We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Cuban restaurant. Not so nice.”
Review of Marlin's Restaurant - CLOSED

Marlin's Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast
Lake Placid, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Little Cuban restaurant. Not so nice.”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had breakfast at this restaurant. The food had a Cuban flair and was interesting but the rest of the restaurant was disappointing. The waitresses were distracted with their cell phones and didn't much care if the customers were taken care of or not. The floors and the tables were dirty with crumbs and food scraps laying about.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    26
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't let the out outside fool you.”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed at John Pennekamp State Park and this restaurant was right outside the gate. We decided to stop in can check it out. Glad we did. The food was Very Good! Has a Cuban flair The prices are easy on the wallet. I had the steak, with black beans and rice mixed and the Best fried plantains I ever had. I will stop here on my next trip to the Keys.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't Wuss Out. You Will Be Happy”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

When we eat out for breakfast or lunch at home, we stay away from tourist hangouts. Why do people want that on the road? This is Cuban. This is why you come to South Florida. If local construction people spend their money here, you can bet on quality, and value. We wanted cafe Cubano, cafe con leche, batidas, and Cuban toast. As we suspected, this place was the "Real Deal".

Even tough it was late Monday morning, the wait staff was gracious and welcoming. My wife asked about a particular dish, a Basque omelet, and our server said she didn't like it because she never eats shrimp. She did say that people liked it. What more can you ask for from a server but total candor. Of course my wife ordered it and loved it.

Fair warning, though. Come hungry!!!!
I wish we had stayed in town for more than one day, I would have gone back. Bet you lunches and even dinners are worth it!

We got a recommendation for the coffee, and knew that this was a place for a real meal.

They are under new management, so we'll see. I hope they do well. We will be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fogePortland_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast stop”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We dropped in for breakfast and were rewarded with good omlets make to order, excellent coffee and a generous amount of great cuban bread. The waitress never came back to refill the coffee. That would have raised my rating.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank finss2left
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Chittenden, VT
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, so glad we stopped!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We were on our way to Key West, and drove through Key Largo at dinner time on Valentine's Day. Decided at the last second to pull in for dinner. Cuban food sounded good. No reviews, no yelp, nothing, just a spontaneous "let's give it a shot" decision. We were rewarded for our spontaneity with an absolutely fantastic meal served by a friendly and attentive staff. Based on the clientele that night, we felt like we'd stumbled upon a locals favorite. Don't miss the yuca and the black beans and white rice for sides! Our opinion of our meal was validated on our ride back up the Keys when we passed by at lunch, and their parking lot was packed with truckers. Who knows better where to stop for a great meal at a great price?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SailorBill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marlin's Restaurant also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Tavernier, Key Largo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing