We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday fun”
Review of Gilbert's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gilbert's Resort
Ranked #8 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went there for my birthday celebration because everyone from Miami likes a ride down to the Keys. About 25 of my friends joined us for the day as well as my teenage daughter and her best friend. We decided to spend the night as we knew we would be consuming a lot of adult beverages. The accommodations were fair, but their website let's you know that it's not 5 star. The teenagers had a blast during the day. They hung out on the small beach and rented kayaks. There isn't much for them to do at night. The adults all had a good time as well, however, I was very disappointed by the price increase on the food but all in all it was a good day!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great spot that takes you back in time to key largo before it was full of tourists and pennekamp was blossoming.

Great people, fun atmosphere, and you can pull your boat up to the dock.

I read previous reviews- this is not a Marriott or Four Seasons. It is a local family providing a local experience!!! This is one of the last treasures of key largo- if you have the time and an open mind, check it out!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank HoldenBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Won't let you launch your boat there they make you go across the bridge to some place that no one speaks english they charge you to dock your boat and won't even let you dock in front of your room made me move my boat because they said it's for 25ft and larger only but never seen a 25 ft boat docked any where staff is rude and and always asking to be tipped stay away

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The only thing that is good about this hotel is everything outside. The tiki bar is good. But don't stay at the hotel. It's super nasty, the beds were very bad and the bathroom was not clean.
The outside furniture was in terrible condition. This hotel has not been kept up and they have a lot of nerve charging aver $100 for a room. I wouldn't stay here if they gave me the room for free.
K.Harris

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catwoman5575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is the worst motel I have been in this country. The shower was filthy and about 30 years old, the beds were concave, The a/c noisy and leaking water. Do not stay here look for something else. I have gone to the Tiki Bar and it,s okay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiram i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A biker and boater motel, old school, but a huge bar and resturant out side and always with music.
Beach, rentals etc. Better a guy place than bringing a woman. I was on a painting trip in the keys and it was the perfect location for me. Very friendly people at the desk. My bed was fine and they fixed my TV in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Olsenecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I've been a guest of gilberts for years and I can honestly say that the quality of people staying there is something less than desirable.
They take your patio chairs, take over you porch, even if they don't know you, music blasting.
For the price of the room you can stay at a much better place...
I will NEVER stay there again or recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nery F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,557 reviews
6.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
8.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
14.0 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilbert's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilbert's Resort

Address: 107900 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-3126
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: £95 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilbert's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gilbert's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilbert`s Hotel Key Largo
Gilbert's Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing