We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay started foul.....without being informed ahead of time, we are told we are getting charged $50/day upfront for incidentals. The Parking is horrendous and not enough! The rooms are nice and the views are wonderful. The pills are relaxing and salt water. The staff could use a few tips on customer service but I can't do anything about that!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,464 - 1,470 of 4,503 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

The resort is beautiful but it has some weird features. This review will include the good, the bad, and the ugly. We had a total of forty people in our travel party as we were there for a family wedding.

Accommodations:
The good includes: The room decor is beautiful and very relaxing. The couch and beds were quite comfortable.
The bad includes: The living rooms are missing a sink in the wet bar area and they need to upgrade and up-size their tiny refrigerator. You will not be able to afford to eat every meal at their one and only restaurant, and even if you could afford it, they close early and there is not a large selection. You will want to go other places to eat or purchase things to keep in your room. The refrigerator is a joke. For the amount that is being paid, they could do better. There is also no sink in the bar area. It isn't practical to have to go to the bath room (we were in a 2 room suite) to dump out the extra soda, etc. Also, you don't have water to wash your hands or rinse out glasses.

The ugly: The pools. The water was so hot that it was not refreshing to swim. They pools were not open late. They started closing them at 8:00pm with the final pool closed at 10:00pm. They actually kick you out. What are people supposed to do? We are on vacation. We did not want to go to Duval Street to the clubs. We can't even relax at the pool with our family? This was probably the most disappointing thing about this resort.

The Food.
The good: It was tasty.
The bad: Limited hours and menu.
The ugly: The price. Our first day lunch for six people cost us $120.00. They wanted $7.00 for a hot dog!!!!!

Customer Service:
The good: Dean. The young man at the restaurant. Always smiling. :)
The bad: Just try to get clean towels. i dare you.
The ugly: If I had a dime for the number of times the front desk let us down then I'd have enough money to stay at this place again. Many times we called them and asked to have a cab called. They often forgot. The room keys practically de-coded themselves every 2-3 hours. We were constantly having to return to get the keys re-coded so that we could get in our room.
Also, forget about the wi-fi that they offer. We could never get any of our devices, iphones, ipads, or computers to connect to the wi-fi.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed one night. Totally unfriendly for those with even minimal disabilities. Parking good half mile from room. They claim to have smoking areas-not! There are 2 cigarette catchers located in parking lot. Not even a bench.
Could not get into our room, because key cards not working. Waited in heat for 30 minutes before someone delivered new cards.
And,to top it off, web sites had rate of $118-125 listed. Mysteriously that rate disappeared from site as soon as we requested walkin rate. A push of the button?? Paid $170 with extra charges up to $218!!! And that is with free parking.

Room Tip: Not for smokers or lame!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The room are set up like New England Town house love it. Charming, nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Clean, no RUG and bright..... We had a room on the first floor with a beautiful view to the canal and sliding door to a porch and sand with too lounge chairs. The cafe food was very good and the employees very friendly! We are planning to go back!!!!!! Love It

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francisco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent only one night, unfortunately, at Parrot Key this past weekend and we had a lovely experience. I'm not sure if we were so enamored with this spot due to our horrendous experience in South Beach the few nights before or what but we definitely are fans! There was only 1 little hiccup and although it did follow hotel policy, I've never in all my travels experienced it. We drove down from Miami and arrived around 3:30. When we walked into the reception area there were people taking up every seat. At first I thought they were waiting for a tour or something but when I walked up to check in I was told that our room was not yet ready. The front desk gal reminded us that check-in is at 4:00, another pet peeve of mine, I mean come on people, check in is at 4:00 and check out is 11:00 am, that's not even 24 hours. We decided to head to the bar for a drink and wait and were told they would call us when our room was ready. I will admit it was rather serendipitous as the friendly bartender gave us the low-down on where to have dinner that night. We cancelled our existing reservation and took her advice to go to Louie's backyard and it was fabulous!!! At around 4:05 we were called and told our room was ready. Another little issue is the parking. We had a room all the way in the back on the end. The lot is not that big to begin with and the over-flow has to park at the Walgreen's next door. Once we entered our room, all was forgotten though. I would suggest to pay up for the rooms that are on the sand, it's like having your own private beach. The rooms are very spacious, nicely decorated, perfect cool temperature and the beds are very comfy but watch that first step, it's a killer, the beds are VERY high. We proceeded to relax both on the adirondeck chairs on our porch and the lounge chairs in the sand. We did take a dip in one of the 4 pools on the property. I love the fact that it's spread out enough that at the time we were there we had a very quiet pool experience. The grounds are very lush and you almost feel like you're in a labyrinth. I would highly recommend this resort and we are already planning a trip back, The location is a short drive to town so that might be a negative for a few people but we loved the solitude.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank winey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The resort is very quiet and the rooms were very beautiful. I had a one bedroom suite on the bottom floor with access right out to the pool. The food at Cafe Blue although a bit pricey it was very good. There are stores and restaurants in walking distance and only a couple of minutes to drive into town for all the fun activities.

Room Tip: I had the garden queen. Which I think was the best as you had a back proch right out to the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is NOT what it seems. Room layout is weird DOES NOT WORK WITH FAMILIES. Has a SMALL frig and micro but no sink. You HV to wash stuff in bathroom. Much better places to stay in the Keys for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,808 reviews
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#33 of 51 in Key West
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
229 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
972 reviews
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#13 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £166 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West
Parrot Key Hotel And Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing