We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST RESORT ON KEY WEST!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST RESORT ON KEY WEST!!!”
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We fell in love with Parrot Key resort. We booked online and we not sure what we would get but we were overjoyed. The pools and grounds are SUPER CLEAN. The staff at Cafe Blue, one in particular (SHELLEY), was super nice. The laundry facility was an unexpected bonus for us, since we had been traveling for days before we arrived AND it was FREE to wash and dry!

The staff was very friendly also. Note the people who clean your rooms do not speak English though. Very hard to communicate with them to get what you need.

Beware of the homeless people that roam around Walgreens next door. Security will get them out of there if you report them.

A+++++ ALL THE WAY. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishtrish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,545
    1,111
    395
    188
    114
See reviews for
1,411
1,620
79
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Parrot Key for 1 week last February. The hotel is beautifully laid out and even though you are close to a main road, you feel "away from it all," so to speak. Our room had two large beds (though one of them was rather noisy) and a nice bathroom. We had our own porch that looked west so we could see the sunset every night. The pool areas were lovely- trees and other fauna separated each pool so you felt like you had your own private pool. They were also heated so on the cooler days it was still pleasant to be in the pools. It was about a 45 minute walk into town, but taxis were readily available. The hotel also had bikes to rent. The staff were all lovely and it was really a very peaceful setting. I would recommend this hotel for families, couples, and other vacationers. My only complaints are as follows:
-Our key cards were a little iffy- we had to go to the reception 4 or 5 times to get them reset.
-We could hear a bit much of what was going on in the room above us.
-Though the hotel's website touts its Cafe Blue, it's really better to think of it more as a snack bar. There's no real kitchen, and though they do have hot meals, it's a fairly limited menu. Barely any vegetarian options, and definitely no vegan ones. The staff however are very acommodating and if you get leftovers from a restaurant in town will reheat them for you.
-The shower in the bathroom was kind of weird. It was just a shower, no tub, but was rather large- it felt like something was missing in there. It would have been nice to put a bench on the wall opposite the shower head, otherwise it was really just wasted space. The water pressure was also a little lacking.

These complaints notwithstanding, we had a lovely and relaxing time at the Parrot Key and would definitely stay there again should we be fortunate enough to return to Key West!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karole88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We loved everything about the Parrot Key Resort. There are 4 pools all enclosed in their own garden area with many lounge chairs. The rooms are spacious, clean, and quiet. The location is great for a morning jog along the sea wall and close to downtown Key West. Our one BIG complaint is the beds. They are incredibly noise every time you move. They are built up off the ground like a slat bed and every turn with one person on the bed or two is NOISY!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWiseN0W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Parrot Key is a self-contained resort proximate to Key West. The grounds are lovely and well-maintained, with a selection of secluded pools for sunning and splashing. Rooms are spacious, new, and well maintained with air conditioning, ceiling fans and balconies. Furnishings are spare and comfortable. It's a very easy place to relax in comfort. Old Town Key West is a couple miles away, best reached by car. The resort is not in the middle of the action, but makes for a quiet retreat from the madding crowd. This facility is head and shoulders above other choices in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMSlaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Parrot Key website says: King Bed in Master Suite and Queen Bed in Second and Third Bedroom! Well...our Adult Family had to sleep in Full-Sized Beds....hard when you are tall, etc. No "Ceiling Fan" in the THird Floor Bedroom.....the rest of us had to "Freeze" to keep the Third Floor Bedroom Cool! You would save on "energy bills" if their was a fan in all of the bedrooms.
Pool towel situation is unbelieveable! Towels do not absorb and you are forever having to call the Front Desk for new ones!
Too many cottages/hotel rooms for Housekeeping. Housekeeping arrived after 2:00 everyday and the Front Desk never told us. Stay with a National Hotel Chain and gain your points for future travel! Plus...you would have a "shuttle service" to Downtown.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aspenglengirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Wow!! Totally exceeded my expectations. If you are looking for a place to relax on your Key West vacation, this is the place. Not in the heart of all the Duval activity, but that is what we wanted. The beds are awesome. The 4 pools are awesome. The landscape is gorgeous. Everything was awesome. One thing...if you are not back to your room by early evening, good luck finding a parking spot. That is the only drawback, but still totally worth staying at for a Key West resort. (It seems you can park next door at the Walgreens).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clev5Clev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I booked two nights over the phone after reading the good reviews.
We booked a two room condo. While the main level is decorated nicely with a very very comfortable bed, the second bedroom is actually a smaller room which is an attic conversion. It was ok for us nevertheless.

The resort has 3-4 different sized pools and you can always get a chair/umbrella, was never over crowded and if you settle for the smaller pool, you can have the pool all to yourself.

Right next to the resort is a Walgreens and right across the street is a strip mall with TGIF and some regular outlets.

Best thing we liked were the pools completely surrounded by plants and foliage. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alim58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#27 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Property: Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West
Parrot Key Hotel And Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing