We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Loved this place!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent only one night, unfortunately, at Parrot Key this past weekend and we had a lovely experience. I'm not sure if we were so enamored with this spot due to our horrendous experience in South Beach the few nights before or what but we definitely are fans! There was only 1 little hiccup and although it did follow hotel policy, I've never in all my travels experienced it. We drove down from Miami and arrived around 3:30. When we walked into the reception area there were people taking up every seat. At first I thought they were waiting for a tour or something but when I walked up to check in I was told that our room was not yet ready. The front desk gal reminded us that check-in is at 4:00, another pet peeve of mine, I mean come on people, check in is at 4:00 and check out is 11:00 am, that's not even 24 hours. We decided to head to the bar for a drink and wait and were told they would call us when our room was ready. I will admit it was rather serendipitous as the friendly bartender gave us the low-down on where to have dinner that night. We cancelled our existing reservation and took her advice to go to Louie's backyard and it was fabulous!!! At around 4:05 we were called and told our room was ready. Another little issue is the parking. We had a room all the way in the back on the end. The lot is not that big to begin with and the over-flow has to park at the Walgreen's next door. Once we entered our room, all was forgotten though. I would suggest to pay up for the rooms that are on the sand, it's like having your own private beach. The rooms are very spacious, nicely decorated, perfect cool temperature and the beds are very comfy but watch that first step, it's a killer, the beds are VERY high. We proceeded to relax both on the adirondeck chairs on our porch and the lounge chairs in the sand. We did take a dip in one of the 4 pools on the property. I love the fact that it's spread out enough that at the time we were there we had a very quiet pool experience. The grounds are very lush and you almost feel like you're in a labyrinth. I would highly recommend this resort and we are already planning a trip back, The location is a short drive to town so that might be a negative for a few people but we loved the solitude.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,522
    1,087
    385
    184
    110
See reviews for
1,379
1,595
78
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,030)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The resort is very quiet and the rooms were very beautiful. I had a one bedroom suite on the bottom floor with access right out to the pool. The food at Cafe Blue although a bit pricey it was very good. There are stores and restaurants in walking distance and only a couple of minutes to drive into town for all the fun activities.

Room Tip: I had the garden queen. Which I think was the best as you had a back proch right out to the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is NOT what it seems. Room layout is weird DOES NOT WORK WITH FAMILIES. Has a SMALL frig and micro but no sink. You HV to wash stuff in bathroom. Much better places to stay in the Keys for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RNB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The accommodations were comfortable and the grounds were lush and tropical and private. It was a nice distraction from main tourist areas. The resort is in standard commercial area right on US 1 with stores and restaurants. You will need a car or taxi to get to Duval Street. The Tiki Bar and pool area was inviting and staff was courteous and attentive to our needs. There was no safe in the room which would have been a nice amenity. Overall - we enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I booked a last minute trip to Key West and spent all of our 5 days and nights at the Parrot Key Resort. We reserved a one bedroom unit on the second floor and were pleasantly surprised to find out that we had access to a second bedroom and bathroom on the third floor as well. The unit overlooked the water and dock and we had a great view of the sunset. The unit itself was clean and well stocked. We sunbathed at each of the 4 beautiful pools and had delicious happy hour drinks at Cafe Blue. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be staying at Parrot Key next time we visit the Keys!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

It is a very mice hotel, clean and the pool installations are very nice and quiet. There are 4 pools which have lots of space. There is also a place where you can reserve watersports, the guys who attended are very nice and they explain well the activities. We did parasailing and had a great experience.
We asked for a 2 bedroom room, one thing you have to have in mind is the rooms are little cabins and though they are very spacious, they have lots of stairs, for the first rooms and living room you have to climb one floor, and them the second rooms is in the third floor.
The rooms were clean, the beds were soft and comfortable, but the second rooms as it is in higher is hotter so be careful.
The thing we didn't like, was that our check in was at four in the afternoon because earlier the rooms wasn't ready, and check out is at 11 am, so actually if you pay for one night you are paying for less than 15 hours.
I would recommend to stay at least 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amalia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Parrot Key was gorgeous even with it being a few miles from Duval St. the resort was peaceful and private, just what we were looking for. Housekeeping was okay and received top notch customer service from Ms Rutanya who was very helpful in directing us to the islands points of interest

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Property: Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West
Parrot Key Hotel And Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing