We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly service”

Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille
Ranked #17 of 136 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We ate there first because it was within walking distance from the motel but went back because of the extensive menu and great food. Reasonable price also.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy60660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KdeCastro, General Manager at Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review! :-) We pride ourselves on our unique menu options. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    305
    103
    34
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Catering Magic too!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We've loved this restaurant for years. Now with a vegan-vegetarian menu and new chef's selections, it remains a favorite. Don't miss the opportunity to enjoy a meal here.
And, now we can compliment them on their fantastic catering services: we asked them to cater a recent meeting at our conference center. Breakfast (which they don't normally do), lunch and hors d'oeuvres, served at our resort and meeting center. The entire group of some 20+ meeting attendee's loved everything that was served, for each meal. Thanks and congrats Ballyhoo's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Owner-KonaKai-Resort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KdeCastro, General Manager at Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review! They were a pleasure to cater too, on that beautiful piece of property that you have. We look forward to doing many other events with you and your guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselberry, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Danielle was one of the best servers we've ever had. Great sense of humor, good suggestions, and even a knowledge of local beaches and wildlife (we saw a new lizard to us - a curly tailed lizard, which Danielle says hangs around outside to pick up some tasty crumbs). My husband had a juicy burger and delicious home made cole slaw. I had a BLT with avocado and they certainly don't skimp on the avocado. I tried the homemade fries with bacon salt. Loved that taste and actually asked Danielle if I could purchase some of the salt. There wasn't enough on hand, but she told us exactly how to make it (oven baked crispy bacon mixed with coarse kosher salt in a food processor). She gave me a small sample so I could see the texture and I can't wait to get home to give this a try. Homemade ketchup too! We couldn't leave without key lime pie, and Ballyhoo's was a nice twist on the original. The meringue topping was swirled in crispy peaks that tasted just like toasted marshmallows over a camp fire. All we can saw is wow about our entire experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KdeCastro, General Manager at Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review. :-) We are THRILLED that you enjoyed your visit! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Boston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Three times in a week!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The food was so delicious that my husband and I went to Ballyhoos three times during our week-long stay on Key Largo. We would have gone a forth time but got there too late one night. The service was great, too.
The snapper, mahi, scallops, homemade rolls and jam, and wedge salads are just a few of the highlights. Don't miss it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Terpin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KdeCastro, General Manager at Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for the review! We are glad that you enjoyed your meal and service. ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Florida Cuisine”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Excellent spins on traditional Florida food. Their Key Lime Pie was really good!! Also appreciated their "cocktails-" no liquor license, so they create really good libations out of wine. Nice service too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank k8eg8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KdeCastro, General Manager at Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review. :-) The Strawberry Mojito and the Hemingway Daiquiri are quickly becoming favorites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Ballyhoo's Historic Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing