We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic location and apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kawama Yacht Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kawama Yacht Club
peterborough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“fantastic location and apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

we stayed in a kawama towers apartment belonging to Ralph, apt KT412, it was great ,fantastic view overlooked the marina and seaview.Apartment was great, no complaints at all.We had no problems with parking there are plenty of extra spaces. The pool is meant to be just for tower residents, but everyone from the complex uses it as they just lift the gate up ,where you are meant to use a key. still wasnt a problem, we still seem to have it mostly to ourselves when we were there, it was mainly early evening it was bedlam down there.We also booked Dolpin Plus, which is just along the road before you get to kawama, and it was fantastic. Hubby and girls spent most of the day, did the combo package and they had plenty of time in the water with the dolphins, really well worth the money, as we met some people that had been to Dolphin Research on another Key and hadnt had such good value.Overall we had a great time in the Keys and we will definitely be back, people friendly and always wanting to chat.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday5998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    48
    14
    12
    12
See reviews for
98
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

Rebecca Roe rented us a room and then decided she could not accomidate our group. It is 4 months later and she stll has not returned our money. She is a crook do not rent from her!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aupsetdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

#1 worst parking ever, boats and empty trailers fill up all the parking spots.
#2 If you try to park on side becus its the ONLY place left they threten to tow you.
#3 cant leave anything out to dry.
#4 when the gate keeper is on patrol you will not get in until he returns

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
old saybrook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

We just returned from school vacation week at a condo in the Towers at the Kawama Yacht Club. The facilitiey is a condo complex, and you can rent from individual owners. Our two bedroom, two bath condo was on the 4th floor of the tower building. Unit is in fair condition, not great, but fair. Could use better cleaning and updating of interior, but you are paying about half the price of a hotel, with a lot more to offer!! Kawama has two pools you can use, plus a great little beach and a lagoon which has great snorkling - great fish!!! The full time residents of the Tower complex are not friendly-especially with using their pool before 10am with kids. Use the north pool, much nicer people and warmer! Great location, easy to get to anything in the Keys. If you are looking for a nice complex with nice accessories, good location and will not spend a lot of time in your room, find one of these units, it can be a good value.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leafman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire/UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

This is our third visit to Key Largo second to KT406 Kawama Yacht Club we are a family of 6 ranging from our youngest daughter of 3 and "Grandad" 76 We LOVE it there!
Kawama itself is a lovely gated "community" of low rise apartments
and a "tower" of large 2 bedroom apartments on 4 levels most with a view of the ocean.
KT406 (in the tower) is a fantastic clean modern apartment tastefully decorated and has all the mod cons you need. It is very light due to the large windows which overlook a collection of palm trees and then on to the ocean beyond, very relaxing listening to the breeze running through the leaves and watching the the wildlife (there seems to be 2 iguanas that have made the palms their home).
The complex has 3 pools a kids park a private beach tennis courts and a big lake in the middle full of interesting fish etc.
There is also a marina incorporated in the complex.
There is a short drive to some excellent restaurants.
Kawama is ideally situated to explore the Keys Everglades and Miami.

  • Liked — Location secure child friendly
  • Disliked — A month at a time sadly far to short!!!!!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank furlongphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

This has been a very disappointing experience. Kawama Yacht Club is an old, somewhat decrepit complex, developed at least thirty years ago. The Tower is somewhat newer but showing obvious signs of wear and poor maintenance. Unit 212 has also seen much better days. Everything in the place needs upgrading or replacement. All the appliances are obviously bottom-of-the-line and show their wear.
The couches and chairs in the unit are also outdated, stained and uncomfortable. The bits of carpeting covering parts of the tile floor should be thrown away.
On the plus side would be the great view of the pool and marina.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — old and decrepit
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bob8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
220 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

From Dec. 17th to 24th, 2008, our family of nine enjoyed staying at the Kawama Yacht Club. It was not the most exclusive place but perfect for the family with ages from 4 to 75. The kids enjoyed the pool, tennis and feeding the fish and it provided the family with good quality time together. It was a very interesting story on how this community was originally started as a military base in the 60's and where Navy Seals trained in a lagoon which is now home to barracuda, tarpon, parrot and other fish. The weather was great 75 to 80. Our ranking of restaurants was: Rib Daddy's (dessert menu and presentation was outstanding), Had Yellowtail Snapper and was disappointed. It was good but not as good as I anticipated. Their ribs were rated very good by several of our family. The service (owner's daughter) was great. Hobo's (opportunity to have Hog Snapper - the best fish that I ever had). The service was outstanding. Pilot House (lunch outside) and Mrs. Mac's. If you have time, go to Islamorada Fish Market/Restaurant, for dining, atmosphere, music and fish.

This was our first rental in the Keys. About the only disappointment was the lack of nice sandy beaches. At Kawama, you were able to go to the Atlantic side beach and to take in the sunset from the tip of the jetty. The sunset was outstanding.

We were in this area to attend a wedding in Miami and did think the travel between Key Largo and Miami (Coral Gables area) was not too bad. Much better than we were led to believe.

Helpful?
Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
6.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawama Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawama Yacht Club

Property: Kawama Yacht Club
Address: 1500 Ocean Bay Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4238
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 198
Also Known As:
Kawama Yacht Club Hotel Key Largo
Kawama Yacht Club Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing