We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place - Lots of Room for Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Branford, CT
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Place - Lots of Room for Improvement”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have mixed impressions. The accommodations were beautiful on a moderately pretty water-front venue. The view of the Gulf is compromised by high-tension power lines, but there is an attempt to provide a very minimal pier (no water access) to watch the sunsets. The big advantage for us was how quiet the accommodations were, away from downtown. There is a price to pay for that, however.

We had stupidly not called ahead to see if there were rooms available for our day-early arrival ahead of our original reservation (there weren't), but they graciously upgraded us upon arrival the following day to a beautiful suite that was a bit of an overkill for the two of us.

Parking (no numbered assignments) is not terribly convenient and a trek to our room, particularly when we had to get a large suitcase up very steep stairs to our suite at the extreme end of the lot, There is no shuttle into town, as there is with other outlying accommodations, so when returning from an evening drive into town, one may be faced with parking in the public Walgreen parking lot next door. A taxi is $15 each way... a last resort when parking in town is scarce.

There were several other little things, like no TV listings, no map of where the ice machines were located, and we were told to buy bottled water at Walgreens, not exactly what you might expect from rooms at any price.

The staff of the Tiki Bar were the best, friendly and accommodating.

And to repeat, our suite was beautifully appointed and could easily accommodate a family of four.
.

Room Tip: Upper suites have steep stairs but very nice if you are young. Gulf-side suites have only a mediocre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,594
    1,137
    414
    195
    126
See reviews for
1,476
1,650
81
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,065)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Key West is a favorite vacation spot of me and my Husband, and after the Northeast winter we had, it was so nice to get away. We booked with Parrot Key mostly because of the waterfront room options, but once we arrived it was so much more than we expected. Our room was large filled with brightly colored furniture, the porch facing the waterfront with private beach had two comfy chairs and was a great way to wake up and end our day! The staff was accommodating and very friendly, the concierge in the hotel lobby was so convenient if you want to book water sports, dining recommendations, Key West hot spots, etc. We rented scooters also through the concierge, they brought them right to the resort and at the end of our stay we just left the keys with the front desk. The main pool had a full bar that you could also order breakfast, lunch and dinner, the food was very tasty. The three other pools were private and relaxing. We had a great stay here and would highly recommend Parrot Key Resort.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms were definitely worth the extra $. It offered a covered porch with chairs, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We booked 3 nights in March-April 2014. We intended to do lots of sightseeing. However, our son had a stomach bug for 2 days, so we didn't get out too much. And we had to do some work while on vacation. We were very glad that we chose this hotel. Our son could lie in bed while we sat out on the nice porch or right over the fence in the large pool area. The resort had the most comfortable pool furniture that I've ever used--seemed like Nate Berkus had designed the pool area. The resort is along the main road into town, but because of the layout, one never heard noise from the road except for the occasional siren. Lush vegetation surrounded the property. We were very happy to have a room right next to the largest pool and tiki bar. No view or sand, but very convenient. And the internet was good--much better than a hotel in Islamorada that we traveled to next.

Room Tip: we liked being close to the large pool and tiki bar, but the rooms by the sand were nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ESAMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to the keys. We booked the parrot key for 5 nights through a travel site and upgraded to a king deluxe room with a waterfront view. Our room, 41A was on the bay side with steps right out to the little beach and just a very short walk to their sunset pier. It was perfect! The staff at this place are the most friendly group of people. It is a little far from downtown but we had no problems riding our rented bikes. The best thing about the parrot key is when you are on the property you really feel like you are on a secluded resort. Only one downside is noisy neighbors can be a slight annoyance when you have you windows and doors open. With windows and doors closed we didn't hear anyone the entire stay. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank steefmcbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had to go to Key West for business this time, so we were looking for an inexpensive place just to sleep. I had seen the Parrot Key sign on other trips but had never turned in. This property is great! Very nice pools, bar, rooms and most importantly the staff. This is a property that I will put at the top of my list when advising friends on places to stay in Key West.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfork, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was our first trip to the Keys and we booked 5 nights at Parrot Key through Expedia. The pros: The staff was very freindly, whether it was the grounds keepers or housekeeping, all were very kind and friendly. The pool areas (4) are amazing and so beautiful. Theres 4 pools and all are in he midst of a "tropical" land scape. The one thing I would consider a con is: advertising for this place is a bit deceptive. There is no real "ocean veiw"...there is a small glimpse of the canal on one side, like a sliver veiw. There also is a more direct veiw of the bay area, but limited and not really worth paying the extra money for in my opinion. There is no beach, or walking area. The resort is "fenced in". It is over all a very pretty resort. Just don't expect much for veiws. This is also away from the Duval Street area, which is what we liked.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. The rooms were large, clean and beatifully decorated. We had a bedroom with a separate lounge and kitchen area. Lovely sea views and well kept pools and bar area.
Just one problem, a staircase to our rooms and no one to help with the luggage. Ok for us but could be a problem for some.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
915 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Property: Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West
Parrot Key Hotel And Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing