We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful room, service, beach - everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coconut Palm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coconut Palm Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful room, service, beach - everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

I absolutely recommend this hotel. The staff was wonderful and friendly, the rooms were beautiful - tropical, clean - the beach was beautiful, and the location was great.

Some people have commented on the breakfast, but we though it was fine. Muffins, bagels, fruit, cereal, coffee and juice. Simple, but good. Also, for people who haven't been to the Keys before - they don't really have soft, sandy beaches, it's all coral and crushed shells - not beach sand. But almost all of the hotels have this type of beach. With this in mind, the beach at Coconut Palm was really nice, with lounge chairs, adirondack chairs, and comfy hammocks. They also offer use of kayaks which we used to kayak through the mangroves - awesome!

They have a beautiful, large pool as well which was the perfect temp. In the early evening, we saw a manatee and her baby swimming right near the Coconut Palm dock - it was awesome!

The location is great too, close to some great restaurants (Marker 88 has delicious fish and an amazing view).

Try to get a room on the second floor, you have a deck (semi-private) which is a great place to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imatraveln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    207
    65
    12
    6
See reviews for
267
755
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wantagh new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

My husband and I just returned from the Coconut Palm Inn and we can't wait to go back. Beautifully maintained both inside and out. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite with a lovely deck over looking the beach. The bathroom and kitchen were spotless and new. Loved the pool and grounds, and Kathy and her staff wonderfully helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zsazsa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

This is a gem of a place. The staff is wonderful, the location is beautiful, the rooms are excellent. I was traveling on business and did not have the opportunity to truly enjoy it, but I make sure to add it to my list of fabulous places to stay. The best way to put it is "home away from home."

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bean811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines FL
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

Coconut Palm Inn is the perfect place for a romantic get-away. We visited there the first time 4 years ago and just returned for a long weekend. We couldn't ask for the staff to be friendlier or more accomodating. We enjoyed kayaking around, swimming in the pool, and just sitting staring at the beautiful lagoon at sunset. Dana was very helpful in recommending places for us to go for what we wanted. The Old Tavernier restaurant was her suggestion and it was better than we could imagine.
The inn is at a perfect location. Its like a little piece of heaven right here in Tavernier. There is no way we will wait 4 more years to return. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0vin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

Lovely and tasteful interior. Private beach. All cared for by exceptional staff, as were we.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markingtime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

We stayed at Coconut Palm Inn for four nights as part of our honeymoon touring various states in the US. After a very lively visit to Las Vegas and then California the Coconut Palm Inn was a wonderful place to kick back and relax for a few days. This is a place where you feel comfortable and relaxed within minutes of arriving. The beach and pool were very clean, beautiful and relaxing. The breakfast was light but exactly what you need before venturing out for the day or just lazing by the pool.

We had booked the honeymoon suite and it was actually better than I expected. It was extremely clean and comfortable, especially the bed. the decor was rustic, typically "Keys" and had a charm about it as did the entire Inn.

This Inn does not have a bar or restaurant which, for the type of experience we were looking for, was just right. We wanted to totally relax and unwind and this is just what the Inn has to offer. Of course, you can take your own drinks and there are plenty of BBQs for cook-outs and there were people with families doing this which was a lot of fun. If you want peace and quiet in a place with charm and character then this is the place for you but if you want to be waited on, drinks fetched, food cooked etc then a resort or hotel would be better for you.

The girls on reception were very helpful and gave us a welcome that made us feel we were friends. We met some lovely people around the pool and have very fond memories. If we ever go back to the Keys again I would never stay anywhere but the Coconut Palm Inn although I would stay longer next time.

The restaurant MM88 at mile marker 88 is very good and Harriettes is also good for breakfast or lunch. When we arrived we had had quite a hard journey and didn't want to go out to eat and so ordered a chinese meal to be delivered from the restaurant near Wyn-Dixie - it honestly was one of the best chinese meals I have had.

If you ever go there check out the Iguana, he really is a character!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corlal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

We wish we could tuck the Coconut Palm Inn into our house, but unfortunately we can't. So that can only mean that we try to visit as often as we can. Each time we do, it gets better and better.

We love the rooms, the staff, and the tranquility. Traveling and vacation can be expensive as we all know. There is a yummy breakfast provided by the Inn and my husband and I pack a big cooler of food to take advantage of the little grills for dinner or lunch.

The hammocks, the pool, the pier (to dock your boat or fish off of) is so relaxing. We hardly leave the Coconut Palm Inn. Why!, when there is so much to do.

Thank you to the staff of the Coconut Palm Inn for always treating us like family. We can't wait to come back and see you soon. We've already recommended it to more friends and family. This is the place to go! It's AMAZING!

Sincerely, Emily and Jeff Wade

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missteaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,336 reviews
5.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#7 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
11.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palm Inn

Property: Coconut Palm Inn
Address: 198 Harborview Dr, Key Largo, FL 33070-2664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coconut Palm Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hideaway with only 20 rooms and suites, 450' of sandy sunning beach, dockage, kayaks, boat ramp, pool and alfresco continental breakfast. Rated top 40 Secret Beach Hideaways by Travel + Leisure 2010. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coconut Palm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palm Hotel Key Largo
Coconut Palm Inn Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing