We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, with a few 'gotchas'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice, with a few 'gotchas'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Overall, this was a nice place to stay. However, the whole character of the resort seemed just a little disjointed- it felt more like a collection of time-shares or condos than a resort. For instance, I would expect a resort to have food and beverages available in the evening. However, the restaurant closed at 5pm and the bar closed at 7pm! This wouldn't be so bad if it were downtown and there were bars and cafes nearby, but that's not the case. Similarly, I would expect a resort with 4 pools to have at least one hot tub in the mix. The overall feel of the resort was just a little sleepy.

On the plus side, the service was great. The staff at the front desk were super helpful in renting bikes, getting cabs, etc...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danep2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,540
    1,093
    392
    187
    111
See reviews for
1,398
1,606
78
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,044)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and had an amazing experience!!! From the moment we walked in the door to the time we left the resort, we felt like family. There is construction going on in front of the property, but due to the layout of the rooms and the resort, itself, you don't relaize it is there and you hear nothing in the rooms, by the pool, or at the front desk. Cafe Blue, located by the main pool was wonderful! Food was great and the staff were amazing. Mindi and Hector made my Fiance and I feel like old friends. Every morning we would go down and have breakfast, and hang out at the bar the rest of the day, they were there with smiles! We realy appreciated their warmth. Every hotel wants their guest to feel welcome, but we felt at home! The resort was so nice we didn't want to leave to go about our daily activities!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Staying here now and absolutely love the atmosphere!! Love the porches off the rooms too. Rented scooters from front and they were waiting right outside. Staff is amazing. Close to Walgreens....within walking distance. Will def return!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehabnurse1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days recently and we had a great time. I had seen a couple of less than stellar reviews but I don't know what those people were talking about. From the moment we checked in the staff were friendly and welcoming. We had a waterfront king guest room and it was great. It was clean and airy. Everything looked new and in good shape. The bed was comfortable and firm, the bathrooms clean. We did not eat at the resort but when you have all the restaurants of Duval St a coupe miles away why would you?

Also for once the photos that were posted on a hotels webpage were accurate. It really does look like the photos they post on their site. We would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tek1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenixville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

A Walgreen's pharmacy/everything store is right next door for anything you might need; then there's a liquor store and next to it a huge Home Depot. And it is right off a major road which is under construction for the next two years! But we never heard any of it or had the feeling that we were near civilization. The landscaping is terrific and abundant. You can generally park near your room. The rooms have a tiled floor and are nicely decorated. The pools are very nice. We were right on the gulf with a small porch, relaxing chairs, and sand. Perfect for viewing the sunset. Friendly staff. Jet ski tours available right from the property. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our room on the gulf side was absolutely quiet with a nice view of flowering bushes and the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susannorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

The only problem is the construction that makes it hard to get back from Duvall . Just follow the detour sign and you get there fine. Tiki bar was great for breakfast and drinks. The 4 saltwater pools where well keep and there was always lounging chairs available . I would stay there again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room had one bed with a worn out mattress 72a
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamchzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Even though the hotel is right next to the Home Depot you never know it. It's very quite and very good accommodation. The staff are great. We did the snorkeling and Jet Ski island tour all recommended by Brianna Birtles. She booked everything for us and my family and I had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Property: Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West
Parrot Key Hotel And Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing