We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A day in paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart
2 reviews
“A day in paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our best stay in Key West on our fifth travel. Very friendly stuff and quiet surrounding, best view over the sea and the scenery when sitting on the balcony in the morning having breakfast and just enjoying a holiday day.

Room Tip: We had a wonderfull two story two bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Christoph Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,522
    1,087
    385
    184
    110
See reviews for
1,379
1,595
78
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,030)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice and clean, lovely grounds, wonderful staff. Our room overlooked the water, the sunsets were spectacular. Had an end unit - it was nice and quiet, although quite a hike from the parking lot. Small price to pay for serenity.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent a full week at Parrot Key and found the resort to generally be satisfactory.

The good things:

1. Very quiet and relaxing
2. Resort was clean and well kept
3. Landscaping was beautiful
4. There were four private pools - if you wanted to swim alone you usually could get one all to yourself
5. Staff was very friendly in all regards and very willing to do what it took to satisfy the customer

The disappointing

1. No shuttle service to town or the airport - a cab ride either way was $15, which really adds up over the span of a week

2. Rooms were sparsely furnished. Only 1 chair in the room (except for the desk chair, that is) made it uncomfortable to relax in the evenings.

3. The comforter in our room was completely worn out and very lumpy. We ended up taking it out of its cover and just using the cover like a top sheet

4. Food and beverage was good, but over-priced. $30 for breakfast?? $10 cocktails?? Plus, no dinner service or late snack service after 5:30 pm.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
273 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The room was nice and the environment was pleasant- lots of trees and foliage. It was like a little oasis. Having the Walgreen next door was actually really convenient. You had no idea it was there: you couldn't see it or hear it- but when you needed water or sunscreen or granola bars (or 3am junk food to help prevent an impending hangover) it was a godsend.

Two things:

1- it is a little far from the main area of Duval street. The awesome front desk got us cabs which arrived in less than 5 minutes each time. I actually preferred not being in the midst of all the hubbub.

2- it would be nice if they could designate 1 pool as the "family pool". I love kids. But sometimes on vacation I don't want to hear the joyous screams and shouts of laughing children playing in the pool... they have 4 pools. Would be great to designate one for "adults".

Nice hotel and really friendly staff. One day we slept in late and they didn't clean. We called the front desk at 1pm. All the maids did was make the bed and replace the towels. I thought that was unfortunate... so I didn't leave them a tip. Sorry.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCInsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed for a short time in key West due to a quick weekend wedding. We loved our stay at Parrot Key Resort. From check-in to check out, the staff we encountered was very friendly and helpful. A couple miles from Duval St so you don't have to deal with the drunken idiots constantly. A quick car ride or cheap cab fare will get you to the heart of the town. Will definitely stay there again next time we come back to key West. Rooms were great, beds were comfy, atmosphere from the back patio overlooking the marina and your own little sandy beach right outside your door made this a really nice getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My boyfriend & I stayed here for one night while in Key West. We paid the extra $$ to have an "ocean view" room. When booking this hotel we didn't know that we had to request a second floor room to actually have what they call an ocean view. Instead all we could see when we looked out of our room was a man-made beach and some palms.The "ocean view" had power lines running from as far as we could see left, to as far as we could see right. Was definitely not part of the very misleading online description of our room that they have on their website.
All 4 of the hotel's pools were crowded with families which didn't bother us until we were forced to get out because the kids were unsupervised, and splashing / jumping over us. It really ruined what would have been a relaxing end to our day. It also would have been nice if the pool that had the bar was an "adult only " pool because the other 3 pools prohibited alcohol, & who wants to sip a margarita in a pool with kids splashing and screaming in your face. Side note- the heated pool was broken and there is no hot tub. Check in time was 4 O'clock. We got there an hour early and we weren't able to put our bags in our room which wasn't a big deal but just shows how much they wouldn't go out of their way for their guests. My boyfriend & I are still wondering why we wasted 500$ on a one night stay at the Parrot Key hotel & Resort. Im sure you can find a better hotel for a better price. Don't be mislead by the website & make the same mistake we did.

Room Tip: Book rooms over the phone so you can verbally confirm which room you stay in and exactly what your v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olivia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pristina, Kosovo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is really nice, but it's not on the beach. the picture shows white sands outside of the rooms. What the picture doesn't show you are the bushes surrounding the hotel and then it's just water that you can't swim in. There are about 4 or 5 pools that are very nice. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. But if you're coming to Key West to hang out at the beach this is not your hotel. You also have to drive to the main town or the south side of the island to visit most of the beaches. The hotel offers a shuttle service to the beach, but it only drives you at the hours of 10am, 2pm, 4pm. If you can't check-in until after 4pm and you have to check-out before 11am, then you can't take advantage of this service if you're only staying one night. For the money you're spending on one night, you're better off going somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ocean side doesn't mean you have access to the ocean. There's no sandy beach here. Outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiplomatVacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Property: Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West
Parrot Key Hotel And Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing