We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We very much enjoyed our week stay :)”
Review of Port Largo Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Largo Villas
MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We very much enjoyed our week stay :)”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This was a great stay at Port Largo Villas through an Interval Int'l timeshare exchange. The location is excellent for watersports and driveability to Miami and FLL airports.

We've stayed at many different timeshares and have learned what is important for our vacation week.

Location: We chose Port Largo Villas for it's location and availability and were pleased. Of course a water view would be better, but it sure was nice waking up to a view of lots of palm trees out the big, roomwide sliding doors in the master br.

Cleanliness/Decor: We knew from research to expect a more dated resort so it was no surprise. Considering the age, the resort sure does try to keep it nice and make efforts to update. The landscaping is excellent with lots of palm trees. The master bath was updated :) and the beds were comfortable. I wish they had updated duvets instead of the old-style bedspreads which one doesn't know (unlike duvet covers) how often they get washed. The new leather couches are very comfy and clean. We especially enjoyed the many sliding doors to the huge wrap around deck. This allowed us to open up the place for half of the week to allow cross breezes and skip the a/c. We like the tile floor in the living area and would prefer it in the bedrooms over carpet.

Ammenties: All of the appliances were decent and the kitchen well stocked. We appreciated also that the living room drawers were filled with games, books, and tourist info. It was nice to share things from the previous guests and pass on books/magazines for the next. (first time ever at a timeshare I've noticed). This is also the first time we've ever had full boxes of laundry detergent to use as needed. Very nice. But we did miss shampoo. Oh...internet was convenient and reasonable at only $10 for the whole week (or option of 20 min/day free).

Spacious spacious spacious.

We didn't use the boat slip area but it would be great and convenient for boaters. The pool was clean and updated and we liked the bbq/shaded gazebo area near the pool.

We like the laid-back atmosphere of the resort and it doesn't bother us that there aren't wknd and evening office hours.

We had guests stay a few nights in the second room and they were pleased with the resort, too.

Room Tip: We liked the upper of the two levels since was such a great view of beautiful palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank zagole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    22
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2011

great place- 2 large bedrooms-large full kitchen living room area-1600sq ft with additional 600 sq ft wrap around deck. older units but well kept. nice pool-kept exceptional clean.friendly staff willing to help-had lovely time at this resort and would recommend-plan on going again in the future no activities but plenty of things to do in area by car. on canal-able to fish right on property for small fish.many sliding glass doors in unit for acess to deck. nice tile floors in unit. definately will recommend

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patti16h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
267 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

I started out with an "above average" rating but changed it to "average" after reviewing my comments. On the plus side: the kitchen is extremely well stocked, there is lots of balcony space, our unit was close to the swimming pool, there is lots of seating in the unit, lots of supplies such as detergent, dishwasher soap, hand soap, the new shower in the master bedroom and the number of good pubs and restaurants nearby. However, I had an allergic reaction to the perfume in the laundry soap used to wash the sheets, there wasn't any shampoo, conditioner, lotion or pool towels provided, the tile floor was dirty, especially when damp, the towels were stained. The water view advertised is miniscule at best. The pool needs repainting. Thanks to the comments on Trip Advisor we were prepared for no one to be here when we checked in at 5:00, but the company should notify people of this when they make their reservation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank t42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Stayed at Port Largo Villas last weekend for several days. From what I saw around the area, this resort was as nice and well kept as anything in the Key Largo area. The rooms themselves are a little dated, as far as decor, colors, tv's, etc. But the units are clean, very large, and have everything you need (washer/dryer, full kitchen, even air mattress for extra guests). They have updated some things in the rooms, nice big leather furniture, and the master shower was brand new. Around the resort they have a basketball/shuffle board court, horseshoe pits, boat dock, gazzebo with bbq grill, heated swimming pool (not real hot, but enjoyable), and a jacuzzi tub (was down for service while we were there). We arrived late on Friday night, but called ahead and they left the keys for us in a safebox. Other than that, had no interaction with staff, so cannot really comment.
We walked across the street to a restaurant/bar Coconuts, little pricey (chicken breast & fries $17, Key Lime Pie $7, Pina colada $8), but good food, tv's with NFL games, and music for dancing.
Overall, if we were returning to the upper Keys area, we would definitely check out Port Largo Villas again. Like I said a little dated, but good quality, and definitely a good value.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAGJFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JENSEN BEACH
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We found Port Largo Villas a great place for our getaway. Arva was extremely helpful in arranging our stay and reserving a dock space. This was off season so the resort was quiet. The grounds are very well maintained and the pool sparkling clean! The unit had recently had a bathroom upgrade in the Master. New leather furniture in the living room was comfortable. The unit was clean but could have used some fine tuning (very dusty closet where ac is located and carpet needed cleaning at bases of beds) Otherwise, we found the kitchen, baths and unit overall nice and clean and the balcony was great for relaxing. A big plus is the location. Some great restaurant options easily walkable...Sharkey's just across the street, Doc's Diner and Mrs Mac's Kitchen for breakfast and lunch, Largo Cafe for fantastic italian, Bayside Grill for casual sunset happy hours w/ music or lovely dinner upstairs! We had no problem with office being closed on the weekend. Emergency #s posted should you have a problem, we didn't! Everything was fine at check in and we hope to return to this resort! Wish they would allow small pets, we would like to bring along our small 10 lb dog.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obxpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This was our third time at PLV and we have been happy (with the minor weather exception) every time. The units are spacious enough for four guys and the docks and location very near some of the best fishing in the states can't be beat. Arva at the front desk is great!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soflanative50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We traded our condo in Orlando for this condo. We called ahead and were told to pick up the key at the office. There wasn't anyone there when we arrived but the key was waiting just as we were told. I was pleasantly surprised when we went to our unit and found spacious bedrooms and extremely confortable accomadations. There was a huge wrap around deck that overlooked the grounds. The grounds were manacured and well kept. My husband and son went snorkling at John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park and had a wonderful time. We took our daughter to Dolphin Cove and she swam with the dolphins and loved it. It was a very enjoyable and relaxing vacation. I truely enjoyed our stay and would go back again!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OscarJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,503 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.1 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 20 in Key Largo
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Largo Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Largo Villas

Property: Port Largo Villas
Address: Key Largo, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Port Largo Villas Hotel Key Largo
Port Largo Villas Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing