We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Enjoyment”
Review of Ocean Reef Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Reef Club
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Total Enjoyment”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were at this high end resort for a wedding. It is so very beautiful. The staff is so nice and caring. The moment we arrived to check in the manager at the front desk handed my grandson a stuffed tiger doll. They did everything to make us feel welcome.

The resort hosted a awesome pre wedding bonfire and the wedding and the next day brunch was the best.

The resort is spotlessly clean and ,maintained.

Room Tip: We rented our condo from VROB. It was a more reasonable option. The resort caters to the rich. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraAcqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    62
    38
    23
    20
See reviews for
84
51
1
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The location is exceptional. The pools and the rooms are beautiful. As others have stated, it's a private club so at times it is a bit awkward. Rules and a somewhat icy staff made me not want to return. Lovely spot but not very relaxing. Fine for me as I was there for a business conference but wouldn't choose it as a vacation spot.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a beautiful property about 90 minutes from Miami. It's very remote and isolated in an area North of Key Largo with nice views, lagoons and pools. My room had a water view and was very nice with appropriate amenities. The property is largely walkable (e.g. pool, conference areas, restaurants.) Both restaurants are good, albeit casual Keys-style dining. Front desk service was terrible. The two women working there were quiet and easily confused by our conference rate and hotel charges and wandered around trying to get help. It seems no manager was on duty during check-in or check-out? After three visits to the front desk, I am not sure they got it right. They could not explain the charges that we would receive--so we get to wait for the credit card bill. Very poor training and service. A colleague traveling with me had the same issues with front desk staff.

Restaurant service was very good. Food was a solid 7.5 out of 10. Not gourmet, but good selection and quality. My room felt updated, although the conference building looked a bit worn. There is NOTHING nearby the resort... no shopping nor convenience stores, gas stations, etc. You are in a giant gated community, so, once the gift shop closes at the resort--you are on your own. The expansive property contains lots of condos and beautiful yachts. The yachts and lagoons make it feel like a real resort, despite some major service flaws. My room was a good size with updated TV and decent internet. I feel the resort is geared toward a very relaxing stay for older couples, golfers or young families who want a remote resort... it's a quiet and "early" place.

The Good:
- Great looking, large, remote resort with Ocean views
- Convenient to walk around, good for couples or families
- Balcony rooms with water view is great
- Designed for golfers and older couples
- Lots of amenities on property, well-stocked rooms

The Bad:
- VERY remote.
- Surprisingly confused front desk workers
- Housekeeping and other guests can be heard due to tile floors
- The front desk directed me to place my breakfast order to the voicemail of room service (everything closes way too early). They never delivered breakfast and never returned my call. That's a dropped ball by management
- So-so water pressure

Despite all these items, I still think it deserves a 3 or 4 out of 5. I am rounding up because it is a nice looking resort. For this money, however, they must re-think quality of front desk staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a water, ocean or lagoon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChetX5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malvern, pa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Be on lookout for next year Wine and Food Festival at Ocean Reef Club....stayed with my sister and brother in law....had such a fabulous time....the festival was outstanding.....will be looking forward to next year's festival.....loved environment and especially people.....great times.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We were excited to spend a few days here. First, let me say that the property is beautiful. You truly get the "island" feel while staying there. However, we were disappointed in a number of areas. The bellmen act as though it is an inconvenience to help you if you are not a "member". Yes, this is a private club with people living on the property. This is fine, if only the staff would act like we mattered. If they don't want to treat "guests" politely, they shouldn't have a resort on the property. Next, the gratuity is already included in EVERYTHING.....so the servers have no motivation to do their jobs well (again, "members" were treated like royalty). The room service food was terrible...we wouldn't recommend it. The breakfast buffet on the weekend was decent. The Islander had some pretty good food, so we would recommend eating there as well. As far as activities, there is lots to do...snorkeling, paddle boarding, fishing....etc... The pools are nice and refreshing, but again...the servers at the pool were extremely rude. The only exception was "Charlotte" who made us feel very welcome. If all of the staff were as friendly as she was, it would have made our trip much more pleasant. We should also mention the room size....I have had larger rooms at a Marriott. It was average at best. We were with three other couples, who concurred with our assessment of this resort and the lack of customer service. Finally, there is an abundance of over-privileged teenagers that are allowed to break the rules because their parents/grandparents are "members". We saw quite a few teens who were clearly underage, drinking alcohol. We assume they are exempt from the law, due to their financial status. Overall, we would not return here. The average room with an obstructed view of the water, poor customer service, fair food and "elite" attitude on the property....just isn't worth it. We are sad to say that we cannot recommend this resort.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Very relaxing- pools, gyms, golf, tennis, golf cart and bike rentals. Food is better than average for resort fare.

Fun place for whole family. Beware golf is strict in terms of attire etc.

Overall club has a bit of a waspy/white feel to it; for minorities, people of color, u may feel uncomfortable especially if u r not a cuban from miami.

Far better than cheeca lodge or any other spot in the keys. Also only 1 hour from miami.
Far

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Aa11bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The staff was wonderful, the location amazing. We were in for a short visit and were so sorry to leave. The golf carts will take you all over this large property. We walked to where we needed to go which was also very nice. The variety of classes and events would have kept us busy all day but we just wanted to relax and soak up the sun.

The singer/guitar player by the pool in the afternoon was a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandandfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
20.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,410 reviews
25.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,264 reviews
24.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
17.9 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Club

Property: Ocean Reef Club
Address: 35 Ocean Reef Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-5263
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Club Hotel Key Largo
Ocean Reef Hotel
Ocean Reef Key Largo
Ocean Reef Club Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing