We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful resort we ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We can't say enough about this place. The resort is even more beautiful than the website gallery showed. The attention to detail and the quality of what was put into the beach homes and the grounds were incredible. It was very clean, inside and out. No matter how beautiful a place is, the staff is what makes one's stay shine. Your staff is absoloutely wonderful and were the icing on the cake. Everyone was always helpful and friendly. They always steered us in the right direction of the best restaurants and nightlife - making our trip even more enjoyable. Particularly, we want to mention Jeane, Andrew, and Elija at the tiki bar - the best mix of warm hearts and cold drinks on the island! Booker's warm smile always made you feel at home. And we must mention Carlos at the jet ski rental - so friendly and thorough - he made my maiden voyage on a jet ski an awesome experience!

I guess if I had any suggestions, it would be to keep the tiki bar and pool open a bit longer and have just one of the four pools an adult only pool to make it a little more peaceful for the guests without kids.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zzoombucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,982 - 3,988 of 4,499 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2009

The units are large but there is no privacy. We got stuck in until #7 which is right by the road and it was very noisy. You could not even open the windows. There was also no view at all. The staff did not care. Also, although there were 4 TVs, only one of the remotes worked. Again, the staff did not fix this. I will say that the units are brand new so that was nice but it is just not in a good location. Parking was also a struggle. The units are very comfortable but don't pay a lot or you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vaca09tioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Parrot Key is a great resort on the outskirts of the action of Key West. There is no shuttle into town offered by the resort so you have to walk in (30-45 minutes) or drive/take a cab. A cab ride for 4 adults is $16.00 flat rate each way (plus tip). Parking in Key West runs $12 - $14 for the day. We paid $219.00 for a two bedroom townhome and it was well worth it. However, the regular rate of $500.00+ for the same unit seems exorbitant especially without a complimentary shuttle into town.

The resort itself is beautiful with lush landscaping and modern, upscale accommodations. We spent a few afternoons/mornings relaxing by one of the pools and enjoyed sitting on our back porch in the evenings with a glass of wine.

Things I wish I knew before I packed: there are towels provided at the pool with the tiki bar, the kitchen comes with coffee filters, coffee, salt & pepper, dishwasher detergent, dish soap and the refrigerator has filtered water and ice. There are free laundry facilities in the fitness building (all you need is your detergent and dryer sheets). Our two bedroom unit had one hair dryer (maybe they've added this amenity since one of the previous comments regarding the lack of hair dryers).

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at the Parrot Key Resort.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

It was spacious, clean, and there were 5 pools with all-day sun! Everyone was friendly and very helpful, and an $11 taxi ride from Duval st. It is usually pricey but my friends and I got it for $230/night - a great rate!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

First of all, as indicated on the internet photos, Parrot Key is a beautiful resort with brand new 3 floor condos , 4 pools and beautiful plant life throughout. It has the potential to be a great resort, but still has a lot of work to do. Most of it being with management and staff training.

We arrived on a Saturday, and checked into our 2 bedroom house at the front desk. The front desk staff was young, and simply gave us our room key and pointed out our room ona resort map. We were not told of any of ther esort ammenities, water activities, workout room, guest laundry room, on-site cafe. Most of these we discovered on our own throughout our week there.

The rooms are beautiful. Brand new with a good set up, spacious living area, nice rooms. My room was on the second floor, down the hall from the master bedroom. My main complaint is that my room had no windows, just two doors that opened onto the back desk, which had no deck chairs. I was looking forward to sleeping with open windows and an ocean breeze, but couldnt since the doors had no screens on them. Also- the air in the condo cannot be controlled within the unit. It is set at a standard temperature by the facility and the AC kicks on when necessary to reach this temperature. Frustrating since we would have liked to keep windows/doors open and enjoy outisde air instead of AC. Also- the third floor media room is a bit awkward. It can be used as an additional bedroom, but we never went up there, except to see what it was. It has a full bathroom, and a we discovered on day 4- houses the iron and ironing board. There is a gaming unit there, but no games. I assume you would have to get them from the front desk.

When we arrived, we found several empty cases of beer on our back deck which had not been cleaned after the previous tenants. Otherwise the unit seemed to be in clean condition. The kitchen is sparsly furnished with very basic kitchen needs, so as long as you only need it for small food/meal preparation, it works fine. Also- they do now provide hairdryers in any of the units. Surprising since my mother didn't bring hers assuming there would be one there. Luckily I had brought mine or else we would have had to buy one somewhere.

The housekeeping staff was inconsistent, our biggest complaint is that they do not knock and announce themselves but simply use a key card and just walk into a condo. Many times we were sitting in the living area having coffee or breakfast in our pajamas and a housekeeping would just walk in on us. There is a 'do not disturb' sign to put on the door, but a simple knock would have made us much happier. Also- they did not always replace towels/soap/bathmats in the unit. Most days we found they removed a towel or mat without giving us a new one. They also do not give you any kitchen/dish towels (we used a bathroom towel) and always start the dishwasher, even if there is only a glass in it.

The location is mediocre. It says its a waterfront hotel, but that just means waterview. There is no access to the water (which is a sal channel) except at the watersports dock where you can rent ket skis or kayaks. It is next to a Walgreens & liquor store with a WinnDIxie Supermarket & coffee shop & small shopping plaza across the street, which is convenient. We walked across the street for coffee, bagels or other grocery needs in the mornings.

It is about a mile and half from the downtown area, so you will need some sort of transportation. We walked downtown the first day, which was fine, but we realized we would not be able to do that daily, or each time we wanted to go out to eat. Taxis are limited and you need to call ahead to have one pick you up on the island. Electric cars are popular to rent, but are expensive. We rented scooters to get around (we were all comfortable driving them) which we the best option. They are easy to get around on and downtown has free scooter parking areas (electric cars have to use meters).

The best parts of the Island were: Duval Street, which is entertaining to walk down at any time of day. There is always something going on and people wathing is so fun. I had the best cheeseburger at an approprately named open-air restaurant called Cheeseburgers (the island favorite- with pineapple and avocado). Visit Alonso's Oyster house on A & B Marina between 4 & 6 pm for half price drinks and appetizers, a great deal and huge selection, we made whole meals of it. We spent a day on the southernmost beach, which was beautiful. $5 for chair rental for the day and the staff brings around free treats like popsicles, strawberries etc. We also went to the Buttefly Conservatory, which was an amazing experience. Hundreds of butterflies and birds flying all around you. Absolutely beautiful. On our last day we made sure to do a water adventure and sailed with Danger Charters for the afternoon. We picked a kayak/snorkel/sunset trip which was awesome. We sailed, not motored through the ocean which a max of 20 passengers (as opposed to some of the larger companies who pack up to 100 people on a boat. The guides were great and knowledgeable, taking us kayaking through Mangrove island, and snorkeling through the shallow crescent where we saw lobsters and sting rays. We sailed home with free beer, wine, fresh fruit, chips & salsa and great company. Highly recommended.

Overall we absolutely loved Key West. Theres something for everyone and all sorts of people there. Parrot Key is a beautiful resort and a great option if you want lots of space and a full kitchen/multiple rooms with bathrooms. Just be aware that the guest services aren't quite there yet. We had a lot of trouble getting a late check out, none of the employees really seemed trained to handle any of our questions and kept telling us the manager (Tina) would call us to confirm, which she never did. Kyle- the assistant manager was less than helpful and very short with his conversation with us.

The resort is impressive, the staff and management, disappointing, but the atmosphere of the entire island more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jalee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

The condo was beautiful, luxurious and immaculately clean. The pools were salt water, which were heavenly and the landscaping was extraordinarily beautiful. The staff was courteous, helpful and eager.
The full kitchen was terrific, the free laundry surprised me, my children appreciated the media room and the atmosphere was the best medicine for the winter blues.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentuckyDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

My two sisters and I stayed at the Parrot Key Feb. 20th to the 24th. These are not Hotel rooms, they are townhouses. Lots of room! We were supposed to be in a 2 bedroom, but they put us in a 3 bedroom, 3 1/2 bathroom house. It was great to spread out. There is a full kitchen including a dishwasher, big refrigerator and full stove with microwave.
Nice flat screen TV's in all bedrooms and in the living room.
There are 4 pool areas with comfortable chairs to lay on. Water temperature was just right.
Only one bad thing, the walls are alittle thin. We had some younger kids next to us and they liked to run up and down the stairs.
Location was nice. Right next to a Walgreens and grocery store across the street.
It was about 2 miles from Duval Street. A taxi to Duval street was about $10 for the 3 of us. Parking is at a premuim near Duval Street but can be found if you get there early enough in the night. We found a public parking lot at City Hall a nice location. Of course, if you plan on drinking acohol, I suggest taking a taxi.
There is a machine in the parking lot to pay for the parking, then you display the receipt on your dashboard of the car.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hbierer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,377 reviews
1.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,781 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Key Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Key Hotel and Resort

Address: 2801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4073
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £188 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parrot Key Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Key Resort is an idyllic Key West hideaway, offering simple luxury, comfort and style in a serene waterfront haven. Five acres of tropical gardens surround Parrot Key, with pretty paths meandering through colorful foliage. Four sparkling pools are nestled among their own private sculpture gardens with whimsical art capturing your attention at every turn. The poolside Café Blue offers a range of refreshing drinks and island cuisine, where you can simply sit back and listen to the sound of serenity. Planning is simple here, with onsite watersports and a complimentary beach shuttle waiting to whisk you away to nearby Smathers Beach. Or simply relax and watch the sun go down from our sunset pier. Space out in a suite or a three-bedroom villa, including a living room and soothing treetop balconies. You can also unwind in a waterfront guestroom, equipped with your own white sand terrace. Each guestroom, suite and villa at Parrot Key boasts spectacular views of either lush gardens or the calm waters of Florida Bay. Experience the Key West you've always dreamed of with endless sunshine, glorious sunsets, and incomparable charm. From your peaceful haven at Parrot Key Resort, it's hard to believe that the energetic and eclectic vibe of Key West is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parrot Key Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Key Hotel Key West
Parrot Key Beach Hotel
Parrot Key Beach West
Parrot Key Hotel And Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing