We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel and great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Petawawa, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel and great rooms”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

While the location of hotel is 3km from Old Key West, the rooms are fabulous and the pool area is really nice and relaxing. There is your own private beach off of every room as well as little decks. This is a perfect get away in Key West

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank cmh69d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,564
    1,122
    399
    189
    116
See reviews for
1,432
1,629
80
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The resort was beautiful but there were many obstacles to overcome.
1-The parking is horrible. There are electric car that people can rent, and the cars need to be plugged in at night. The only spots are spots that are the walkways next to the handicap spots. The parking available is minimal so, if you come back after 7pm you will have to park in the Walgreen's parking lot.
2- Not meant for families. We have a toddler & we were told that a pack & play was not available. It was not until we got there that we were told that we could rent from a company on the island. The company was already closed for the day.
3-The villa was dirty. My son walked around the three story "family villa" and his feet were black. The furniture was dirty from everyone walking around & putting them on the furniture. As an aside, all of the bedding is crisp white. We had to make sure we washed our feet before getting into bed.

We were there for two nights and that was too long. Also, going downtown make sure you are leaving by 800pm if you have children. The environment becomes very adult.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetotravel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Pros:

1. Feels like you are at home
2. Lots of pools
3. Showers next to pool to rinse off
4. Plenty of towels
5. Nice personnel
6. Rooms are AMAZING
7. Everything was clean
8. Bathrooms are great; no lack of hot water
9. Peaceful



Cons:

1. Internet wasn't working and when I called the front desk, they wanted to give me the number of the internet provider and told me to call them and solve the problem myself. I am on vacation, I am not here to fix your problems.--This is why I didn't rate it as 4 star. This is 2014, internet should not be an issue when I am at a RESORT.

2. TV setup is really convoluted. Sometimes the picture would be up, but the volume wouldn't work. The cable box is this tiny little thing, and when you use the remotes, you have to blindly push buttons and hope something comes on. Was VERY annoying.

3. No hot tub

4. Poolside bar closes too early also 1 nacho and 5 beers cost me $41. Not worth it. Go to Wal-greens, next door, and buy your own alcohol/food.

5. Pools close too early--I'm on vacation, why limit pool use as long as people are not loud?

6. Don't pay extra for the waterside rooms if you don't have too: It's just not worth it

7. No real shuttle service. They say they have a shuttle, but they really don't. I would not have picked this hotel if I had known there was no shuttle. The shuttle they have takes you to the beach and "if the guy has time," can take you to other locations. This is another reason for the 3 star. A taxi driver also informed us it was the only hotel in the area that does have a shuttle.

8. Nothing is really within walking distance. What?!? That's right. There is a Wal-Greens and other "normal" things (5 guys, TGI Fridays, domino's pizza etc) within walking distance, but if you want to see/experience Key West, then you HAVE to get a taxi. Sure you can walk, if you want to spend forever getting to the popular sites. Electric golf cart? More expensive then a rental car. Rental Car? No where to park. Bike? Sure, if you want to bike MILES upon MILES, back and forth.

Taxi is really the only solution. Each round trip cost me at least $30. That was around $200 in taxi costs for me. Was such a rip off.

When I was told, over the phone, that everything is within walking distance, it was total bullcrap. Don't lie to people or mislead them. When I call a resort, in Key West, you know very well I'm not referring to a Wal-Greens or Domino's! .



Recommendations for this resort:

1. Need a good place to hang up wet suits. I think a couple of hooks, outside on the balcony, would be a nice play to hang for drying.

2. Fix your internet and make it more user friendly.

3. Precise directions on how to set up internet and properly view TV in room.

4. Provide notepad and pen in room. Seriously, even a cheap Motel 6 has a pen in their rooms. I don't want to buy a pen on vacation to send a postcard....

5. Provide those nice maps, that are on the concierge desk, in each room. You don't need stacks of them, but after each time a person checks out, put a new one on the bed.

6. Better communication about shuttle services and what is within walking distance.

7. Provide a *real* shuttle service.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the "Water View" rooms. It is not what you think it is. You see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Great staff!! Did everything to make you feel welcome!! Beautiful rooms and grounds!! Parking is a little crowded but have overflow at the drug store next door. On going road construction at the entrance but just follow the traffic signals.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just had a two day stay here during our trip to the Keys. Overall, we had a good experience, but it wasn't without its difficulties.

We went on trip advisor to look for some hotel options the morning that we would be arriving. We found Parrot Key and decided (based on some advice from another hotel owner) to call the hotel directly to make sure we could get a room for the advertised price. They had only one room left at the type/price we wanted, but we didn't book it yet in order to check some other places. We called back about 10 minutes later to book, but they said the room was taken. They did, however, have a more expensive option available. After our price had changed, we again wanted to check some other resorts, so we didn't book yet. We called back around an hour later to book, but the room was taken. Again, they offered a more expensive room instead. We declined. Instead, we checked trip advisor, found the original room we had requested, and booked through their website. We then called to confirm the reservation and they confirmed it no problem. We didn't have any problems after that.

Bottom line: It felt like we were being nickel and dimed into getting a more expensive room, when they clearly had others available. I hope for their sake that isn't true and they just had an incompetent person running the reservations that day.



Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountain brook, al usa
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Rooms were great with separate bedrooms for privacy. Beautiful grounds. Friendly and helpful staff. FOUR pools. Very nice. My husband would have like to be within walking distance to Mallory Square but I found this peaceful and beautiful and it was only a 5 minute drive to downtown.

Room Tip: There is no beach access but most of the hotels don't have beach access in Key West. Very nice r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithmmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The wi if was very weak and at times non existent. Hard to get a parking place close to the rooms. We had to park on Walgreens parking lot. No free breakfast here. There is a refrigerator and microwave so you can pick up some supplies at the grocery. Enjoyed the 4 pools. But they were very small. We saw only one place to get ice. Other than that everything else was nice.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,333 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
872 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Property: Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West
Parrot Key Hotel And Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing