We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgustingly dirty, bug infested Dump!!”
Review of Gilbert's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gilbert's Resort
Ranked #9 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Key West, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disgustingly dirty, bug infested Dump!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

No value in this fish camp. Motel rooms are disgusting, bug infested. Tiles and paint are chipped through out the room and bathroom. All of the furniture is out dated and broken. Smelly room in need of a detail clean. The once over isn't cutting it for cleanliness. You wont be able to swim since that to is poorly upkept.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RuBberDuckY05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    106
    77
    65
    134
See reviews for
126
194
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I did not stay at Gilbert's so I cannot comment on that but we ate lunch at the tiki bar two times during our trip to the keys. Food was great(keep in mind bar food,not fine dining)and the atmosphere was awesome just what you would imagine in the keys-dining right on the dock next to crystal Clare blue water. Beautiful location. I would not take a trip to the keys without stopping here for lunch or a quick snack.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bc5180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

While on our way to Marathon, we stopped here for a bite to eat, as we try to avoid chain/fast food restaurants. The tiki bar was huge with a great view. My wife had the clam chowder and it was excellent. I had the beef kabobs and they were good.

After my meal, I visited the mens room and HOLY SHIZ! was it nasty. Disgusting, gross, vile....They must be doing something to keep the health inspector away...

I'd hate to see the kitchen if that's what they make available to the public.

Even with the good food and great view, won't be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank boandjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Key Largo hotels

Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went there for my birthday celebration because everyone from Miami likes a ride down to the Keys. About 25 of my friends joined us for the day as well as my teenage daughter and her best friend. We decided to spend the night as we knew we would be consuming a lot of adult beverages. The accommodations were fair, but their website let's you know that it's not 5 star. The teenagers had a blast during the day. They hung out on the small beach and rented kayaks. There isn't much for them to do at night. The adults all had a good time as well, however, I was very disappointed by the price increase on the food but all in all it was a good day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great spot that takes you back in time to key largo before it was full of tourists and pennekamp was blossoming.

Great people, fun atmosphere, and you can pull your boat up to the dock.

I read previous reviews- this is not a Marriott or Four Seasons. It is a local family providing a local experience!!! This is one of the last treasures of key largo- if you have the time and an open mind, check it out!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HoldenBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Won't let you launch your boat there they make you go across the bridge to some place that no one speaks english they charge you to dock your boat and won't even let you dock in front of your room made me move my boat because they said it's for 25ft and larger only but never seen a 25 ft boat docked any where staff is rude and and always asking to be tipped stay away

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The only thing that is good about this hotel is everything outside. The tiki bar is good. But don't stay at the hotel. It's super nasty, the beds were very bad and the bathroom was not clean.
The outside furniture was in terrible condition. This hotel has not been kept up and they have a lot of nerve charging aver $100 for a room. I wouldn't stay here if they gave me the room for free.
K.Harris

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catwoman5575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,535 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,486 reviews
6.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
13.4 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
3.0 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilbert's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilbert's Resort

Property: Gilbert's Resort
Address: 107900 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-3126
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilbert's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gilbert's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilbert`s Hotel Key Largo
Gilbert's Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing