We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and view but there are issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Key West Inn - Key Largo
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Toledo Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice location and view but there are issues.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I booked this through a dive operator and after looking at the reviews had some misgivings. My first impression left me pleasantly surprised. It is spacious and clean and a great view of the canal and Sharkeys Bar across the canal. If you are diving it is convenient to the marina. Our room looked as if it had been recently painted. So far so good. First morning I went to make coffee and the in room coffee maker didn't work. Not a huge problem as they had coffee in the office and fixed the coffee pot immediately. Hot water was lacking in the upper shower a minor inconvenience since it was plentiful in the lower shower. (there are 2 levels a large bedroom upstairs and living room/kitchenette downstairs. The furniture is dated but functional the TV's are also dated but quite functional and the internet access was fine. The kitchen had issues. The drain didn't drain, but the biggest turn off was a huge cockroach that my son found roaming the kitchen. This thing was 1 1/2 inches long. Overall the place offered some personality you won't find at the Marriott Courtyard next door. If you want sterile this place isn't for you. I probably wouldn't stay again based the issues in the bathroom and kitchen. It has the potential to be a really neat place but needs work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LarryS1751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    179
    112
    59
    63
See reviews for
147
235
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have traveled extensively and this is the filthiest accommodation we have ever stayed in. From the dirty carpets to the food encrusted cupboard shelving to the filth around all the light switches it was hard to imagine a place so dirty. I booked this room through Booking.com who I have used extensively - they really missed on this one. I could not get my money back so I will let Booking know, the Key Largo booking agencies and the Key Largo Chamber of Commerce and finally the Key Largo Board of Health (if there is one). I paid 360.00 Canadian for this room for 2 nights - I feel that I was robbed.

Room Tip: Run away from this one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boultonross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Key Largo hotels

Key Largo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Lady at the reception was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are two-storied with two bathrooms and fully equipped kitchen. The small minus point was the noise of the bar across the canal, especially in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ilona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This place has a convenient location for taking advantage of all the things to do on Key Largo.

The units are big and could accommodate 4 people. There is a master bedroom and full bath on the upper level and below is pull-out sofa and another full bath. Also on that level is fully equipped kitchen - appliances, pots,pans, dishes, silver wear etc.

Units have a small lanai overlooking canal.

Now on to the reality of the place. First, when taking a shower in upstairs bath you wind up standing in a puddle of water a few inches deep. Obviously the drain needs to be cleaned. The bed and pillows comfortable but the TV and furniture is quite outdated. Also there was brochure for programs on HBO, but that channel was not available and the brochure was 2 months old.

One bar of soap in each bath. No shampoo.

Living room also very dated. And none of the lamps were plugged in. One really bad thing I did not tell my wife. The slider on the lanai appeared to have had a break-in attempt ( see photo attached) In any event the damage prevented the door from completely closing, you could 'lock' it but if there was a breeze it would come in, so making a break-in even easier.

The towels felt like coarse sandpaper.

While it had wifi, didn't always work and at least our room had an extremely low level of support for it.

Bottom line there are many other places to stay and even if they cost a little more we would try them rather than stay here again.

Room Tip: Go to the Holiday Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ban Chang, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is good value for money in Key Largo - anywhere in the Keys is expensive. Talking to other visitors, most of the accommodation is outdated and worn, unless you pay double for an upmarket hotel.
We had room 138 - nonsmoking, very clean, definitely tired, worn furniture and bedding etc, but in the end it was very comfortable and roomy.
We enjoyed sitting on the balcony overlooking the canal, watching the boats go by.

Wifi was excellent. 2 bathrooms one up and one down, both very clean.
Aircon and ceiling fans were great. Staff friendly and helpful.
We didn't get a flat screen TV, but never put the TV on once anyway.

The noisy pub at the end was only a problem one night and it was silent after 10pm.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We just spend an evening here. the rooms are rather big, and a bit outdated to say the least, but the Inn is convieniently located close to US 1 and backs right up against a canal. It is also within walking distance to a great restaurant- The Key Largo Conch House

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Good location in key largo and unusual in terms of the two floor layout. House keeping twice a week only and the rooms show this as they could definitely do with a clean. Only thing I would say is if you book through some British websites watch the local tax addition which in our case was $50 for a two day stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martintracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
9.0 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
402 reviews
2.5 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Inn - Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Inn - Key Largo

Property: Key West Inn - Key Largo
Address: 201 Ocean Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4325
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Key West Inn - Key Largo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our two level, townhouse style suites are approximately 1,000 square feet in size and consist of a master bedroom with queen size bed, a living room with a queen size sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms. Also included in your suite is a kitchen with full size refrigerator, range, microwave and dishwasher. All units feature a private, screened balcony that overlooks our marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Key West Inn - Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Inn - Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key West Inn - Key Largo Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing