We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit with children”
Review of Ocean Reef Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Reef Club
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First visit with children”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My first visit to ORC was with my children on Spring break. We arrived by boat and were greeted with courteous and professional dock hands. I checked in with the dock master, then back to the boat with my info packet, cleaned up and off we went to explore. Since boating is a passion, the kids indulged me as we walked around for a bit to admire all the yachts. A short while later, we were at the pool area. Magnificent views of the Atlantic and beautiful landscaping surrounding this oasis. A quick dip in the pool(s), then I got out to order lunch and grab an " ice cold one ". A couple of Members came over to introduce themselves. As time passed, one of them offered a spare golf cart he had, so we could get around during our stay !! Later, we cleaned up and off to dinner. Ran into more members as we were waiting for a table. They wouldn't let me pay for a thing !!!! I assumed all this generosity was coming from the appearance of a single dad doing his thing....though they never gave me that impression ! Snorkeling trips,more swimming and dinghy exploring the mangroves. All the staff,personnel and individuals we met couldn't have been nicer. I offer my total gratitude to all who made such a warm welcome and a great memory. Jake B

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    62
    39
    23
    19
See reviews for
87
52
1
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We used the amenities (pool, restaurants, golf carts) only. We came by boat and docked in their marina. Marina staff was very attentive and helpful. All of the staff members were friendly. There was construction going on near the pools and it became somewhat noisy at times.
All in all, it was a relaxing experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nsl1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I travel quite a bit and were really looking forward to our first experience at Ocean Reef. We had heard great things from friends who were familiar with the property. We drove into Key Largo from Key West. The drive was actually really good. It's a beautiful stretch of road, but the further we got toward Ocean Reef the more we felt disconnected from vacation options. The Club is actually a community all its own. It's more than 10 miles from the main road with much of Club shutting down at sunset. There are virtually no dining options less than 25 minutes away. There were only two options on property, but at least the staff was good and the quality of the food reasonable. If you're looking for a true getway, a place where you feel disconnected from the rest of the world then this is the place for you. We just like to be a bit more active and get a sense of the locality we're visiting. That just wasn't possible here.

Room Tip: Make sure you request an ocean view room. One of the buildings provides no ocean views at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is clearly a private club with some guestrooms, and not run or managed like a high end hotel. On the plus side, the grounds are beautiful and if you like to be on the water, you are surrounded by it. Good diving, boating and other related activities. However, not any real beach and while the pools are nice and overlook the water, they tended to be crowded and teeming with children. Except for early morning or late afternoon, it was hard to find a quiet spot to sit where you were not surrounded by people.

We stayed in a nicely appointed inn room with water views, but housekeeping was spotty.

Food was ok, at best, and quite expensive for what it was. Room service was pretty dismal, both in terms of food quality and service.

It was not an especially friendly crowd, and the members had no interest in interacting with anyone they didn't know. Not that I consider myself a highly social person, nor were we looking to make new friends, but a polite nod or acknowledgement when crossing paths seems like a basic minimal courtesy. Also, there are many places that are off limits to non-members - like the nice sitting area with bar out on the water and the better fitness center.

I don't know how anyone can put this in the same category as a Four Seasons or Ritz-Carlton. While the rooms are fine enough, everything else is far inferior and you are a guest in someone else's home - not a guest at a fine resort. The staff did what they had to, and there were a few really good people, but overall not an especially sharp group.

I would say it's okay to stay here if one needs to be in the Keys for a night or two. But so far as an overall high-end resort experience, this is not the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Annie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and i just returned from our second stay at this resort.The resort and the staff are great.It is deftinately a slice of heaven!Youcant help but to relax in this place The pools with the waterfalls are great as are thetwo beaches.

Room Tip: go water view itsa well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparky35196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover, Alabama, United States
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Disappointed with the stay at the Ocean Reef club. Community is far to spread out with everyone moving around on golf carts. The "locals" are very vocal about not liking the guests in the community and the shops all close at sunset. We were put in a condo that was very much out of date in it's decor. Enjoyed the pool and amenities but the transportation and spread out nature of this resort leaves much to be desired.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

ORC is the perfect place to have a wedding. The catering manager, Kristi S., and the entire team at ORC thought of ever detail for the entire weekend. Four months later our guest are still talking about our wedding and wanting to go back.
The resort is beautiful with plenty of activities for everyone! We had 150 people attend and stay at the resort. ALL of them enjoyed their time at ORC...a few even extended their stay.
The pool is amazing, the golf course is fantastic, the restaurants offer delicious food with wonderful service, the rooms were spacious, clean and had beautiful views of the resort.
We look forward to going back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsbmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
20.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
25.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
585 reviews
24.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,305 reviews
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,534 reviews
18.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Club

Property: Ocean Reef Club
Address: 35 Ocean Reef Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-5263
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Club Hotel Key Largo
Ocean Reef Hotel
Ocean Reef Key Largo
Ocean Reef Club Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing