We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious”
Review of Port Largo Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Largo Villas
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Stayed at Port Largo Villas last weekend for several days. From what I saw around the area, this resort was as nice and well kept as anything in the Key Largo area. The rooms themselves are a little dated, as far as decor, colors, tv's, etc. But the units are clean, very large, and have everything you need (washer/dryer, full kitchen, even air mattress for extra guests). They have updated some things in the rooms, nice big leather furniture, and the master shower was brand new. Around the resort they have a basketball/shuffle board court, horseshoe pits, boat dock, gazzebo with bbq grill, heated swimming pool (not real hot, but enjoyable), and a jacuzzi tub (was down for service while we were there). We arrived late on Friday night, but called ahead and they left the keys for us in a safebox. Other than that, had no interaction with staff, so cannot really comment.
We walked across the street to a restaurant/bar Coconuts, little pricey (chicken breast & fries $17, Key Lime Pie $7, Pina colada $8), but good food, tv's with NFL games, and music for dancing.
Overall, if we were returning to the upper Keys area, we would definitely check out Port Largo Villas again. Like I said a little dated, but good quality, and definitely a good value.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JAGJFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2010

We found Port Largo Villas a great place for our getaway. Arva was extremely helpful in arranging our stay and reserving a dock space. This was off season so the resort was quiet. The grounds are very well maintained and the pool sparkling clean! The unit had recently had a bathroom upgrade in the Master. New leather furniture in the living room was comfortable. The unit was clean but could have used some fine tuning (very dusty closet where ac is located and carpet needed cleaning at bases of beds) Otherwise, we found the kitchen, baths and unit overall nice and clean and the balcony was great for relaxing. A big plus is the location. Some great restaurant options easily walkable...Sharkey's just across the street, Doc's Diner and Mrs Mac's Kitchen for breakfast and lunch, Largo Cafe for fantastic italian, Bayside Grill for casual sunset happy hours w/ music or lovely dinner upstairs! We had no problem with office being closed on the weekend. Emergency #s posted should you have a problem, we didn't! Everything was fine at check in and we hope to return to this resort! Wish they would allow small pets, we would like to bring along our small 10 lb dog.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank obxpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This was our third time at PLV and we have been happy (with the minor weather exception) every time. The units are spacious enough for four guys and the docks and location very near some of the best fishing in the states can't be beat. Arva at the front desk is great!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soflanative50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We traded our condo in Orlando for this condo. We called ahead and were told to pick up the key at the office. There wasn't anyone there when we arrived but the key was waiting just as we were told. I was pleasantly surprised when we went to our unit and found spacious bedrooms and extremely confortable accomadations. There was a huge wrap around deck that overlooked the grounds. The grounds were manacured and well kept. My husband and son went snorkling at John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park and had a wonderful time. We took our daughter to Dolphin Cove and she swam with the dolphins and loved it. It was a very enjoyable and relaxing vacation. I truely enjoyed our stay and would go back again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OscarJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

For families with small kids this place needs a total makeover. The staff is only there couple hours a day so don't expect anyone to help if there is a problem. The linens, carpets and bathrooms are all in need of replacement. We stayed for 2 days and had to leave it was so bad. The auto air freshner that sprays every 20 minutes does not help for a good nights rest.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluesaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Port Largo Villas provided us with comfortable lodging for a week as we toured the Keys. The Villa is a well maintained and comfortable timeshare resort in Key Largo attached to a marina. It is within a couple hours driving distance of Miami and Fort Lauderdale as well as the entire Keys all the way to Key West. As such, it provides a comfortable place to host a stay at the very southern extremity of the continental US. Each building has four units that provide comfortable accommodations. Each unit has two bedrooms with two baths and a spacious kitchen, eating area, and living room. The beds were equipped with firm and very comfortable mattresses. There is a wrap-around external deck on two sides of each unit accessed by several sliding glass doors. The living area was maintained in excellent condition and has a very attractive appearance with cathedral ceilings and plenty of glass area for external views. All appliances were in excellent condition, including dish washer and clothes washer and dryer. Ceramic tile floors were attractive and carpeting in the bedrooms was clean and in very good condition. Maintenance staff was extremely responsive and courteous in providing rapid repair for two minor equipment needs that occurred during our stay. We found no deficiencies with the rooms whatsoever.

The only downsides were quite minor. The staff was not on site on weekends and also followed 10AM to 4 PM hours only on site during weekdays. This was only a minor inconvenience. During office hours, they were congenial and very helpful with suggestions. The other inconvenience was the presence of a nightclub within hearing distance. Some music sound did come into our unit during evening hours, but was not very noticeable and did end at a reasonable hour. We rarely noticed it and it was not objectionable to us.

Port Largo Villas provided us with a very comfortable stay while we spent a week of leisurely touring the Keys, making for a pleasurable vacation experience.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank theonlymaskman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

There are a few picky things I could mention about this resort but the reality is I thought it was near perfect. There is ample boat parking and a resort marina if you need it. The rooms are a little old but HUGE and well laid out. My kids stayed for hours on the patio, it wraps around the unit and is one of the longest patios I've seen. The internet isn't free but it is dirt cheap, I think 10 bucks for a week.

The pool/jacuzzi is in bad need of a paint job but the grounds team is as nice of a group as I've ever met. This was one timeshare exchange that I felt as though I got fair value or better. I would avoid building one if possible. It's in the front of the resort and directly across the street from a loud bar and also the maintenance shed is under building one and the crew starts work at 7am and they can be loud.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
0 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
0 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#5 of 17 in Key Largo
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
623 reviews
0 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
0 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Largo Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Largo Villas

Address: Key Largo, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Port Largo Villas Hotel Key Largo
Port Largo Villas Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing