is the way it is in the keys. Some places are slower than other. I have never seen this place dirty or the rooms. There are alot of us that go their for the races so i have seen just about every room they have, I have never seen any of them dirty, nor the grounds. We spend 3 days their and see alot. The dock is very nice and the sunsets are beautiful and last but not least, the managers are wonderful. If you are looking for somthing like the hilton or one of the other fancy motels, don't go here. But if you want layed back , fun, and great memories this is the place to stay. And i would like to say thank you for making our stay so nice year after year.

  • Liked — Private
  • Disliked — Slow shower
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank twofarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khurst21
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

I went with my 13 year old son, 18 month old daughter, husband, and grandparents. We rented the entire house, upstairs and downstairs that faces the water. We had plenty of room and we felt very comfortable, just like being at home. The couple that run the motel were absolutely amazing. They really took such personalized care of me and my family. They helped my son so much with his fishing and adventures. My son had one of the best vacations of his life. He almost caught a shark and swam with a mom and baby Manatee right off of the dock - what a once and a lifetime experience. The sunsets are truly to die far. When you are here you feel that really no one else is around and it is very private. My 18 month old loved having a sandy beach and the convienence of being able to walk right into the ocean. Our stay was so relaxing and both the staff and other guests were so friendly. It was exactly what me and my family needed.

  • Liked — The location and the amazing couple that run the motel.
  • Disliked — Restaurants nearby can be expensive. Ask locals for recommendations.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank khurst21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Cove Motel

Property: Bay Cove Motel
Address: 99446 Overseas Hwy, MM 99.5, Bayside, Key Largo, FL 33037-2494
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Bay Cove Hotel Key Largo
Bay Cove Motel Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing