We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unit J2- Week of May 5, 2013 Carlos, Thank you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kawama Yacht Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kawama Yacht Club
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unit J2- Week of May 5, 2013 Carlos, Thank you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I found the unit on VBRO.com and I emailed Carlos several times becasue I was hesitant taking my wife three kids (9,7,and 2) and my father and mother-in-law (in their 70's) all the way from Gettysburg to some place none of us had been before. I have to tell you, the place looked as good when we got there as it did in the pictures. We flew into Ft. Lauderdale and drove down. We were a little early and the place was still being cleaned by the maid. When we unpacked, there was more than enough room for all 7 of us. With a full bath on each floor no one had to wait to clean up after a day of snorkeling. The Unit is right by the entrance and approx. 1/8 mile from the Jetty which was awesome as you could see the Jacks and barracuda and a few Tarpon swimming around. How great was it that the Unit came with a golf cart? We didn't even notice the 1/8 mile as all the kids would pile in and G-Pa and G-Ma would drive them around. The Unit was neat and clean and had everything you needed. Close to stores and 2 blocks from a fish house, we ate fresh seafood every night. I see others have complained there is no beach, that's true but the Keys aren't known for their beaches, they are known for Snorkeling and fishing. If you snorkel right off the steps, there is a rock pile that juts out 30 yrd in 3-4 ft of water that is just teemng with fish. Be careful not to wear jewelry or shiny watches, rings etc. because the barracuda eat flashy fish.

We snorkeled right off the beach and saw 'cuda, seargent majors, a plethora of other reef fish, sea slugs, blow fish, skates and a spotted eagle ray. We caught Jack from the end of the jetty (you can ride the golf cart all the way out) and I even hooked but lost a Tarpon.

The lagoon was great for allowing the kids to snorkel. They would sit in the shallow water and feed thousands of little fish bread. Bigger and bigger fish would come to investigate, we even had a 4ft tarpon show up and chase the little fish.
Carlos the owner said it rained the entire week before we came down, we saw nothing but sunshine the entire time. It's going to be tough to top this trip. Great location, great accomodations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    48
    14
    12
    12
See reviews for
98
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

And we found old food in fridge a couch that looked like it had not been cleaned in five years. Bathrooms were dirty and a loft that had pull down stairs with no air conditioning. If you want to do a load of laundry, just go into Normans condo. What a ripoff. We found another place.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Glenn k G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

There were six of us; three adults and three children (actually four kids but our oldest is 20 so I classified her as an adult, lol). We stayed in Key Largo from 8/22 - 8/27/13. We rented a 2 bed, 2 bath townhouse from Norman Wartman for 5 nights. We stayed in unit G12. It was a beautiful unit and Norman was a great host. He was fine with the time we arrived (around 5pm) and let us leave at our leisure on 8/27. There were two full baths in the unit; one upstairs and one downstairs. The unit also had two enclosed balconies; one off the master bedroom and the other one downstairs off the living room. The kids room had a bunk bed and a trundle bed, dresser and a tv with a built in vhs player. Our room was a great size; it had a king sized bed, tv, and dresser. The unit had Comcast Wi-Fi, a front porch with a gas grill, patio set, room on the front porch for the 5 bikes we brought with us, a golf cart to drive around the property, a kayak (other kayaks also available to use near the beach), folding chairs, noodles for the pool, we left six air mattresses for the pool, lots of towels, lots of sheets, extra blankets and pillows, microwave, coffee pot, oven, flat stove top, toaster oven, pot, frying pan, cookie sheet, enough dishes and silverware for six, dishwasher, stacked washer/dryer, etc. The only thing missing was an alarm clock, lol (I used my cell phone). Norman met us at the property; gave us a quick tour of the inside of the unit and also drove us around the property in the golf cart to show us all of the wonderful property amenities. What a great place to stay! We had access to two very warm pools, the swimming lagoon, the Jettie, the beach, the tennis courts, etc. We all had such a great time! I would highly recommend staying at Norman's property! He was great! His property was great! We'd definitely stay there again if we go back to Key Largo!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherrilovesthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We spend a week in one of the units with three boys. The lagoon was good for swimming and having fun so kids where entertained during our stay. Fishing off the jetty was enjoyable too. The grounds seems fairly maintained and clean. Good as a base of operations for exploring Key Largo.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed at the Tower (#402) and although it is an older building needing a little cosmetic work, it was still a beautiful place with a gorgeous center garden complete with large palms. Beach access is actually wooden steps leading to the shoreline. Lots of sea grass but still very nice for snorkeling. A lot of nice underwater creatures to see (fish, live coral, sea urchins, anemones). The beach area had plenty of chairs and tables w/ tiki umbrellas for use. Loved the saltwater lagoon, very large and deep w/ three diving platforms!! It was great for snorkeling too. Iguanas and many different wading birds were seen on the grounds during our stay. There are 3 pools (and the lagoon) there but only have access to 2 no matter where you stay. Tower condos are very spacious and well furnished. Did have a bit of a problem w/ needing the key to access the elevator (or stairs) and for the pool (to enter and exit !!!!). Extra keys were available but costly !!! We had to use a "hidden key" system for everyone to have access to the pool, elevator, etc. Most condos also had golf carts available for renters.

Room Tip: Better views from the Tower but the other condos had more deck/outside area available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhambra, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Location: Very central to restaurants and activities. Right on the ocean, however there is no beach. Just a kayak entrance that is rocky.

Facilities: Very nice pool area with lounge chairs and tables/umbrellas. Marina access. The tower is under-going some renovations right now so it is not that pretty to look at...a lot of orange spray paint markings all over. Did not visit the lagoon but it is for swimming, snorkeling, or kayaking.

Unit 405: Very comfortable 2 BR condo with everything we needed between 2 families that stayed there. The furniture is very comfortable and there were lots of good sized beds for us. BED1: Master w/ bath, queen bed, day bed. BED2: Double bed and twin bunk beds.

Included laundry use, full kitchen, 2 kayaks, 2 bikes, and flat screen TVs w/DVD.

We had a great time there and were very close to Ocean Divers, which we went out with for 2 days.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank stovar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Kawama Yacht Club. Me, my husband, my 5 year old and two 15 year olds had a wonderful vacation. Everyone had fun and found many things to do. We stayed in the tower. The room was very clean and stocked with supplies. Norman was extremely helpful and welcoming. He was very nice on the phone when I called to ask questions and he was also very nice and helpful when we got to Key Largo. He let my husband borrow a fishing pole and offered to lend the kids some swimming gear. Everything was as Norman said it would be when we got there. All and all we had a great time. We would highly recommend this vacation spot. Thanks Norman!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,339 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
6.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawama Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawama Yacht Club

Property: Kawama Yacht Club
Address: 1500 Ocean Bay Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4238
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 198
Also Known As:
Kawama Yacht Club Hotel Key Largo
Kawama Yacht Club Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing